We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Part of Town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Juan Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Part of Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The actual hotel was clean but the neighborhood was very sketchy ---if its just a quick overnight stay---stay here otherwise find another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetter2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    370
    197
    55
    21
See reviews for
222
276
57
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

After driving for what seemed like an eternity we arrived at the hotel. You are not allowed to park your own vehicle so you have to use the valet. Fine, whatever. We checked in and there were what seemed like 100 people in the lobby area. Only one elevator in this hotel. Really? Wow, we are fit so we took the stairs to our room.
The room itself was small. That's fine, we didn't plan on spending much time in the room anyway. It was clean and that's all that really mattered to us.
We arrived around dinner time so after we unpacked we looked at the hotel restuarant, it looked ok but we decided to venture out for more variety.
Upon returning after dinner, we checked out the fitness center so we could use it in the morning. OMG, what a joke! One treadmill that did not work and it was located in the smelly, dank basement. That picture of the fitness center on their website... who knows where they got that picutre, it's not the fitness center here. We ended up going for a run outside which was great, over the bridge to the other side of the Luguna Condado which was a nice area.
Even though I am a Marriott rewards member, I would not stay here again. I would stay on the other side of the laguna or stay at the Marriott Isla Verde (not too far away) which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower level, chances are you'll be taking the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

This was a pre-cruise stay chosen for its close proximity to the Panamerican Pier. The hotel has been pleasantly renovated and we did not encounter the elevator issues mentioned in other reviews. We arrived at 11pm and were checked-in quickly and without any problems (I called them from the mainland airport before boarding our flight to let them know our ETA). The neighborhood was OK, and I safely walked all the way to the Condado area after sunrise without any crime concerns, as there were cabbies, late night revellers and neighbors already going about their Sunday morning business. I did ask the receptionist where not to walk before leaving the lobby. The breakfast restaurant was nice, but service was slow due to a large group of cruisers who showed up en masse with meal vouchers. Food was good, though. There's a diner down the street with cheaper breakfast fare, as well as a supermarket to get wine bottles for your cruise. We'll stay here again on a future cruise.

Room Tip: The spacious two-room suites have a door between the bedroom and living room that blocks the nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizona_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at three differnet hotels over a course of 10 days at San Juan. This one is in a central business district, about a block off a waterway, but no beach - have to walk about 20 minutes to get to closest one. Appears to be fairly new, so room size, bathrooms ok. Local bus service is close, fares of 0.50 or 0.75 will take you to Old San Juan. There are some local resturants nearby, and a grocery store about a block away, so meal options are available. The workout room is small, poorly equipt. Business center worked well, and ATM in lobby. Staff is very helpful and friendly. If it had a beach, it would be great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

First of all extremely hard to find.Location in a seedy part of the city.Reception employee was rude and not welcoming when we checked in.Room was okay with stained carpets. At least the bed was up to Marriott standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel was very clean, pool was nice, location was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are less noicy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Village, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We purchased this room by bidding on Priceline. Once I began to read the reviews I was a little nervous as its non-refundable. We figured we would make the best of it, and I am really glad I didn’t pay attention to some of the reviews I read.

It is a business district, so in the evening, it is very quiet, being from NYC this is not intimidating to me, but I could see how that would be to some people.

The Hotel is set up with a very nice lobby and two restaurants, one that is rated among the top ten restaurants on the island! There is also a Gym and a Laundry room as well as a business center that offers free internet and printers.

The room was very large and clean and we had no complaints, it was serviced regularly. The pool does get sun, and yes it is in the afternoon, but once it gets there, its decent sun. People need to remember this is a Hotel, not a resort, when you go the Caribbean, that does make a difference. I didn’t feel that there was a lot of noise as some people mentioned.

I will mention there was a great deal of cruise passengers on the weekend, and I am sorry to say that the group that was at our hotel was not at all behaved, and they really let their teenagers run amuck! I am not knocking cruisers, we take many cruises ourselves, but this large group was very rude and inconsiderate to other guests, and it struck me funny that most of the negative reviews, or complaints come from the cruise passengers.

We rented a car and we found it very convenient to be so close to the highway to get around. There is a bus stop on the corner and the bus will take you to Old San Juan for 75 cents and it’s about a 10 minute ride. We felt safe taking the bus, and on the day we went in there were quite a few tourist’s that were on the bus as well.

For what we needed we were pleased, we got away for a great deal. The room was clean, and all the employees were really very nice and made our stay enjoyable.

It’s a Hotel, not a resort, if you can remember that you will have no issues. If you want a resort and a fancy pool, etc. then maybe think twice before coming here. If you want great accommodation’s for a great price then you will be satisfied. We would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: When you check in be sure you do not get a connecting room, they are smaller then regular rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FJS0974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.6 km away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.8 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.4 km away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#11 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Juan Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Juan Miramar

Property: Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Address: 801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Family Hotel in San Juan
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Juan Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive for understanding our guests business and leisure needs providing them with the essential amenities that will ensure their satisfaction. Guestrooms with panoramic city and Condado Bay views that will allow our guests to be comfortable and productive at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard San Juan Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Juan Miramar Hotel San Juan
San Juan Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing