We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,515)
Filter reviews
2,515 results
Traveller rating
696
979
546
156
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
979
546
156
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool across the street old san juan senor frogs cruise ship within walking distance free trolley royal caribbean upgraded to a suite hotel is in a great location pre cruise el morro your luggage small balcony few blocks rental car ships
Filter
Updating list...
1,803 - 1,808 of 2,515 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel check-in went smoothly. There were NO extra charges. The room was spacious clean and had no odors to speak of. The casino is no big deal, but we aren't gamblers so that didn't matter to us. all the staff were friendly & helpful. the pool area is small, but it is nice & relaxing. i travel a lot for business and this was very nice. not luxury, but nothing for anyone who enjoys luxury to turn their nose up at.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed for three nights before we cruised. Usually we at least stay one or two nights before any cruise as a way to get in vacation mode, and provide some insurance in case there are any delays we will not be stressing about missing the boat. The last trip to PR we stayed in Condado, but found we were always coming down to Old Town for the great Restaurants (Dragon Fly, etc) and night life. This trip we chose to stay downtown. Location: The hotel is a short walk to the Carnival ship dock (not RCL). We dragged our bags the ~400 yards. It was hot, but no big deal for anyone in decent shape. Any closer and you would be on the boat. It is a 10 min walk to the Grocery store (beer, snack run), and maybe 15 to the fort. Hotel Staff: Great attitude, very friendly. I travel a lot and would be hard pressed to find a friendlier helpful front desk staff (especially the nice lady who checked us in and upgraded the room). Pool: Small, warm, but considering you are downtown it was good enough for a couple of nights to cool off. They did not hassle us at all for bringing up a few beers. Rooms: The standard rooms are on the small side, but clean and comfortable. The JR Suites are not that much more and give you twice the space, very nice. Elevators: Not enough, and you cannot take the stairs all the way down (we tried, and then had to walk back up a floor)….so you just have to wait. When the rush was on it could be 20 min, but other than that most of the time it was not an issue. Work out area: My wife loved the roof top open air feel, and it had enough to do for a regular hotel. We will be going back this year for two nights before the cruise, I looked and do not think there is a better deal for the location. We will stay a few nights somewhere else to enjoy the beach and then move down to Old Town to enjoy the nightlife, restaurants, and easy trip to the boat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseNView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed two nights and three days over New Years Eve. This property is in sad shape. Everything is old and "beat up". Even the towels were frayed. You would think they would have something special over "New Years Eve" ....nope. What a disappointment. The elevators sounded like they were not going to make it. Never again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the first few floors as the casino noise is apparent.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. We started to replace all guestroom carpets, bedding, paint etc.. but, at the time of your stay we had several floors remaining and 100% occupancy which can also create too much traffic on the elevators. It's obvious you did not stay in one of the renovated rooms and we do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do have strict brand standards to meet. We would love to have you experience the renovated rooms at a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I was in San Juan for a business trip that lasted from a Saturday night through the following Friday morning. I didn't select the hotel. The rate at the time was $179 USD without the taxes and resort fees. Expect this to add another $20+ to the nightly room rate.

The room we had was adequate with a comfortable bed and clean linens with extra pillows. There was a dresser and wardrobe tha accommodate the two of us fine. There is a desk with lamp and internet cabling. In-room coffee and a daily (almost) bottle of water grattice.

My room had no wirless internet. Get your room activated by contacting the front desk. I have an iPad with Verizon data plan. No data service in SJ but the phone worked fine as well as email and texting. Basically you get "1X" service with good signal strength in most places. Wi-fi is available in the meeting rooms. I don't know how much it cost as someone else set up the service.

The resturanrt on the second floor was good. Breakfast could be obtained from the full buffet consisting of both hot ($15) and cold ($10) options. You can also order off the menu if you have special dieteray needs. The coffee in PR is stronger than on the U.S. mainlaind, so you may want to get a pot of hot water and cut it accordingly. Warm milk is a standard accessory. I had dinner there two nights and breakfast every day for 5 days. Never a problem and the wait staff was courteous and professional.

We also used a couple of the larger meeting rooms for our function. They were well set up and accommodated us well. The hotel also provided the a.m. and p.m. snack breaks daily. Food quality was very good. The hotel provided A/V screens and cords and podiums. It all worked well.

The fitness center appears to be fairly new. It is equipped with 2 bikes, one recumbent and one upright by LifeFitness, also by LifeFitness, 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and a rack of dumbbells from 5 to 50 pounds. There is also a weight machine that will accommodate activity for a couple muscle groups. There is also a flat bench that can be adjusted to tilt. Stability balls also were on hand. It's all installed in a fairly small room, given the amount of equipment but they seem to make it work. I used the room 4 times during my stay. On my last day the room was way too hot.

The fitness center and pool are located on floor 9. There are locker rooms on this floor so you can lock up your stuff if you have a lock to apply. Somewhat disappointing here was the fact that both the men's and women's rooms on this floor were almost always out of towels or the dispensers were not functioning properly.

We tried on numerous occasions to get extra towles but that didn't always work. I don't know if it was a language barrier or not, but they seemed to understand but then when we came back from an outing we rarely got them after they cleaned the room.

You need to use your room key card to access floors 3 through 9. The 9th floor is as high as this hotel goes. If you are on any of these floors, you must also use the card to traverse between floors as well. You do not need a card to get to the ground floor. We had a particularly bad time with the key cards on our last night here. For unexplained reasons they both stopped working, even after being reprogrammed. Then we got news sets of keys TWICE. Neither elevator would read any of our keys. Other guests started expereinceing problems but it was intermittent. After getting a fourth set of room keys, we finally got things working. This is when all you want is a simple elevator that does not require a room key to access your floor. Apparently all this is done in the name of security. It was a hassle and was among the only low notes on the stay.

San Juan is a party city for many people. That said, yelling, screamining and running through the hotel's halls at 3:00 a.m. by some of the most discourteous obnoxious "guests" resulted in my calling the hotel front desk TWICE Saturday night. By Sunday night these jerks were long gone, presumably or perhaps thrown off the property. THAT episode was awful.

Overall I give this Sheraton a 3 out of 5 because nothing really stood out to validate a higher rating. If you soend your time here on vacation you will probably be fine. Just nothing to write home about.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Tech-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Dear Tech-Trekker, thanks for sharing your experience. We strive to provide all our guest with a 4-5 star experience and therefore take your observations very seriously. All our meeting-public spaces enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and we hope to extend the Wi-Fi into all guestrooms this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is in a great location where cruise ships dock. It is also close to the bus areas, where you can hop onto a free trolly or bus that goes around to many places of interest. I would highly recommend visiting the Castillo San Felipe del Morro fortress. The entrance fee is $3/- but it is worth visiting it. You can pay $5/ and visit this and the other fortress called Castillo San Cristobal. They are all within walking distance from Old San Juan. Old San Juan is the place to hang around. There are many restaurants and shopping places, all within walking distance. I would highly recommend visiting El Convento which has a lot of history. You can have lunch or dinner there. The Spanish architecture with the courtyard in the middle will delight you. There is some construction going on on the ground floor of El Convento at the moment though. Enjoy lovely Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: We had a room (Rm 806) directly below the fitness center which is open 24 hours so don't take this room. It was noisy when people used the treadmill which is on the ninth floor. The fitness center is directly above Rm 806...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stargazer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews