We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
172
53
12
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
172
53
12
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay amazing hosts visiting vieques laid back maria joe island taxis beaches guesthouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 250 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2019

Warm personable couple from NY (Maria and Joseph) run this well kept guest house which is a great value and very clean. Each room has strong air conditioning and good water pressure/ temperature and both Maria and Joseph work so hard to make the experience amazing for each guest. We came without a car reservation and Maria went out of her way to try to find us a golf cart and hired us a taxi / gave us recommendations for breakfast and beaches. They lent us beach towels and allowed us to keep our luggage downstairs after check out. They have an awesome bar downstairs and we had a great time listening to music and chatting with the couple at night- they were so warm and generous to invite us to try Puerto Rico rum and share their stories. Maria was great to communicate with us by text prior to check in and make sure we caught the ferry. Honestly they are one of the main reasons we loved our short time in Vieques - definitely one of the best options on the island!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2019

A friend and I spent two nights in Maria and Joe's guesthouse. Before and during our trip they were very responsive to questions and offered suggestions for restaurants, taxis, tours to the biobay, and more. They loaned us beach chairs and towels when we set off to explore the island and prepared wonderful coffee in the morning. It was a pleasure to stay with them and I would recommend their guesthouse to anyone wanting a low key place to stay in Isabel Segunda. It is a quick walk to the main part of town.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank viajera01040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2019

The day before my trip , I received a call from Maria asking if everything was set for our vacation? WOW ~ what a way to start a vacation!! We actually didn't make it to the guest house until 10pm due to mechanical problems with the plane which caused us to miss our connecting flights, so needless to say it was a bit stressful but Maria was waiting for us with open arms. I can't say enough about the hosts Maria and Joe. Every morning we started our day with a cappuccino and good conversation with either Joe or Maria. They helped make our time in Vieques memorable and offered lots of tips and good advice. I loved the whole experience ~ the wild horses, the chickens , the beaches, great food and especially the friendly people. Thank you Maria and Joe for helping to make our time at Vieques a trip we will remember fondly. Hope to return someday. Warm balmy breezes seem so far away as a foot of snow is on it's way here.......
<3 Linda and Kirk.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

First of All

Owners Maria Luna and Jose Bernard

Very respectful persons and well dedicates to the person stay.

-Perfect place for short stay.
-Room are comfortable, neat and clean.
-Place close to restaurants and plaza.
- Perfectly sited.

+A Rated

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank christiancarlos89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2019

What a trip, was supposed to just go to the Island for the day, leave at 6 in the morning and come back in the evening. Even had a jeep rental line up.

Well once you go Vieques you start to understand you go on the ferry's schedule. What started out as a 6 am ferry ride ended up being picked up from Ceiba at 11 and dropped off on Vieques at 12.

At that point the decision was made to stay the night on the island and try to go back the next day, like I said we had a vehicle lined up, but no hotel. Avis rental car directed us to Kelly at Sea Gate Hotel, but they had no rooms, and rather than talking poorly of her competition, the first person she suggested was Maria at Tropical Guest House.

We went to see Maria, and yes she had a room! it was perfect for our family of four. At this point we ready to take on the island, we went snorkeling at Playa La Chiva and Mosquito Pier and even seen two sea turtles.

Upon our return to the hotel room we realized we were not packed with the proper toiletries, especially for women to wash their hair free of sea salt. Maria was so happy to provide them shampoo and conditioner so they could get a brush through their sea soaked hair!

That evening upon my return from Mama Mia's pizza they even offered for our family to eat in their restaurant/dining/bar area instead of in our room.

Cannot say enough about the hospitality of Maria and Joe at the Tropical Guest House!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schmittvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews