We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The room was great, the area is fantastic and...”
other travellers have booked this property
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Passage from the entry hall to the casita's courtyard gate - at rear of house. Casita courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Passage from the entry hall to the casita's courtyard gate - at rear of house.
Casita courtyard.
View from the kitchen looking to the bedroom.
Kitchen is open from the courtyard. New cabinets give you lots more space!
Newly renovated kitchen with plenty of cabinet & counter space - designed for longer stays.
The French doors to the exhibition space are permanently closed so you have privacy.
Casita bedroom - large TV with cable, WiFi and computer stand.
Bedroom with king bed showing door open with view to courtyard and kitchen.
Windows have screens if you prefer open air sleeping.
Bedroom with king bed showing door closed.
Bedroom with bathroom door under the air conditioner and backup airco just in case...
Closet has robes (on request) iron/board, luggage rack and skirt hangers.
Casita bathroom. We have a hair dryer, so no need to pack yours.
Casita bathroom with shower, no bathtub.
Your courtyard is semi-covered so it does get wet in the rain.
Casa Museo de los Santos: Historic house with 3 one-bedroom rental suites, museum & art gallery.
Front door has bulletin board with upcoming events.
Lobby has 24/7 coffee/tea available. Extra linen and emergency supplies if you forget something.
Entry lobby shared by all three suites, museum and art gallery.
Quarters for the bus to Old San Juan are in the box under the mirror if you need to make change.
Reception and office is located in our private museum of folk art.
Antique tiles in the lobby.
Antique floors are original 1915 artisan tiles - hand poured cement that look new after 100 years!
Join us for a glass of wine and museum tour with the curator during your stay.
Lobby leads to Ellie Pruess Gallery under the traditional Carnival Mask.
Art Gallery located next to main lobby.
The antique blue horse points toward the garden passage to the 'Casita Suite' at the back of house.
Passage from the casita to the front of the house.
The gazebo roof opens at one end for lots of light and air.
Inspired by a local fishing boat - the gazebo roof adds lots of character and shade.
Casita - View from the courtyard to the font of the passageway.
Parking is available on the street in front of the house.
Our next door neighbors are the indie rock group Fantasmes - live upstairs/studio downstairs.
Fantasmes - its like having your own 'house band' - they normally don't practice past 10pm.
On the corner, is Abracadabra arts café - hipster coffee house, restaurant, jazz on Friday & more!
Abracadabra: theater, magic, circus arts, film festivals, jazz & famous weekend Magical Brunch!
Film crew in front of house during filming of Banco Popular commercial.
The museum set up for filming to promote Puerto Rican culture.
Kitchen with lots of work space.
Kitchen
Kitchen.
Kitchen is 2 stops down from the courtyard.
Kitchen.
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GTcassie
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The room was great, the area is fantastic and Richard was very helpful!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I went to Puerto Rico on vacation with my fiance and stayed here in the Penthouse room for three days of our trip. The stay could not have been more pleasant. Richard, the owner, has worked very hard to make the place a little haven for guests. He was around without being invasive and was eager to answer any questions about what to do in the area and how to get there. After making the reservation, he sent us a digital packet of information about the area and how to get around as well.

About the Location:
Just outside San Juan proper and Viejo San Juan, Santurce is a wonderful artsy area reminiscent of similar areas in Atlanta, GA or Asheville, NC. It has a local feel, with most places within walking distance. You can take a quick bus ride into San Juan for only $0.50 per person, explore that area all day on foot or by trolley, then bus back for another $0.50. If you enjoy walking and don't mind public transit, this area is perfect. It is also within walking distance to Condado (one of the main touristy areas) and a short bus ride away from Isla Verde (a touristy beach area).

About The Room:
We stayed in the Penthouse, but would have been content with either of the other rooms as well. Very Clean and well maintained. The penthouse level has a private patio that is perfect for relaxing and reading. All the plants and herbs, plus the running fountain, make it seem like you are somewhere in the middle of the rainforest instead of a bustling city. There were some mosquitos, but Richard grows his own lemongrass, which is a natural bug repellent. I just rubbed some of that on my arms and legs and was fine. Everything else about the room was great.

About the Food:
There is a little square area not too far from the house that has some great food options. We didn't end up eating there, but

All in all, I was so happy to have stayed there and could not have found a better place. If you are looking for a five star, pampered experience, this is not it. But if you enjoy the feel of local culture and like to explore things on foot, you can't find a better spot.

Thank you, Richard, for such a wonderful experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The guest house could not be in a better location. Abracadabra is a restaurant just a few feet away from the rooms and is absolutely delicious.
Liked least: Mosquitos, but it was mostly a non-issue.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissgirl...
Altdorf, Switzerland
1 review
“Don[--]t want the ordinary hotel[--];pool place? That[--];s the perfect alternative!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I stayed at the Coqui Guest Suite for three weeks in August 2012.
Originally around ten nights were planned before moving on to other places in the west and south, but because I liked the place so much, I decided to stay there during my entire visit in PR and explore the island from there. So this should speak for itself.
Great place if you want that 'feel-like-a-local' experience. Perfect location as base camp - very easy to get to Old San Juan (by bus) or to Condado beach (15-20min walk). A new supermarket just opened close by (3min walk) with a big variety and fresh products. Parking is close, as is Highway access.
All the apartments are beautiful, clean, wonderfully decorated with a lot of attention to detail. Only downside during my stay was that the bedroom-balcony couldn't be used as its floor needed repair.
Your landlord is super friendly, provides you with more than you can think of and is always eager to help and give advice.
I truly had an amazing time there and can't wait to go back again. Thank you VERY MUCH, Richard!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony by the kitchen with the herb garden
Liked least: Mosquitos on the balcony at night...
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mouniawaf...
Montreal, Quebec
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience at a lovely house”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at the penthouse for 4 days, the experience was amazing, we couldn't ask for anything better. It's a very charming, comfortable and clean house, location was just perfect. Before the arrival Richard was very helpful, answered to all my questions about placed to visit and activities. I absolutely recommend this place and definitely will go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cromerdeb...
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Romance with Relaxtion”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We love this place and we raved about this place to all our friends and family. The owner Richard showed us the parts of San Juan and he even took the time to take us to a restaurant and I couldn't thank him anymore than we have...he was awesome and made our FIRST time to San Juan wonderful to enjoy. I definitely say book the Penthouse suite...and the pictures on line just don't do the view justice...its fine details and you will enjoy. The location is great access to beach area and downtown scenery. Great restaurants near by and gotta go to the market area to get a good Pina Colada for $5 bucks... the bus system work great for us to get around and we walk alot too..you will love this place and the good customer service that comes along with it!!! Cant wait to go back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being in the heart of San Juan
Liked least: not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandonla...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Experience!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My stay at Richards Casita Del Coqui was an unforgettable experience! From beginning to end the entire experience was pleasurable. The ease of booking with Richard through last minute reservation changes, to arrival in San Juan and to the Casita del Coqui. Richard paid the greatest attention the the smallest of details and took our vacation to another level!

The Casita is located in a quiet section of San Juan in the heart of the Art District and is surrounded by museums, quiet residential areas, and a short walk from the beach. The location allowed for a quick walk to the supermarket to pick up groceries to fix authentic Puerto Rican dishes that could be found in one of Richards cook books (although he can personally coach you through a variety of delicious meals which we prepared in the kitchen at the Casita!)

The close proximity of the beach allowed for a nice walk to take in the sights and explore. The bus that runs by the Casita takes you to Old San Juan for shopping and sight seeing and beats the cab fare any day. The entire city is easily accessible from the Casita and should you catch a cab and the driver is uncertain as to the address of the Casita "Leonardo's" is a fail safe destination across the street.

The Casita del Coqui itself is as gorgeous as it is spacious and yet it can feel like a second home. I chose it because of the location and unbeatable price but the beauty of Richards Casita cannot be justified by any pictures. My party of three rented out the Penthouse and Guest Suite and we had more than enough space. The kitchen and dining room saw daily action as we cooked most of our meals and ate together as well as lounged on his spacious balcony on the second floor. The Penthouse Suite was perfect as a nice getaway in itself. Richard took great care in creating a comfortable suite which exudes luxury. With the balcony garden and fountain overlooking much of the area it gives a sense of being on top of San Juan.

Richard has captured the essence of San Juan and offers it as a gift to all who visit as a respite from home yet a non tourist perspective for those looking to see the Real San Juan.

Thanks Richard, I'll be back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent customer service Richard provided was invaluable!
Liked least: The heat in San Juan was irregular for that time of year! But you can't have it all!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaacky
Carbonear, NL
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Penthouse pre-cruise, and could not have asked for anything better or different! We were looking for a more authentic experience of Puerto Rico (rather than the hotel/resort type locations) and we were pleasantly surprised with our discovery of Casita del Coqui!!

Beginning with our initial contact and inquiries of the property, Richard was fabulous! We arrived in Puerto Rico later in the evening (delayed flight) and he was gracious enough to wait for us, meet us at the house, and actually direct the taxi driver (thank you Richard!!). Then to top if off, assisted us with some dinner at a local restaurant. The following morning he took us on a tour of the area, pointed our various sights including restaurants, cafes, dance clubs, etc. This special and personalized touch was simply a fantastic way to start our vacation.

Although we only stayed 4 nights, it was just a fantastic experience. We found our way to the beach, tried various local restaurants, shopped, visited Old San Juan ... with out ultimate highlight being the Abracadabra Cafe (right on the corner of our street).

We found the area to be very quite (except for the coqui ... which we loved ... some do not :)). With friends staying on the second floor, we had full access to the kitchen and dining areas. The Penthouse was absolutely beautiful and quaint. With 2 sliding doors which opened up the entire area to the outdoors, sitting and relaxing either inside or out was beautiful.

We would not hesitate to visit Puerto Rico again, and would definitely stay at Casita del Coqui! It is a "must see" for sure and an experience all in its own! Thank you again Richard!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quaint atmosphere, customer service!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2msonwhee...
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
“Our Private Oasis”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Our week at the Casita del Coqui could not have been more ideal. The Casita is charming and comfortable and gave us the sense that we were enjoying the ``real`` Puerto Rico rather than the crowds and resort atmosphere just a few blocks away! The atmosphere is relaxed and homey. Although there are two other suites they are on separate floors and you seldom glimpse the other guests.

There is something deliightful about sitting outside in the morning enjoying the excellent Puerto Rican coffee and luxuriating over breakfast on your private patio among tropical plants and a serenade of tropical birds as a background.

The kitchen is fairly basic but contains everything you need to make light meals and there aremany places to eat nearby. Puerto Rican food is reasonable and particularly tasty so we were pleased to be able to walk to several authentic restaurants. The servers were welcoming and very patient with our limited efforts to communicate in Spanish. More standard fair such as burgers, subs, pizza etc are also close as is a small grocery store which stocks basics you might need. A few blocks away there is a supermarket with a tremendous selection and some particularly yummy cinnamon cookies.

Most importantly the bedroom is peaceful and comfortable with a good quality king bed and nice linens. The little coqui chirps occasionally outside which just adds to the charm of your stay.

Richard is the consumate host, giving us a wonderful walking tour to aquaint us with the highlights and history of the arts area the night we arrived, pointing out different buildings and recommending restaurants along the way. He was always willing to help us plan our days giving us tips on transportation and highlights to see. One nice touch was the library of tour guide books we could take to leaf through and the basket of change available so we always had the right fare for the buses. There are also nice touches like available beach towels and chairs as well as umberellas for the tropicl rains.

The building is also home to a large art collection as well as a museum of Authentic religious carvings and we were treated to a private peak and heard the histories of several of these treasures as well as learning some of the symbolism and Rican Culture.

Although we were several blocks from the beach and resort area they were both within walking distance as were a couple of museums. Busses are close, cheap, frequent and efficient with most of the city`s highlights within 15 minutes or so. We did rent a car folr a couple of days but appreciated thed calm of riding the bus as San Juan is a challenge to drive in. Richard mentioned that traffic laws were treated as `suggestions` and we did experience a couple of drivers doing U turns just in front of us on one of the many one way streets. (As the many of the streets accomodate just one car width this can make for some pretty hairy driving.)

This was a very enjoyable vacation and we feel that because we stayed at the Casita we came away with a sense of what life is really like in San Juan rather than looking back at this holiday as just another sandy beach somewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our host, Richard, made San Juan come alive for us.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing