We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel after a cruise. Since we arrived so early, they held our suitcases behind the desk while we wandered around Old San Juan, and they were waiting for us in our rooms when returned in the afternoon. The location is great and the service was excellent. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, and there's free wi-fi in the lobby. We had one of the rooms in front with a balcony. The plus side is having the cute balcony, with a view of the Plaza. The drawback is having street noise - though we really didn't notice it anyway. The air conditioner fan was loud enough to cover it up, but constant enough to not bother me for sleeping. There's a taxi stand across the street, but since we had an early flight, the manager arranged to have a taxi waiting for us at 5:45 am (the driver was already waiting in the lobby when we checked out around 5:30). He also arranged for us to have an early wake-up call at 5am (there's no phone in the room - the wake up "call" was a knock at the door), but it was right on time. There was an alarm clock in the room, but it was nice to have the extra assurance of the wake-up call. It's not fancy, but it was a good value for Old San Juan. We also stayed at Hotel Milano pre-cruise, and I felt that the two hotels were pretty comparable, and would stay again at either one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorbina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thanks Sorbina for having the time to make a review about Hotel Plaza De Armas.

I'm really glad to read that your experience with us was more than satisfying.

All the time we aim to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

I would like to let you know that your feedback is very important to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. I will personally take care of all your needs when you come back.

Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    338
    199
    80
    74
See reviews for
125
436
125
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our sixth stay in the last six years at this hotel. Each time we have not been disappointed. We use this hotel as a yearly pre cruise starting point for our vacation. We usually stay two nights. This hotel is not fancy, but clean and affordable. There are no windows or free breakfast, but the staff is very friendly and accomodating especially Luis, the manager.This hotel is right in the heart of Old San Juan and is within walking distance of all restaurants,shoppng, sight seeing and the cruise docks. If your looking for all the frills and ocean view rooms like the major hotel chains with the fancy price, this is not the hotel for you. But if you want a clean place to stay with a great location and friendly staff, I highly recomend them. Hopefully we see them again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miken-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks Miken for being so kind in making a review about Hotel Plaza De Armas.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite, peaceful and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs.

It's true we have no windows in the majority of our rooms (42) but they have air conditioning and we do have 9 marvelous suites if you need fresh air besides the air conditioning.

As you mentioned we are in the middle of everyplace here in Old San Juan and you can walk from our place to anyplace else in just minutes, but if you need transportation we have a free trolley stop just outside our doors and a taxi crew just in front. However if you do need special transportation services like rent-a-car or midnight taxi we can help you with those requirement too.

Our mission is to serve you the way it should be.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montezuma, IA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location but I was a little skeptical at what we would encounter after reading the reviews. However, I think the people who have issues with this hotel have really high standards and didn't do their research.

The elevator is very interesting and if you are claustrophobic, you shouldn't get in it. We didn't experience any problems with it while we were there (February 25).

The rooms were clean and because they are inside rooms, we had no problem with noise. The phone didn't work in our room but we didn't need it. My sister and brother-in-law's TV didn't work and they were unable to control the air conditioner. It was either on or off instead of regulated by temperature. However we weren't in the room that much - only to sleep and shower.

It is great for a pre-cruise stay and we will stay there again. The staff was nice and helpful when we needed something.

We walked to both forts from there, Walgreen's, Wendy's and other food places are right there. We also walked to the cruise pier from the hotel. It is all downhill so it is an easy walk with luggage.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stella2626`
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks Stella for taking a time for making an honest review of Hotel Plaza De Armas.

We aim to please every guest that come to us but we have not success all the time, however we always try to do our best.

About the phone, we are doing major efforts to change the company we work with and as soon as possible we will have the service once again.

Tv's has been taken care of and all air conditioning has been through a maintenance program to improve the temperature control.

Yes we are great for pre-cruise and after-cruise but we are more than that.. Just try to stay with us for more than 2 days and you will find out.

All our staff are trained constantly to be service oriented so guest can feel confortable to ask anything they might need with the certanty that they will be pleased on their requirement.

Next time you plan to visit us please drop me a call at 787-722-9191 and I personally will take care of your needs.

Thanks again..

Luis Garzon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights prior to cruising out of San Juan. We were prepared that this hotel was not fancy, so we weren't surprised by this. The hotel rooms do not have windows, but we were prepared for this as well. The building is old, but historical. The rooms were clean and the service was great! The staff is wonderful! Luis, the manager, accommodated our needs very well. This hotel is within walking distance of everything that you would need, restaurants, drug store, sightseeing, etc. If you are looking for a fancy place to stay close to the beach, this is not it, but we were pleasantly surprised with our stay. Keep in mind that the buildings in Old San Juan are old. Again, the staff there was just wonderful. We would stay here again for a short time similar to how we did this time.

Room Tip: the elevator is small and old, but works and the stairwell is steep and narrow. If you have any hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
We really appreciate the time you have invest in making a review about us.
You have been so honest in it that we feel very happy to read those kind of words.
Although the majority of our rooms(42) do not have windows there are a couple of them (9) that actually have French Balcony.where you can enjoy the Plaza View.
Yes, we are a 1800 renovated (2005) historical building protected under the Instituto De Cultura De Puerto Rico.

As you mention we are closed to every place in Old San Juan but if you need a Taxi we have them just in front.

Our staff have been trained to provide you with the kindest attention you deserve.
Our principal mission is that:
" May every person who enter as a guest, leave Hotel Plaza De Armas as a friend"

Thanks for choosing us..

Luis Garzón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed the night before we left on our cruise, was a great location, the manager kept our luggage for us during the morning and early after noon before we disembarked on our cruise, very friendly staff, comfy beds, clean rooms, only bad thing was water in shower wasn't the warmest, but great price for night

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adkpridetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

made reservations in Aug. 2011 for room with two twin beds, verbally confirmed it on Jan. 2nd 2012. when we got there on March 3rd I was told I was "not getting a room with twin beds because hotel was full!" I provided a print out of my reservation with confirmation number and I was told I was not getting the room I had reserved!!! Shower didn't drain. I was offered no resolution, I was made to feel like take the room or go some where else!!! This is horrible customer service and I will not stay or recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time to make a review about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan.
We are deeply sorry about the situation you have been through when staying in our hotel.
I can assure you that those kind of situation will not happen again and an investigation has been performed on your behalf..

We always try to please our guest as much as possible and that is why I beg you a thousand appologies for this inconvenient.

Please next time you plan to come back to Puerto Rico try to contact me directly and I will take care personally of all your needs here at the Hotel plaza De Armas.

Thanks in advance for considering us.

Luis Garzon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is a small hotel, but with BIG potential! We stayed one night, but highly recommend visiting here! We came in early for a cruise and arrived at the hotel at 12:30 AM. Had no problem checking in at such a late hour. The staff is positively wonderful!

To get to our room on the fourth floor, we entered a cute, small elevator. It is VERY SMALL and antiquated, but that just adds to the charm. It works fine if you are patient. Our room was clean and roomy, but not window. The air conditioner adds a lot of white noise to help us sleep peacefully.

Such a charming hotel that has been kept as a big secret! I can't complement the staff enough!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyCruiseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the attentiveness of our staff.
We do have an small elevator but we are one of the few in Old San Juan that has one
in their facilities.

I really appreciate your honest opinion about us and I would like to tell you that we are not a secret anymore, because for people like you now everybody is knowing the kind of property we are.

Thanks again and whenever you plan to come back, please contact me and I will personally assist you.

Luis Garzon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.3 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.4 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 km away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 km away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing