We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel centrally located ”
Review of Hotel Belgica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belgica
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ponce
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting family in Ponce. The hotel is clean, nice, the room was spacious in comparison with your average hotel room, and even though aged it still has charm. The front desk and house keeping staff were friendly. The hotel is located right in the main plaza. There are restaurants, stores, etc within walking distance. You may to consider noise if you want to stay here because been close to clubs, bars, casino, etc it gets noisy until early hours in the morning outside and you can hear in the room.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tresleches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 9 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We were in Ponce for work after Hurricane María and staying at another hotel which had promised a lot and delivered nada. On a whim we walked over to the Belgica and were able to get a room.

Despite the challenges of being without internet this was by far one of the best days ever because of the wonderful management under Humberto Saavedra.

Gracias para todos y nos vemos pronto!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Ponce must be the friendliest place in all of Puerto Rico - which I first learned when interacting with the professional, courteous and genuine hotel staff members here. The place is a great value, and the perfect hotel. There are balconies in many rooms. The ones that don't have communal balconies, and offer a great savings if you're just passing through. The hotel itself is charming, clean and beautiful. Would recommend it to anyone, rich or poor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

It doesn't have parking space because it's an old structure. During weekends Ponce gets very crowded and it's not easy to find parking. The hotel is beautiful and is not expensive if compared with the other hotels. It also includes a simple breakfast. Thanks

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank ssotomayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

We loved the charm of this hotel! First, the good stuff - most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!! The hotel was clean, and the decor was classic old Caribbean and European, and felt as though we could have been in a movie - Casablanca, maybe? (Lol, there's a poster on an easel in the lobby). The staff was very friendly. It was comfortable. The room was nice and dark with the shutters closed. The a.c. worked great. Walking distance to the town center, which is really cool and has a gorgeous fountain. Now, the bad (wasn't really too bad, but I feel it's good to share) Parking close to the hotel was not difficult, however it was street parking, and one day we had to park 2 blocks away. There are no elevators in the hotel, so you'll have to carry your bags up stairs (beautiful tall ceilings = lots of stairs). The balcony was a shared balcony, but I never saw anyone else on it. And the walls are thin, so the bar across the street, the trash trucks, and general car noises could keep you up if you're a light sleeper. Bring earplugs...they are cheap and will help you sleep through the noise. :-)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

This place has all you really need, clean sheets, ac and hot water. The hotel is in a classic old building. Our room was large and clean with the exception of the bedspread that did not look too inviting, so I didn't use it. The ones in the pictures look much nicer. But, maybe that is what I get with internet deals sometimes. We stayed Saturday night and although the place is in the heart of old down town there was no noise whatsoever.

The location can't be beat, just steps from the main square. We sat drinking in front of a bar across from the square watching people parading around in their cars. The breakfast was not much, but there is coffee and toast to get you going.

Room Tip: All rooms probably have all the basics. However, you may want to ask to see your room if you are pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This is a quaint vintage hotel located near Ponce plaza. The rooms have high ceilings and A/C. There is a bug problem, cockroaches. Customer service is non existence.
You get want you pay for. Note to Managers: Clean up and get someone to help 24/7.

Room Tip: Chose a back room . Too noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kriziazafiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
4 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
0.1 km away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
0.2 km away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 8 in Ponce
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
59.3 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#1 of 4 in Mayaguez
140 reviews
63 km away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgica

Address: 122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range: $121 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belgica 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of the historic district of Ponce. Rooms with cathedral ceilings and traditional balconies. Next to Plaza las Delicias and the Trolley Tour. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgica Hotel Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing