We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming beachside dinner”
Review of Maya's

Maya's
Ranked #23 of 71 Restaurants in Gustavia
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Maya´s restaurant, St. Barth French west indies
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

The total package! Delicious, inventive food, great service, location to die for, and a cute cat!
Probably my overall favorite dinner experience on St. Barth.

Thank asinger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2017

A group of us had a very nice meal here one night off the boat. It was the end of the high season, so things were pretty relaxed. The service was very personal and friendly. The meals were very good. The cost was higher than we expected, but I guess you pay a bit for the experience and the reputation Maya's has built up over the years.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We had another magical night at Maya's this weekend. We have never written a TripAdvisor review but felt compelled after being baffeled why Maya's isn't rated higher. The personal touch by the owners is such a lost art, especially in the islands, and the warmth of Randy and Maya always makes you feel like you are dining with old friends. On an island full of extraordinary restaurants Maya's is the one that we will always go back to year after year. Don't miss Maya's chocolate cake!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank winniedog2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

I have been going to St-Barth since 1978 and haven't missed a year since -- over 40 visits to the island. I have been going to Maya's since the beginning in 1984. I have seen a lot of change on the island and seen so many restaurants come and go, but the one thing that has not changed are the flavors and the freshness and perfect cooking of Maya's food. My wife and I will go for 17-21 days at a time, and will end up at Maya's 4-6 times in one trip - we just cannot get enough of the fresh, clean, perfectly prepared flavors and dishes. The greatest French chefs always say that most of the success of a dish is in the quality and freshness of the ingredients treated with respect by the chef. Maya is the epitome of this credo. If you are fortunate enough to see her "asperges blanches" (white asparagus) on the menu, take them! You will immediately understand. The same is true of the soups, tartares, fish dishes (another favorite is the Dover sole -- meunière or simply grilled -- which rivals or surpasses the most famous NYC versions of this dish), prime meats (anything "filet de bœuf" or veal is terrific) and do not miss "chicken night" most every Monday. I could go on and on...but will finish by giving major props to Maya's husband Randy, who with hostess Dora run the front of the house with a young and energetic waitstaff who truly care about the overall experience of their patrons. The wine list is carefully curated and offers one the best values for money on the island. It is no surprise that Maya’s is the longest lasting restaurant on St. Barths under the same management. Bon appétit and bravo Chef Maya and Randy!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CatAndB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maya's S, Dora Hôtesse at Maya's, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear Cat and Dear B,

Thank you for such a lovely posting on TripAdvisor ! When a regular guest, such as yourself, confirms that, as always, everything was perfect, we could not be more over the moon !

We hope you have the occasion to visit again soon.

Best regards,
Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious meal in April 2017 while sailing through the area. Everyone enjoyed their meal. They were very accommodating to my gluten free requirements, as well. Highly recommend!

Thank SmithsfromKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maya's S, Dora Hôtesse at Maya's, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your happiness and experience! We sincerely wish you all our very best.
Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya's also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Colombier, St. Barthelemy
 
Grand Cul-de-Sac, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
St. Barthelemy, Caribbean
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Maya's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing