We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good price”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location & good price”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The location of Hotel Milano could not be better - right in the heart of Old San Juan. It's within walking distance to every icon in OSJ and has a great old town feel. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind, and the rooms and foyer area were always clean. The rooms were a little small, but that doesn't matter if you're spending the day exploring OSJ. The hotel is very secure with keys required to enter after about 10pm and keys always needed to get into the corridors with the rooms. A beautiful entry, as well. Overall, for the price, it is a great find and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    343
    157
    74
    68
See reviews for
138
421
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We knew from reading other reviews that this wasn´t a luxury hotel, but it still had gotten decent reviews so we were optimistick. We were however very disapointed and would not stay at this hotel again or recomend it to any of our friends.

Let's start with the positive things about this hotel:
- Location, in the middle of Old San Juan - very nice.
- Relatively clean, as to be expected from a mid range hotel.

The negative things about the hotel:
- No windows in our rooms (we changed rooms, but no windows in either of them). Some people might like that, but we found it very odd waking up and not knowing if it was night or day...
- Noisy fan that kept us up all night.
- Poor service when we complained about the fan. We were accused of having tampered with the thing, which we did not do, at least not before it started making noise. We did get transfered to another room where the fan worked, still no windows though. We also got a wopping 10% discount on the one night we did not sleep....

Conclusion:
This hotel has a very good location, but so does other hotels in the area. The other hotels might be slightly more expensive, but if they got windows in their rooms and allows you to sleep uninterupted by their malfunctioning noisy fans, then they are definently worth the extra few bucks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed one night each pre and post cruise. We wanted to stay in Old San Juan after three times in the Condado beach area. Juan and the staff as mentioned in other reviews are extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in Room 203 both times and heard no "street noise" at night - slept well . We did the rooftop continental brakfast. At $5 pp, we would recommend absorbing that into the cost of the room.They have a Certificate of Appreciation posted from Trip Advisor thanks to all the good reviews. There is a computer for guests to use . We would stay there again. Thanks Juan and staff for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panama1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Welcome at front door very warm. Helped getting in from rental car. They have barricades in front on street to save spot to park to unload. Very pleasant staff.

Do NOT get room on the street --- on Saturday night the cars were revving up, party goers screaming. Maybe it's only Saturday night! But reserve room in back, away from street.

It is in the middle of everything. FYI There's a Marshalls store up the street so you can buy luggage for your extra purchases. But there's also bakeries, artist galleries. Really good restaurants.

We liked this hotel very much, and suggest you look past the dated bathrooms and street noise. Look at the character and ethical honesty of the owner/manager. Truly a good experience.

PS we did not eat on lovely roof. We ate Mallorcas at local bakery closing for renovation that day.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was the 3rd time we have stayed at the Milano in the past year. We always stay there if we are cruising in or out of San Juan, and have never found anything to complain about.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean but a little basic and dated. The location of the hotel makes up for all of that though. Still my favourite hotel on OSJ.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter but may only have a small window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights April 14 & 15 at the Milano after a Celebrity Summit cruise. This was a wonderful location in old town to explore the historic sites. Within a 7 or 8 square block area you have some of the oldest, narrowest and most interesting streets and buildings that you will find anywhere in new world after 1492. Tour the old forts ( from the 1530's ) and walk through San Juan gate and you realize that you have walked in others footsteps from the past 500 years.
Hotel Milano is right in the middle of the action and we were impressed with the staff who were very friendly and helpful. They held our luggage after our cruise until we could check in and since we had a VERY late flight out they also were kind enough to lock our luggage up until THEY called us a cab to the airport ( the cab driver has to report inside the hotel and provide the cab number before he can pick you up so there is no hanky panky with extra taxi charges ).
We had room 208 with a queen bed and a view of Fortaleza street. The room was clean with a nice shower and good sized bathroom. There was some noise from the bars in the area on Saturday night but it wasn't bad at all. My wife and I thought the whole experience was wonderful. We had a continental breakfast on the top floor for $5.35 each and it was good.
There are a number of very good restaurants in old town for lunch and dinner as well.
This hotel reminded us of staying at the Fontana Hotel by the Trevi Fountain in Rome. Each place you stay has a unique ambience that leaves you with an impression you will never forget. We are from western Canada and LOVE travelling the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giddles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Hotel Milano is reasonably priced and perfectly located in the middle of Old San Juan. It isn't fancy, but it's clean and pleasant, with a helpful staff. We arrived at almost midnight and it was no problem checking in. Our cruise didn't leave until early evening, several hours after check-out, and the hotel happily held our bags until we needed them. It's a perfect location for cruisers and we certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 km away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 km away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.0 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#11 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Calle Fortaleza 307 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Milano 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, nice hotel centrally located within walking distance of Old San Juan's many tourist attractions and the cruise harbor. Visit El Morro, San Cristobal, Museums, Art Galleries or shop at Calle Cristo and Calle Fortaleza where you will find many designer outlet centers and fine jewelry stores. Breakfast is offered in the hotel's penthouse terrace with a view of San Juan roof tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Juan
Hotel Milano San Juan Puerto Rico
Milano San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing