We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed!”
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dissapointed!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Its not what it looks like in the pictures, the elevator was not working, the 2nd night we had to leave because they had no electricity. They helped us to look for another hotel, but I had to argue with the so that they would pay for the taxi to move. We had to take all our staff thru stairs, 4th floor, no lights. Without any help. We had to pay for the other hotel. I wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oceanvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience. Please know that our staff is always willing to assist our guests in any of their needs. We are glad to inform you that we took care of our issues with the electricity and they will not occur again. Please, give us the opportunity to serve you again, you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    170
    51
    32
    33
See reviews for
101
293
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We loved our stay here. The room we booked was the king suite and we did not get any disturbance from the outside noise. Great location for those into the nightlife too. We would stay here again. We stayed here before taking a cruise and the location for the departure day was perfect...like walking distance perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our room was on the front of the building. It had two beautiful double doors leading out to balconies that look out over the street. Unfortunately only useable in the early morning as the hotel looks out over a very ugly four story parking lot and the traffic non stop.
Bathroom was clean and presentable but the steam room was not functioning.
It was very noisy with the late nate bar drunks singing and yelling all night and police cars coming by to pick them up.
Last time I stayed in San Juan I stayed at El Convento which was worth the price. This hotel not so good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jas55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Unfortunately, the night you stayed with us a few drunks made kind of a riot and police had to intervene. Let me tell you that this is not normal. Yes, of curse there is always some noise and drunks at 3am walking past the hotel to return to their homes, but riots and police intervention rarely occurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel's location cannot be beat. BE CAREFUL THAT YOU GET THE ROOM YOU BOOKED. I reserved a King Suite which according to the hotel's website had a KING BED, arched colonial doors opening on to Spanish balconies, a separate seating area. There was a picture of this room on the webpage. When I checked in I was put in a room with a double bed, no balcony, a sofa bed in a windowless room and one tiny window to the right of the bed. I went back down to the front desk as this was clearly not the room I had reserved. They told me at first I was in the correct room. They seemed completely confused when I gave them the description of the room as listed on their own website. I was offered a free drink as compensation but declined and asked only to be placed in the room I had booked and was being charged for. Although they were nice the women working the front desk kept insisting that I was in the right room. In fact, one of them stated to me that no rooms in the hotel had a king bed. I then pulled up their own website on my phone to show them what it said. Finally a manager came and offered to switch rooms. The next room was like a different hotel, it was beautiful with high ceilings a KING BED and was the correct type of suite. The staff at the hotel was very friendly but doesn't seem to have basic knowledge of the hotel.

Yes this hotel is quite noisy due to street activity but that was expected, just bring earplugs. The bed was very comfortable and the bathrooms were nicely done. The rooms do need some minor fixes. Instead of a tv in the bedroom there was a painting placed in front of the wall mount where a tv used to be (there was one in the other room that worked fine) The bathroom had the fittings for a steam shower but it wasn't working. The rain shower was great! With some minor bug fixes and a better trained staff this hotel would be perfect. It's a beautiful building and the room was decorated well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inchicago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting this insightful review. Our staff is always learning and improving so each time we can provide a better experience. We are sorry for the room confusion; however, if you ever decide to come back, it will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Cervantes is right in the heart of Old San Juan, steps away from Crisobal Fort, wonderful resturants (including Panza right down stairs), and all of the jewelry and gift shops. The rooms are somewhat small but beautifully appointed in contemporary style, with a total marble bath. The staff was wonderful, as was the Puerto Rican Coffee each morning - but don't be surprised with a total bread and sweets breakfast, that is very PR. We had a balcony room which was lovely for fresh air, but not so much for the noise. Not a bad stay for a couple of days to see Old San Juan before venturing out to a resort. We got a special through Bookings.com.

Room Tip: Taxis from airport wil get you here for about $12 per person. Or $24 for the couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia32174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is in the best location right in the heart of Old San Juan. It is a beautiful hotel. Like some prior reviews it was noisy. The noise is due to the small alleys between the hotel where every noise is just magnified and echoed. We did have a suite in the rear of the building but was still very noisy. The hotel does need some updating in the rooms. The carpet in our room was in very bad condition, We felt it was way overpriced for the quality of the room. The continental breakfast is very minimal. The great thing about the hotel are the people that work there. Dorcas at the front desk was the sweetest and most helpful. Everyone was very polite and helpful. Believe me no matter which room you are in it will be noisy. Would really not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Too expensive for the quality of the rooms and the noise level. There are other hotels in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our stay here was less than desirable. The hotel was experiencing water issues during our stay, however, we were never informed of this, and allowed to check-in. The showers were COLD regardless of time of day. The staff should've notified us prior to arriving. Instead we were offered drinks at the bar when we complained. No thanks.

Also, our bedding & towels were stained, and the comforter was torn. Not at all what I expected from a boutique hotel with only 12 guestrooms.

We booked through Priceline and it was advertised that there was free parking on-site and wifi. I called before arriving to verify where the free parking was, and was told there wasn't any available and to park at the structure across the street. Turns out the hotel considers the greater area of San Juan to be "on-site". Parking ended up costing $60. Wifi never worked, and the staff confirmed that it's spotty. Why bother advertising it then?

It has now been a month since our stay, and I am still working with their management to try to resolve the issue. Their staff lacks customer service skills and empathy, which is funny since they are in the hospitality industry. Not at all how I wanted our wonderful vacation in Puerto Rico to end.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

This hot water problem was a one time issue. when we became aware of this we offered you and other guests on your floor (only one floor experienced the water issue), complementry dinks and a discount upon check out. we are sorry for all your troubles. Management is trying to resolve your case.

On another note, the hotel has acquired new towels and sheets and is working on the wifi signal, for it works perfectly in the lobby and sometimes in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.5 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
209 reviews
0.1 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#14 of 47 in San Juan
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
932 reviews
0.1 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing