We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
146
221
130
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
221
130
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetfront deskwould stay here againfree breakfast iswalking distancelocation is greatsmall roomyogurtashford avenuehotel is locatedstreet parkingrestaurants and shopsper daycruise porthiecondadocasino
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 540 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2016

This hotel is located in the el Condado section of San Juan. It is about two blocks from the beach and in nice part of town. It is next to a lot high-priced hotels, but is more reasonably priced. It offers free Wi-Fi and breakfast. Make sure you go EARLY to breakfast because there seems to be a lot of guests that just devour the food and take extras for later in the day. I'm not sure why that is, but the dining room was packed the entire week that I was there. Unusually packed. The front desk is very friendly and helpful. There is no parking, but across the street there is parking for $17 a 24-hour period. This is the most convenient, secure and reasonably priced for the area. The police monitor the no parking zones on the street like nobody's business so beware of the yellow, white and red painted curbs. There is no parking on the street with the exception of taxis and emergency vehicles. Like any major city, just be careful going out at night. Don't think that it is safe to venture out late at night for a leisurely stroll. Do your shopping and sightseeing mostly during daylight hours. There is a Walgreen's and a CVS both within walking distance along with a lot of good, reasonably priced restaurants. The rooms were clean, the housekeeping staff was friendly and the kept the rooms and the rest of the hotel spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TruthTeller703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Dear TruthTeller703,
Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful review with us. We are very happy to read that you have had a great experience in our hotel, compare to expensive resorts in Condado area. Thank you for noticing our great staff and spotless cleanliness and we will make sure to share your feedback with our team as well. Our Hotel Parking is a small spot right next to the hotel, it is based on availability. We offer our guests the multifloor parking garage accross from the hotel at the same fee. Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express San Juan and hope to have you back with us again in the near future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

Very reasonable rates with a refreshed Holiday Inn Express( IHG) product. Staff attentive. Location , location, vacation. A stones throw away from El Condado beach and Plaza, not to mention the "Concha " property and all its restaurants, entertainment and Casino. A makeshift market first Sat of month is good for a to do. You will not be dissapointed if you know what to expect. Front desk happy to help with extensions and or switch of rooms. Great if on a budget.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Foodiepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Dear Foodiepaul,
Thank you very much for your detailed review regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed our great location in Condado with a great value. That is exactly what we aim for and we are happy to hear from our guests that their experience has been a valuable one in San Juan Condado. Hope to see you soon again in our island.
Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

I rather stay here n walk to any beach and restaurants because they are in 5-7 minutes of walking distance than to stay at any hotel on the beach. Your typical hotel for a cheap price. You get what you pay for. Nothing bad about my stay. If you want something not far from everything..then stay here. If you want to go visit a hotel on the beach n swim in their pool..go ahead.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Dear Donell G,
Thanks very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our great location in Condado and the approximity to restaurants, beach and other activites within a few minutes walking. Hope to see you soon again in our hotel.
Happy Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

This hotel is a great choice for traveling on a budget. The room itself is basic but good enough for us - no fridge in room. There is a great breakfast served in the morning consisting of hard boiled eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, pre-prepared omelets, sausage, toast, bagels and other small pastries, cereal, milk coffee, tea, oj - basically a great way to get something in your belly before starting your day. The hotel is 2 blocks away from the beach, 1 block away from a food\liquor store and like 4 blocks away from walgreens and cvs. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from around the area. The pool area is not impressive at all but who needs a pool when the beach is so beautiful and close? not us, we did not miss a large pool at all.
The only down side are the cab drivers that sit outside the hotel, they are pushy and aggressive. We chose to use UBER instead of their service because it was less than half the price!! When our Uber arrived all the cab drivers came up to him started yelling and threatening him, it was rather scary. It happened 2 times on the same day. I'm not sure if its possible but the hotel should really control that, we were 4 women traveling and those incidents made us feel very unsafe.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loonylani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016

Dear loonylani,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for noticing our great location in the city center and the proximity to all restaurants, stores and beach. Uber is not authorized to pick up customers from the hotels, airport and ports but only other locations. It is fairly new in Puerto Rico and it is taking some time to settle like any other new location. We apologize for the inconvenience, unfortunately as hotels we do not have control over the taxi and Uber drivers. Thank you again also for your nice comments on our complimentary breakfast. Hope you get another chance to visit our island and it would be our pleasure to serve you.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located for a central location for the beach and Old San Juan. It has quite comfortable updated modern rooms and you can't beat a better stay for the price. One of the major highlights of this hotel is the friendliness of the staff.They truly make you feel welcome. The young man at the concierge was amazing at pointing out points of interest and great restaurant recommendations. This place is close to many restraints and bars. We were able to find street parking every night during our stay. I would recommend this hotel for the budget traveler but one that is looking for an above average experience. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, there's a small pool and hot tub. Definitely enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressSJ, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2016

Dear Jose G,
Thanks very much for your awesome review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express. We are so happy to read that you have had a positive experience with us. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff and our great location in the city. We will be looking forward to having you back again very soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews