We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,101)
Filter reviews
7,101 results
Traveller rating
3,796
2,349
602
219
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,796
2,349
602
219
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la vista coral lounge across the street ocean front corner room swim up bar pool area chairs and umbrellas resort fee oceanfront room tour desk beach staff the beach is nice city view an umbrella great resort partial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
6,402 - 6,407 of 7,101 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We arrived at the hotel at 9:00am, and even though check-in is not until 4:00pm, they gave us our room, which was like getting a free day. The room had a large flat screen TV, very comfy bedding, and a very large and updated bathroom. We stayed on the 9th floor and never heard a sound at night or in the morning when we were trying to sleep, which was great since I'm used to hearing doors banging, partiers, and children running the halls even in 5 star hotels.

Also noteworthy is that at the time of our stay, the resort allowed guests to decline the 12% daily resort fee. I appreciated this since, like most resort fees, it adds no services that aren't already included in the price of the room.

The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and shops, and the concierge is happy to give you a list. After eating lunch the first day at the poolbar, we were glad to have the option of going out to eat. Unfortunately, the poolbar food was not good and overpriced, even for a resort poolbar. The beach was well maintained and large, and there is an attendant there to help you with chairs and umbrellas. They chared $12 to rent an umbrella, but there were plenty of shady palm trees to sit under as well. From the beach, you could see that the areas around the hotel were very run down, which detracted from the scene if looking toward the hotel.

Overall, we had a very good experience with the Marriott and the staff was extremely friendly, hard working, and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gimmecandynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2008

Dear Guest;

It was great that you chose the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino for your past vacation. We are very happy that you had the opportunity of doing an early check-in even though our check in starts at 4:00 p.m. We really hope to have you again with us!!!

Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2008

The hotel was great, especially the pool area. IWe had a great view of the ocean from our balcony. t's right on Condado beach, which is a major tourist area, so it gets a little crowded.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2008

Dear Guest;

We are very happy that you had a great vacation with us. It would be great having you back at the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino on your next vacation.

Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I had heard mixed reviews about the resort. We had a fantastic time, it was our first family vacation and our first time in the Caribbean. The hotel and staff were fantastic. We were always greeted with a smile. Other guests were just as friendly, chatting with others on the beach, in the pool & hot tub, even the elevator. The security made me feel safe with my son & niece running around. Its a great location, the beach is amazing. La Vista Restaurant on site is a great family restaurant and they have themed buffets each night. Tuscany was also great, but with kids the wait for our food was too long. There is a Walgreens, Wendy's & a Subway down the street for those trying to stick to a budget for meals also . The concierge set us up for the El Yunque rainforest tour. If you can swing it, it was fabulous, the tour guide was as entertaining as the tour itself. We can't wait to go back!

3  Thank TXsoccermom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2008

Dear Guest;

We are very happy to know that you choose the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino for your first family vacation. Thanks for letting us know that you had a very good time at our property and that had the opportunity to enjoy all of our facilities. It would be great having you and your family back.

Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed at the Marriot San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino for 5 days, and we really had a great experience there!
OVERALL: The room was a good size and it was worth every penny to pay a little extra for the pool/ocean view... it was great to sit out on the balcony with a cold drink and look out at the pool area and (beyond the pool area) the gorgeous clear blue ocean! The room stayed kind of damp/humid all week, but I think some of that may be inevitable given the Caribbean climate! The location was good too. Nice beach, especially if you like playing in the waves (not super calm water, but that was a good thing for us!).
Money-Saving Tip for Drinkers: The drinks at the pool area were definitely overpriced, so we decided to buy our own little bottle of rum and some juice, etc mixers at one of the many little grocery/liquer stores within walking distance. (For about $20 worth of "stocking the bar" in our room, we were able to get the amount of drinks that would have cost $200 at the bar over the course of the week!).
If you are interested in touring the Bacardi Rum factory, don't book your trip through the tour company in the hotel.... they will likely charge you around $50 per person, and in reality you can get there and have that entire experience for less than $30 total. Overall this was a good afternoon, but we were so glad we hadn't spent $100 to have the tour company take us there! We did book a trip to hike in El Yunque through the tour desk at the hotel, and that turned out to be a very good choice! We never would have been able to pick out the most scenic spot to go hiking had we chosen to rent a car, drive there ourselves, etc... plus it was nice to not have to worry about transportation (it's about 45 mins away).
We ate at the Tuscany restaurant in the hotel one night, and the food was very good. We also managed to find lots of great little restaurants to try within walking distance, and it was fun to just wander around until we saw a place that looked like a good one to try!
Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Marriot San Juan! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2008

Dear Guest;

We are very happy that you enjoyed your past stay in our hotel. We really hope that you have the opportunity to return very soon so that you can enjoy our rooms, the casino, spa, pool, among other amenities and services we offer. We are looking forward on being selected by you for your next vacation to San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Didn't start off well. We had asked for early check in when we reserved the room several months in advance and when we arrived was told nothing was available. We were given no options, just sorry, can't check in. Maybe some suggestions on things to do and a free drink or two wouldn't have hurt.

Anyway, the place was nice, the beach was fine (a little rough but not as bad as other reviews led me to believe). The prices in every place at the hotel (restaurants, gift shop, bar,etc...) were outrageous. Go somewhere else to eat, shop & drink. There's a Wendy's & Subway down the street and they even offer breakfast. We went to the Latin Star and a Seafood restaurant that I think was called Orosko's (or something like that). Don't go there!! There's an excellent Argentinian restaurant a block or so down one way and a mexican restaurant (Cielito Lindo) the other way.

A lot of the reviews said to take the bus rather than a taxi into Old San Juan but we found the buses weren't regular and didn't feel like sitting at a bus stop for an hour or so. We took the taxi.

Again, the room was nice, view was great but the worst part was our next to last day, the Marriott sent a note that they would turn off the A/C from 10-3. This time they did offer a free drink. So we stayed out of our room and returned around 4 pm. We arrived to a filthy bathroom with a guy in our tub and a couple other people in the wall. We waited around for a half hour and of course everything is like "we'll be done in 20 minutes". It wasn't.

I complained and the Marriott did knock a little off my rate for the day but we found out later that even then they didn't fix the problem and the A/C remained on the fritz. We ended up moving to another room (with a view blocked by trees) for our last night.

We paid a premium to stay at the Marriott and to be honest, won't do it again. It just wasn't worth it. If I have to do it again, I would have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express which is about a block off the beach. You'll lower your expectations and pay a lot less.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ThreeRedCars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT-DOM-PR, San Juan DOM at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2008

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We reviewed
your comments regarding your stay with us at the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino and apologize for the issues you confronted with the room during your stay. Again, thank you for the comments and we would very much like the opportunity to host you at our property in future.

Sincerely;
San Juan DOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews