We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but a little pricey.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, but a little pricey.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

First off, the hotel is not bad by any means. The rooms are ok, pool is nice, great food selection, good location, and all that stuff. I will break this down a little further...

Check-in - The woman at the counter was great. She did the best she could, but the room was not ready. We were on a honeymoon (kinda) and she was going to upgrade our room. We were told the room was not ready and to check back. Went and checked out the grounds, came back (when they said to) and the room was not ready. Waited in the lobby for about another hour, checked and said room was ready. Now keep in mind, this person was not the lady who had helped us get checked in. My opinion is he was ready to get us moved into a room and gave us one that was ready. We went to the room and it was not a upgrade. They called my cell and said the room was ready (after I was already in my room) and said my room was ready. I kinda figured it was not as the roof and other side of the hotel view was not typical of an "upgrade".

Room - Room itself was decent. Not the best we have ever stayed in, but not the worst. It was fairly clean. Clean enough for us at least and I am pretty OCD about this stuff. Bathroom was tiny and no room for anything or room for more than one person. Cleaning did take place, but it was always late in the afternoon. We normally are at the pool most of the day so no big deal. They were always done by 4.

Pool - Pools were nice. No issues at all besides maybe service. There were not a lot of employees going around taking orders. Which is not a big deal as we do not tend to drink a lot during the day.

Food - Food was pretty good and a good selection in the hotel and close by. At the hotel food was somewhat pricey, but you are at a hotel so of course you are going to pay more.

Casino - We went to another casino and it was not as nice nor as "happening" as the Conrad's. Service was great as long as you are spending money in the casino. Only odd thing was they let people eat at the tables. They would bring soup and sandwiches to you at the table. Little odd I thought, but whatever.

Overall not the best, but it was a vacation nonetheless; so not working and being by the pool is always fun. Would probably not stay here again and spend more on another hotel if we do come back. If the hotel wants to get better reviews they are going to have to fix the overall service they provide. Meaning making sure room are spotless and pool services more present. That or lower prices to make it more on par with what you get.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhackathorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    1,538
    924
    450
    343
See reviews for
988
1,618
165
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location was good. We were in the heart of everything which was great. We walked to restaurants. Starbucks was a plus for my husband and Cold Stone ice cream in walking distance was great for my son. The pool kept my son busy and the waitress kept the drinks coming so all was good in the world! The only thing I didn't like was the lack of privacy in the room. The side of the bathroom door is open and that I wasn't happy with but everything else was good.

Room Tip: Ocean view rules
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dooner61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent Spring Break in San Juan at the Conrad Condado. Nice enough room, 2 bedroom family suite. Had a couple minor issues with the room that the staff fixed quickly. Location is good. A short bus ride to Old San Juan and walking distance to Condado restaurants, etc. Nice pool and property is on a small public beach. Was a good value.

Room Tip: If you don't need the xtra space stay in the north tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was in Puerto Rico and stayed at this hotel April 17 thru April 21st. This hotel is dirty. Our shower had mold and there was hair in the corners of the bathroom that housekeeping could never seem to get up. Housekeeping is severely lacking at this hotel. There was a bed pillow on the floor when I left the room for it to be cleaned. When my husband and I came back to the room after it had been "cleaned", the pillow was still there - on the floor. Housekeeping would not change out our coffee cups. The same dirty coffee cup was there until we checked out. They also did not want to change the sheets on the bed. Finally, I decided to take the sheets off of the bed, along with the comforter and put them in a pile on the floor. Housekeeping got the hint and changed our sheets. In regards to the mold on the shower, I get fed up with that too and I finally just took a towel and started cleaning some of the mold off. Pretty gross!!!The corridors and hallways needed vacuuming as well.

My husband arrived a couple of days before I did, and the room he was originally checked into was dirtier than the second room. He could not take it. He moved to the second room and was charged a 25.00 additonal rate per night because the second room had a view of the ocean. The hotel never took into consideration that the reason my husband had to move was because of the filthiness of the room. Also, in the first room my husband saw the bug called the silverfish. There were a couple of them crawling around on the floor.

Needless to say, please don't stay at this hotel.....it was utterly filthy!! We would have moved, but it was the chosen conference hotel and we had already paid. Other attendees were complaining about the conditions of their rooms as well. So again, stay clear.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank moonbounce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeahRossi, Front Office Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment with your room and the lack of housekeeping that you mention. These issues will be mentioned and investigated. Again, your opinion is valuable for our operation and we thank you. For any further information or concerns you may have, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Leah Rossi
Guest Services Manager
leah.rossi@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Hotel is great. It's close to Old San Juan. Bus stop is in front of hotel and cost $ 0.75 . Bus comes every 30 minutes. Beaches are nice in this area. My husband and me really like it here.We also got upgrade room cause it was our honey moon and we didn't needed to pay any extra for that. Room was so clean and nice. Everybody there make us to feel really welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great location, near enough the tourist spots and old city but not too close. Make a note of USD 20 for most cab fares to surrounding shopping mall, industrial areas with corporate office space, and to the old city. Standard service, not extraordinary but a safe pick. There's a Denny's an a Starbuck's a few paces from the front desk so you will always have comfort food and a nice late nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Very attentive staff adds to the value of this hotel. Wonderful restaurants within. Nice pools with beach access on site. Room was clean, comfortable. Would recommend Conrad San Juan Condado!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cook27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.5 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
1.2 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
6.9 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
7.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
1.3 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Travelocity so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing