We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel at a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good hotel at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights prior to cruising out of San Juan. We were prepared that this hotel was not fancy, so we weren't surprised by this. The hotel rooms do not have windows, but we were prepared for this as well. The building is old, but historical. The rooms were clean and the service was great! The staff is wonderful! Luis, the manager, accommodated our needs very well. This hotel is within walking distance of everything that you would need, restaurants, drug store, sightseeing, etc. If you are looking for a fancy place to stay close to the beach, this is not it, but we were pleasantly surprised with our stay. Keep in mind that the buildings in Old San Juan are old. Again, the staff there was just wonderful. We would stay here again for a short time similar to how we did this time.

Room Tip: the elevator is small and old, but works and the stairwell is steep and narrow. If you have any hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
We really appreciate the time you have invest in making a review about us.
You have been so honest in it that we feel very happy to read those kind of words.
Although the majority of our rooms(42) do not have windows there are a couple of them (9) that actually have French Balcony.where you can enjoy the Plaza View.
Yes, we are a 1800 renovated (2005) historical building protected under the Instituto De Cultura De Puerto Rico.

As you mention we are closed to every place in Old San Juan but if you need a Taxi we have them just in front.

Our staff have been trained to provide you with the kindest attention you deserve.
Our principal mission is that:
" May every person who enter as a guest, leave Hotel Plaza De Armas as a friend"

Thanks for choosing us..

Luis Garzón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    335
    197
    80
    72
See reviews for
125
431
124
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed the night before we left on our cruise, was a great location, the manager kept our luggage for us during the morning and early after noon before we disembarked on our cruise, very friendly staff, comfy beds, clean rooms, only bad thing was water in shower wasn't the warmest, but great price for night

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adkpridetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

made reservations in Aug. 2011 for room with two twin beds, verbally confirmed it on Jan. 2nd 2012. when we got there on March 3rd I was told I was "not getting a room with twin beds because hotel was full!" I provided a print out of my reservation with confirmation number and I was told I was not getting the room I had reserved!!! Shower didn't drain. I was offered no resolution, I was made to feel like take the room or go some where else!!! This is horrible customer service and I will not stay or recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time to make a review about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan.
We are deeply sorry about the situation you have been through when staying in our hotel.
I can assure you that those kind of situation will not happen again and an investigation has been performed on your behalf..

We always try to please our guest as much as possible and that is why I beg you a thousand appologies for this inconvenient.

Please next time you plan to come back to Puerto Rico try to contact me directly and I will take care personally of all your needs here at the Hotel plaza De Armas.

Thanks in advance for considering us.

Luis Garzon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is a small hotel, but with BIG potential! We stayed one night, but highly recommend visiting here! We came in early for a cruise and arrived at the hotel at 12:30 AM. Had no problem checking in at such a late hour. The staff is positively wonderful!

To get to our room on the fourth floor, we entered a cute, small elevator. It is VERY SMALL and antiquated, but that just adds to the charm. It works fine if you are patient. Our room was clean and roomy, but not window. The air conditioner adds a lot of white noise to help us sleep peacefully.

Such a charming hotel that has been kept as a big secret! I can't complement the staff enough!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyCruiseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the attentiveness of our staff.
We do have an small elevator but we are one of the few in Old San Juan that has one
in their facilities.

I really appreciate your honest opinion about us and I would like to tell you that we are not a secret anymore, because for people like you now everybody is knowing the kind of property we are.

Thanks again and whenever you plan to come back, please contact me and I will personally assist you.

Luis Garzon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We only stayed here because of the price and the location. If there is a next time I will stay else where. The location was great; however the hotel is run down. This is really too bad since the structure has potential. The room felt dirty and the king bed did not have king sheets on the bed! They did not have phone service and had to knock on our door for wake up service! I did not sleep all night due to the noise form the street, buses, trucks etc...The front desk was friendly, despite asking for recommendations for local food. We know the difference between local and tourist traps; since we are Puerto Rican. I hope they renovate and clean up their act. By they way this property is no longer owned by Howard Johnson!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Plaza De Armas for your recent stay. I hope that you had a wonderful time at the Old San Juan City.

Thank you for taking the time to make a review here. I am personally appalled at the conditions which you report. This is certainly not the kind of hospitality we intend to offer our valued guests.

The following steps were immediately taken:

1. Meetings were held with the entire staff and they received additional training in maintaining the standards which we have set for our Hotel Plaza De Armas. This includes proper cleaning and also proper supplies being in the room.

2. We will be doing checks to make sure that our standards are being met.

3. We are in the middle of the process to get a new telephone company to fix that issue.

4.- We do not control the noise in the street but we can offer you a very nice interior room where you can sleep more quietly.

5.- We trained our front desk staff to assist our guest in anything they require without any interest in particular places.

6.- We are now proudly Hotel Plaza De Armas with a great location, great price and a great service in Old San Juan..

I think you will be greatly pleased the next time you stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas.

Please get in touch with me and I personally assist you..

Luis Garzon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

After having read different reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. Turns out I was worried for nothing. This is a 300 year old building (so I've been told). The elevator is small and slow when it works...It was out for an hour during our 3 night stay. But we only used it once. Used the stairs all the time. If you have mobility problems asks for a room on the ground floor. The room we had had no windows but turns out this was great since no outside noise to keep us awake. Our friends were staying in a different hotel and they had that problem. AC was working great. Shower had running water, what more do you want?
Seriously this is a great hotel. I don't understand the bad reviews. I guess some people have to be pampered...The staff was very helpful and informative. We stayed there 2 nights before our cruise and 1 after and both times went very well. Walked from hotel to cruise ship, same on way back. 10 minute walk with our luggage. But I had walked all over before so I knew the shortest way and the easiest also! The hotel is walking distance from everything in Old San Juan. There is a small grocery store across the plaza and also a great little restaurant called El Meson right on the corner where all the locals have breakfast and more. We had our breakfast there every morning. It was cheap and good. It opens at 5:30 so great for very early risers...
Another thing that was very appreciated was the fact that we could leave our luggage in the hotel before checking in and after checking out so we could go walking. And if you're a jogger, it's a great place to go running around. As for parking, not so easy. We rented 2 minivans that we parked in the municipal parking 5 minutes away for less than $4 a night. Overall a great experience and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs book on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time out of your tight schedule to write a review about us.
Our main responsability is to meet all your expectations and more. and if we can exceed them in order to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please keep in mind that your feedback is considerably valuable to us. It help us to improve our service and property on a daily basis.

It is our hope that you will be staying with us in another opportunity you have in the future and that will give us a great chance to serve you again.

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Other than the good location in Old San Juan this hotel has nothing to offer the traveler to Puerto Rico. It took 45 minutes to check-in. There were no working phones in the rooms. We had no hot water. The rooms were not only dark and dingy, but not very clean either. There was no coffee for the coffeemaker. The elevator did not work. Room security was questionable. Balconies could be accessed from neighboring rooms and several window locks did not work. The staff was friendly, but very inefficient. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing