We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Milano
Nearby Hotels
US$211
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$309
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$216
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Miramar(San Juan)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
288
350
164
77
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
350
164
77
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantold san juangreat locationcontinental breakfastwithin walking distancepuerto ricostreet noisetop floorcruise shiprooms are smallyour luggagemofongostayed one nightpre cruisefortnightlife
Filter
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 951 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We knew from reading other reviews that this wasn´t a luxury hotel, but it still had gotten decent reviews so we were optimistick. We were however very disapointed and would not stay at this hotel again or recomend it to any of our friends.

Let's start with the positive things about this hotel:
- Location, in the middle of Old San Juan - very nice.
- Relatively clean, as to be expected from a mid range hotel.

The negative things about the hotel:
- No windows in our rooms (we changed rooms, but no windows in either of them). Some people might like that, but we found it very odd waking up and not knowing if it was night or day...
- Noisy fan that kept us up all night.
- Poor service when we complained about the fan. We were accused of having tampered with the thing, which we did not do, at least not before it started making noise. We did get transfered to another room where the fan worked, still no windows though. We also got a wopping 10% discount on the one night we did not sleep....

Conclusion:
This hotel has a very good location, but so does other hotels in the area. The other hotels might be slightly more expensive, but if they got windows in their rooms and allows you to sleep uninterupted by their malfunctioning noisy fans, then they are definently worth the extra few bucks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed one night each pre and post cruise. We wanted to stay in Old San Juan after three times in the Condado beach area. Juan and the staff as mentioned in other reviews are extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in Room 203 both times and heard no "street noise" at night - slept well . We did the rooftop continental brakfast. At $5 pp, we would recommend absorbing that into the cost of the room.They have a Certificate of Appreciation posted from Trip Advisor thanks to all the good reviews. There is a computer for guests to use . We would stay there again. Thanks Juan and staff for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panama1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Welcome at front door very warm. Helped getting in from rental car. They have barricades in front on street to save spot to park to unload. Very pleasant staff.

Do NOT get room on the street --- on Saturday night the cars were revving up, party goers screaming. Maybe it's only Saturday night! But reserve room in back, away from street.

It is in the middle of everything. FYI There's a Marshalls store up the street so you can buy luggage for your extra purchases. But there's also bakeries, artist galleries. Really good restaurants.

We liked this hotel very much, and suggest you look past the dated bathrooms and street noise. Look at the character and ethical honesty of the owner/manager. Truly a good experience.

PS we did not eat on lovely roof. We ate Mallorcas at local bakery closing for renovation that day.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was the 3rd time we have stayed at the Milano in the past year. We always stay there if we are cruising in or out of San Juan, and have never found anything to complain about.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean but a little basic and dated. The location of the hotel makes up for all of that though. Still my favourite hotel on OSJ.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter but may only have a small window.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlasgowRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights April 14 & 15 at the Milano after a Celebrity Summit cruise. This was a wonderful location in old town to explore the historic sites. Within a 7 or 8 square block area you have some of the oldest, narrowest and most interesting streets and buildings that you will find anywhere in new world after 1492. Tour the old forts ( from the 1530's ) and walk through San Juan gate and you realize that you have walked in others footsteps from the past 500 years.
Hotel Milano is right in the middle of the action and we were impressed with the staff who were very friendly and helpful. They held our luggage after our cruise until we could check in and since we had a VERY late flight out they also were kind enough to lock our luggage up until THEY called us a cab to the airport ( the cab driver has to report inside the hotel and provide the cab number before he can pick you up so there is no hanky panky with extra taxi charges ).
We had room 208 with a queen bed and a view of Fortaleza street. The room was clean with a nice shower and good sized bathroom. There was some noise from the bars in the area on Saturday night but it wasn't bad at all. My wife and I thought the whole experience was wonderful. We had a continental breakfast on the top floor for $5.35 each and it was good.
There are a number of very good restaurants in old town for lunch and dinner as well.
This hotel reminded us of staying at the Fontana Hotel by the Trevi Fountain in Rome. Each place you stay has a unique ambience that leaves you with an impression you will never forget. We are from western Canada and LOVE travelling the world.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giddles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews