We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a pre-cruise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This hotel was super nice & clean! After reading some reviews I was kind of worried, but it turned out to be much better than expected. We stayed here due to its proximity to the Royal Caribbean cruise port, which is about a 5 min taxi ride (it is NOT walkable). We still had to pay $10 for the taxi. Staying in Old San Juan and then taking a taxi to the port would have only cost about $5 more, so there is really no advantage to staying closer to the port, but it was nice seeing the ship from the hotel window.

The morning of our cruise we checked out of the hotel and they held our bags so we could enjoy the hotel pool. It is a nice small infinity pool. If you are going to Puerto Rico to lay out the entire time, I would choose a hotel closer to the beach. In addition, to staying here we also stayed at the Doubletree by the Condado area. Both hotels were very nice & clean, but I would choose Doubletree over the Sheraton due to the location and price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EveRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

There's nothing wrong with this hotel. Great location across from cruise ship docks and near some really great restaurants on Fortaleza street. I liked the rooftop pool and jacuzzi. I would stay here again if I go back to San Juan, mainly because of the location. But only if I could find a deal. Not really worth the high standard rates. It's a bit dated and does not feel like a luxury hotel by any means.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ninth floor for more sunshine and easy access to the rooftop pool and fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel check-in went smoothly. There were NO extra charges. The room was spacious clean and had no odors to speak of. The casino is no big deal, but we aren't gamblers so that didn't matter to us. all the staff were friendly & helpful. the pool area is small, but it is nice & relaxing. i travel a lot for business and this was very nice. not luxury, but nothing for anyone who enjoys luxury to turn their nose up at.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed for three nights before we cruised. Usually we at least stay one or two nights before any cruise as a way to get in vacation mode, and provide some insurance in case there are any delays we will not be stressing about missing the boat. The last trip to PR we stayed in Condado, but found we were always coming down to Old Town for the great Restaurants (Dragon Fly, etc) and night life. This trip we chose to stay downtown. Location: The hotel is a short walk to the Carnival ship dock (not RCL). We dragged our bags the ~400 yards. It was hot, but no big deal for anyone in decent shape. Any closer and you would be on the boat. It is a 10 min walk to the Grocery store (beer, snack run), and maybe 15 to the fort. Hotel Staff: Great attitude, very friendly. I travel a lot and would be hard pressed to find a friendlier helpful front desk staff (especially the nice lady who checked us in and upgraded the room). Pool: Small, warm, but considering you are downtown it was good enough for a couple of nights to cool off. They did not hassle us at all for bringing up a few beers. Rooms: The standard rooms are on the small side, but clean and comfortable. The JR Suites are not that much more and give you twice the space, very nice. Elevators: Not enough, and you cannot take the stairs all the way down (we tried, and then had to walk back up a floor)….so you just have to wait. When the rush was on it could be 20 min, but other than that most of the time it was not an issue. Work out area: My wife loved the roof top open air feel, and it had enough to do for a regular hotel. We will be going back this year for two nights before the cruise, I looked and do not think there is a better deal for the location. We will stay a few nights somewhere else to enjoy the beach and then move down to Old Town to enjoy the nightlife, restaurants, and easy trip to the boat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseNView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed two nights and three days over New Years Eve. This property is in sad shape. Everything is old and "beat up". Even the towels were frayed. You would think they would have something special over "New Years Eve" ....nope. What a disappointment. The elevators sounded like they were not going to make it. Never again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the first few floors as the casino noise is apparent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thanks for your feedback. We started to replace all guestroom carpets, bedding, paint etc.. but, at the time of your stay we had several floors remaining and 100% occupancy which can also create too much traffic on the elevators. It's obvious you did not stay in one of the renovated rooms and we do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do have strict brand standards to meet. We would love to have you experience the renovated rooms at a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was in San Juan for a business trip that lasted from a Saturday night through the following Friday morning. I didn't select the hotel. The rate at the time was $179 USD without the taxes and resort fees. Expect this to add another $20+ to the nightly room rate.

The room we had was adequate with a comfortable bed and clean linens with extra pillows. There was a dresser and wardrobe tha accommodate the two of us fine. There is a desk with lamp and internet cabling. In-room coffee and a daily (almost) bottle of water grattice.

My room had no wirless internet. Get your room activated by contacting the front desk. I have an iPad with Verizon data plan. No data service in SJ but the phone worked fine as well as email and texting. Basically you get "1X" service with good signal strength in most places. Wi-fi is available in the meeting rooms. I don't know how much it cost as someone else set up the service.

The resturanrt on the second floor was good. Breakfast could be obtained from the full buffet consisting of both hot ($15) and cold ($10) options. You can also order off the menu if you have special dieteray needs. The coffee in PR is stronger than on the U.S. mainlaind, so you may want to get a pot of hot water and cut it accordingly. Warm milk is a standard accessory. I had dinner there two nights and breakfast every day for 5 days. Never a problem and the wait staff was courteous and professional.

We also used a couple of the larger meeting rooms for our function. They were well set up and accommodated us well. The hotel also provided the a.m. and p.m. snack breaks daily. Food quality was very good. The hotel provided A/V screens and cords and podiums. It all worked well.

The fitness center appears to be fairly new. It is equipped with 2 bikes, one recumbent and one upright by LifeFitness, also by LifeFitness, 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and a rack of dumbbells from 5 to 50 pounds. There is also a weight machine that will accommodate activity for a couple muscle groups. There is also a flat bench that can be adjusted to tilt. Stability balls also were on hand. It's all installed in a fairly small room, given the amount of equipment but they seem to make it work. I used the room 4 times during my stay. On my last day the room was way too hot.

The fitness center and pool are located on floor 9. There are locker rooms on this floor so you can lock up your stuff if you have a lock to apply. Somewhat disappointing here was the fact that both the men's and women's rooms on this floor were almost always out of towels or the dispensers were not functioning properly.

We tried on numerous occasions to get extra towles but that didn't always work. I don't know if it was a language barrier or not, but they seemed to understand but then when we came back from an outing we rarely got them after they cleaned the room.

You need to use your room key card to access floors 3 through 9. The 9th floor is as high as this hotel goes. If you are on any of these floors, you must also use the card to traverse between floors as well. You do not need a card to get to the ground floor. We had a particularly bad time with the key cards on our last night here. For unexplained reasons they both stopped working, even after being reprogrammed. Then we got news sets of keys TWICE. Neither elevator would read any of our keys. Other guests started expereinceing problems but it was intermittent. After getting a fourth set of room keys, we finally got things working. This is when all you want is a simple elevator that does not require a room key to access your floor. Apparently all this is done in the name of security. It was a hassle and was among the only low notes on the stay.

San Juan is a party city for many people. That said, yelling, screamining and running through the hotel's halls at 3:00 a.m. by some of the most discourteous obnoxious "guests" resulted in my calling the hotel front desk TWICE Saturday night. By Sunday night these jerks were long gone, presumably or perhaps thrown off the property. THAT episode was awful.

Overall I give this Sheraton a 3 out of 5 because nothing really stood out to validate a higher rating. If you soend your time here on vacation you will probably be fine. Just nothing to write home about.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Tech-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Tech-Trekker, thanks for sharing your experience. We strive to provide all our guest with a 4-5 star experience and therefore take your observations very seriously. All our meeting-public spaces enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and we hope to extend the Wi-Fi into all guestrooms this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel is in a great location where cruise ships dock. It is also close to the bus areas, where you can hop onto a free trolly or bus that goes around to many places of interest. I would highly recommend visiting the Castillo San Felipe del Morro fortress. The entrance fee is $3/- but it is worth visiting it. You can pay $5/ and visit this and the other fortress called Castillo San Cristobal. They are all within walking distance from Old San Juan. Old San Juan is the place to hang around. There are many restaurants and shopping places, all within walking distance. I would highly recommend visiting El Convento which has a lot of history. You can have lunch or dinner there. The Spanish architecture with the courtyard in the middle will delight you. There is some construction going on on the ground floor of El Convento at the moment though. Enjoy lovely Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: We had a room (Rm 806) directly below the fitness center which is open 24 hours so don't take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stargazer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.8 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.1 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
2.8 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,775 reviews
5.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
3.9 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $218 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing