We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,505)
Filter reviews
2,505 results
Traveller rating
694
971
546
156
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
971
546
156
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool across the street old san juan senor frogs cruise ship within walking distance free trolley burger place royal caribbean hotel is in a great location upgraded to a suite pre cruise el morro small balcony your luggage few blocks rental car
Filter
Updating list...
915 - 920 of 2,505 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2015

The room and hotel were nice, and the location was very convenient to Old San Juan. My only real criticism relates to parking - according to the web site, parking was an additional charge, but in reality, there is no parking affiliated with the hotel. So, when we got there with our rental car, my husband went in to find out which garage to park in, and was directed to one of two garages, and when we checked in, we were told that the employee didn't trust either garage, and implied that the car could be scratched, stolen, or urinated upon. None of the above occurred, but the garage did smell such that I believed that any of these wasn't out of the realm of possibility.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmoore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Besides valet parking, we do have guest overnight rate agreement with both parkings adjacent to the hotel at $11 and they have a very secured track record with - cameras - staff etc. so, not sure where the comment and we do hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2015

This Sheraton is located extremely conveniently in Old San Juan, directly across the street from the cruise dock (although, as we were not cruise passengers, we ended up finding the near daily influx of an enormous crowd on our doorstep a bit of an annoyance). You can walk anywhere in Old San Juan from this location, and a taxi to/from the airport costs less than $25.

The interior of the hotel is just ok. The room we had was clean and comfortable, although it didn't have much of a view and we could hear a lot of hallway noise. In particular, other guests closing their hotel room doors forcefully was disruptful.

There is a pool and hot tub on the roof. We spent some time there, but more for the outdoor space than the water. The pool is quite small (of course, it's on a roof!), and the hot tub was only lukewarm.

One unadulterated positive: The Sheraton staff were all great.

I would stay in this Sheraton again for the location. It's not the resort experience you can get in Condado, but you trade the beach, luxury pool, and big ocean-facing room for incredible convenience to Old San Juan.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel to be within walking distance of the cruise port. Forget it. You have to take a taxi. You are nowhere close enough to walk. Booked this through United Airlines website. Picked a bay view room. Got a view of the parking garage instead. Was too tired about it to argue. Figured that I'd get the right room but fail. Lesson learned : always book through the hotel directly - NEVER thorough a 3rd party. Burger joint in the hotel is ok. Buffet breakfast for $20 per person is very inadequate. About as good as a budget hotel breakfast on the mainland. Skip the buffet unless you have no other options. Room was fine bathroom was clean no problems except for the horrible view of the parking garage. Service is very good and staff are nice. Casino is small but adequate. Not much to do in the area but appears relatively safe. Good but not very hood. Better than average.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. As stated here before, we are within walking distance of Piers 1 thru 4 currently embarking Carnival and other cruise lines except RCCL or Celebrity which embark at the Pan American pier 1.6 miles distance from us and there are no hotels walking distance from that Pier. Hope you had time to really explore why Old San Juan is the foodie capital of the Caribbean and the best night life, all just steps away. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2015

The hotel is perfectly located for a pre- or post-cruise stay. You can easily walk your luggage across the street to or from the Carnival terminal. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable. We booked online through a hotel booking site and got a very good rate - about half what we saw listed on other sites. It was an inside room so there was no view, but we got enough views touring the city. There is a casino in the hotel that was a lot of fun, if you like that sort of amusement. San Juan is beautiful. We walked all over the old city and then rented a car to see the rest of Puerto Rico. This was one of our best vacations.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are truly excited to learn that this was one of your best vacations. Our industry is all about being part of lifetime memories and you just made our day. Obviously, we are also glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2015

On this past April 17, 2015 we were in San Juan for a group cruise vacation and stayed overnight at the Shearton Old Juan. The hotel has a great location across from the ship docks. They had held our reservation for over 6 months and the price even went down. This is an older hotel that has been completely re-done. One thing I would advise is to MAKE SURE you ask what has to be added to the price that you are quoted. You may be quoted $174 a night but with the items that are not mentioned until you arrive------that price can go up to $250. Also -----make sure you write everything down including all NAMES and where they are located. When we booked -----we found out that they had put us in the WRONG Sheraton -----it took us much times to get it to the right hotel in OLD TOWN. All in all-----it was a good stay except that a young person had booked a bachelor party-----that went on most of the night down the hall and when we complained about it------we were told that they told the group to control but if that dosn't work-----they just tell you that they are sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NoahsArk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay although regret the noise from another guest and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews