We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Escape”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane L
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Escape”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a beautiful and unique place on a little swath of paradise! A group of family and friends (5 adults, 3 children ages 5-11) stayed at Las Piedras the last week of August. Las Piedras is a wonderful and very spacious home overlooking a gorgeous beach! The awesome layout of the house gave each party it's own space to relax as well as a huge communal space to socialize. All with excellent views of the ocean. I cannot emphasize enough, what a fabulous time we all had, whether snorkeling right outside the house, taking a dip in the pool on our deck, or just lazing away the day in a hammock. The house is stocked with all the snorkeling equipment, floaties, and towels you could possibly need! The kitchen is also fully stocked with appliances and tools. We really could not ask for anything more. Besides traveling to all the glorious beaches the island has to offer, we were always so happy to return to such a comfortable and inviting place!

Jennifer and Rene were always available for advice, directions, or anything that needed attention. We always felt very well taken care of! Even though two tropical storms passed through the area during our stay, we never felt unsafe or stressed. Jennifer was so understanding and accommodating when we encountered some issues due to tropical storm Erica. We are all so grateful for such generosity from our host! Even she experienced her own adventure returning to the States during this time!

We hope to one day return to this lovely place called Las Piedras! All the horses and dogs and wild beauty of the island are certainly enchanting memories!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thanks for this gracious review Diane, it was a pleasure to work with you and I really enjoyed meeting your family as well. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay despite the uncertainty of both the forecast AND our exit strategies...I guess that gives us better stories to tell later! Best wishes to you as you anticipate an exciting year and of course should your path lead you back to Vieques we'd love to have you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpw110
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect rental for our extended family”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Las Piedras is a beautiful house and was perfect for our extended family vacation. We had 9 adults and never felt crowded. There are amazing views from just about any location. There was a constant breeze so we were always comfortable, temperature wise. The down side with the strong breeze was the ocean had some pretty good waves, making snorkeling less than optimum. Too bad because the little we did do was the best we had seen on the island. Snorkeling was good next to the mile long pier and the adjoining beach which had numerous star fish. We also rented paddle boards and used them in this same area. We were very disappointed with the snorkeling at Red beach. A few of us took our own equipment but Jen does have some available. Don't visit the island without doing the Bio Bay. We used JAK sports and were pleased with them but I am sure other companies are just as favorable. Back to the house - we spent a lot of time in the pool. It was especially refreshing after coming back from the beach. There are more than enough lounge chairs and pool toys. The hammock got used a lot too. Plenty of space to work on your tan or catch some shade. The kitchen and dining area are beautiful; the whole house is tastefully decorated. As mentioned in other reviews, get some smoothies from the stand across the street from the ferry terminal-dellightful. Wi-fi was not working and Jen did try to work with us to get it up and running . Finally got a repair person out but it took many days. 2 in our party needed it for college assignments. They had to drive out to the airport a few times to complete their assignments. If it weren't for their classes, we would not have needed it. Evenings were spent with board and card games and lots of laughter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire house is great with amazing views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words, so glad you enjoyed both the house and the island. I especially appreciate your understanding on the internet issue...occasionally the entire island experiences an outage for a day or two but in this case the problem was at our location and a technician needed to repair. Thankfully that is not the norm but I'm sorry you had to leave the property to get a signal. There are several places in Isabel that are a good back-up but the airport has a/c :) We'd love to see you return should your path ever bring you back to Vieques, thanks again! Jennifer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamas_got...
Carlsbad, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is awesome...but don't tell anyone”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Vieques as a whole is an incredible, untouched island and I hope that it stays that way. It is not for the people used to first class, ritzy, disney-like vacations. Sometimes the grocery stores have what you need sometimes they don't. There are no chain restaurants or stores. Shopping is limited to a handful of boutiques - The Funky Beehive is a great shop and they have a book exchange if you run out of good reading. People are friendly and majority speak english. This is a place where you wear your bathing suit and flip flops 24/7.
Las Piedras is the perfect location for a beach house. Best of both worlds-pool and beach. The beach is public but very quiet. The neighborhood is the same. House was well stocked with linens, dishes, amenities. House and property were very clean and well cared for. Jennifer is a wonderful 'land-lord'-very helpful and accommodating. We will be back for sure!
Coqui Fire Mexican was the best food on the island. Duffy's in Esperanza came in at 2nd place. Lazy Jacks made the best painkillers. Buen Provencho had a great selection of meat and veggies. Smoothies across from the ferry were delicious. If you are planning on taking the ferry and need a ride from San Juan to Fajardo, call Shawn at Luquillo Taxi. He is awesome!! Ferry ride was easy peasy, 1 hour 15 min. $2 per person is a lot less painful then $80 to fly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thanks for your gracious and helpful review, these are great recommendations that really help future guests get the most out of their vacation. I also understand wanting to keep "the secret" of both Las Piedras and Vieques and hope the island remains commercialized. You are now considered VIP and we'd love to welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Thanks so much for your kind words, it really makes me happy to know that you enjoyed VQS and that Las Piedras met or exceeded expectations. You were great to work with and we would love to have you return. Congrats and best wishes in your new life together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lchiodo
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The house was incredible and we fell in love with the island!”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We loved everything about the house! The views were incredible from every room in the house. The house was extremely clean and well stocked with towels, beach equipment, kitchen appliances, washer/dryer, etc. We traveled with our nine and six year old and six month old baby. and everybody was very comfortable. The kids loved the pool and outdoor shower!

Jenni was so friendly and helpful with booking and planning the trip. Rene, the housekeeper, was also very friendly and took us to a local supermarket when we arrived. As Jenni mentioned, the night ferry was not optimal and we took Cape Air home. Maybe if kids weren't involved my husband and I could tolerate the waiting better but the kids were exhausted and it was a lot of down time due to our flight schedule.

We went to the local supermarkets a lot and also liked the Buen Provencho market for fruit, cheese and deli meats. We ate at Bali one night in Esperanza and had a great meal. Roy's cafe was also really nice and had great coffee and sandwiches.

Each day we drove around and picked a different beach to visit and loved each one. I would read TripAdvisor recommendations and plan your stops out ahead of time. My husband and boys also did a BioBay tour and loved it.

We felt so grateful to spend the week before Christmas in Las Piedras and have already talked to Jenni about re-booking next year!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and proximity to the beach. The decor was also beautiful.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the house, right on the ocean, looking out from bed at the waves!
Liked least: Wish I had taken Spanish instead of French in HS! Did ok though!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alicia H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely incredible!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I went to Vieques and stayed at Las Piedras for our honeymoon. This place exceeded all our expectations. The views are expansive and breathtaking. You can't get any closer to the water than this property does. The master bedroom has beautiful sunrise and ocean views. The pool is private with an amazing view over looking the ocean. The amenities are top notch. I cooked some meals and had everything I needed to prepare them. The house also included beach chairs, towels, snorkel gear, coolers, etc. This house is a very roomy three story private gated home. We felt safe and comfortable during our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing