We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a PR food!”
Review of Jose Enrique

Jose Enrique
Ranked #35 of 1,173 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Description: Located in the Placita de Santurce, the local farmers' market in the heart of San Juan and a very popular Friday night hangout among the locals.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

With a good and exquisite taste. This is one of the better restaurants in the island. The service is grate. The place is small but grate. Very Puertorrican cultural ambient

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 901 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Read all about Jose Enrique and had to try it. Delicious! Great food and wonderful service. You need to add this to your must do in San Juan list. We are going back tonight!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

i should have known that a restaurant that does not have (or apparently need a sign) was going to be good. The place is located in an old pink house in very cool neighborhood. We visited it on a Friday evening and there was a very festive street party going on with bands and salsa dancing.. No reservations, but the short wait for a table was worth it. The food was fresh and delicious. We shared a bunch of different dishes. The highlights included the fried Grouper (head in all), the skirt steak and the avocado salad, If you are spending anytime in San Juan, then dinner here is a must!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Came here at the recommendation of my husband's cousin, who lived in Puerto Rico during her childhood/adolescence. It's not well labeled on the outside and inside it's a normal, casual-looking place. Don't be fooled, this place has incredible food. We weren't sure what to get so we spied on our neighbors who seemed to be enjoying themselves - copying them we ordered Crab fritters and the tropical salad to start, then we shared the Picadillo. The crab fritters were insanely good. I'm drooling just thinking about them - it was like a cold crab salad in a spicy mayo on top of something deep fried and delicious. The salad was fine, nothing to write home about. The picadillo was also out of this world. It is basically a Puerto Rican beef chili with a fried egg on top all over a mound of rice. When you mash all those up the flavors were bold and rich and it was maybe one of the best comfort food meals I have ever had. I will DEFINITELY be coming back to this place next time I'm in Puerto Rico. Also they had good mixed drinks - try the coconut mojito!

Service was good, ambience was fine-good, prices were more expensive than I would have wanted, but none of that matters bc the food was other-worldly.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrooklynRed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

No reservations, just get here early. Fun place. Sat at the bar overlooking the kitchen. Chatted with the bartender all during the meal. Whole fried Grouper with a mango papaya red onion salsa. Damn good drinks too.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jose Enrique also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Jose Enrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing