We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A most pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Seraphine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Seraphine
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A most pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Acting on the recommendation of my cousin, I arrived at the Auberge Seraphine and was instantly impressed. The staff are amongst the most courteous and accommodating I've encountered at any hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. My room opened up to a lovely pool, even though I never used it. Another attractive addition was that I had free wifi throughout the hotel. This makes the Auberge Seraphine the ideal place for business travelers as well as those who need to remain in contact with family while away. It was a pleasure to sit on the upper terrace overlooking the water and look at the Egrets settle, while having a drink at sun set. The bar is more than adequately stocked and the restaurant, well laid out, serves excellent meals which are surprisingly very affordable. Should you require a place close to the airport and every other major activity center in St Lucia, I would definitely recommend the Auberge Seraphine. The only downside to staying at the Auberge Seraphine is the absence of a beach within walking distance (which they do mention on their website). However, the other conveniences makes it worth the stay. Should you decide to stay at the Auberge Seraphine, make sure to have Denver,the bartender, mix you a kokonut rum and pineapple juice. It is definitely the best I've had.

S. Peters

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Artist Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    56
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
30
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I spent five nights there from the 24th to the 29th January. You pay beer money, yet you still get enough champagne.
You get champagne in terms of efficient service.
You get champagne in terms of treatment; they tend to treat you like family. I was impressed by the informality and customer-trusting nature from booking, through check-in and then checkout. I hope that no circumstances arise that would cause them to change their way of doing business – hospitality without officiousness.
I had a minor issue at around 1.30 a.m. on my first night and was able to have my room changed immediately and amiably by the overnight manager whose name I believe was Swelen.
Many thanks to Barbara who attended to me at breakfast, Thomas, who attended to me at dinner together with Miriam and Camilla at the front desk who extended a number of courtesies to me, all deeply appreciated.
I had no complaints and was satisfied with my room and its maintenance. I loved the view from my room’s balcony and would stay up late at night just enjoying the refreshing night air. I felt safe at all times on the compound and always saw security personnel on the compound.

Room Tip: Rooms have a view of the bay, but the top level provides the better panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
187 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Auberge Seraphine 13 January 2012
Lovely short stay at Auberge again. We had a room overlooking the water and the Egrets. Very clean. I met our housekeeper, Lia, and she is very nice. Elton and the other staff do a brilliant rum punch. Clive the new security guard was a pleasure to talk to and a mine of information. A very well run and not expensive place. Going back to stay later in the year for a little longer.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the bay with a balcony. Breakfast is good value and cooked to order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Following my previous report (in 2009 I think), this place remains a delightful place to stay. True, some of the facilities are somewhat "jaded" - old-fashioned TV sets, somehwat faded bathroom facilities etc - but these pale into insignificance when you sit at the Seraphine's bar, or on the terrace above, with a marvellous view of the Castries bays and the cruise ships which come in and out on a regular basis.

The Seraphine's restaurant is good value for money and the staff (at evening time) are friendly and helpful. I still can't say the same about the female breakfast staff - not exactly rude, but offhand, but a few more smiles would be welcome.....

The reception staff are a delight to deal with - always helpful - not always the case in the Caribbean these days.

Don't go here for a beach holiday, but if you want to be close to Castries, this is the place to stay. Prices still very reasonable for the region; large rooms with balconies, and - a big plus - free WiFi, with simple sign on.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
310 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed here for a night after arriving late on the catamaran from Martinique. It is clearly the best option in the St Lucian capital, and a welcome haven after the needlessly chaotic scene at the port. I was quickly ushered to a perfect room...large, clean, stylish in a traditional if stereotyped "island" fashion with en excellent bathroom and large balcony. Wifi free and TV excellent. The view is of the pretty yacht harbour and trees packed full of egrets. the latter a nice but unintentional touch. The restaurant was fine with good service, although some of the staff seemed more intent on serving the small group of affluent locals at the bar than dealing with the visitors. The reception was helpful if not effusive. I actually easily walked into Castries, possibly one of the Caribbean's least compelling capitals, with a shortcut past the new-built cruise ship port. Wanted to buy a bottle of rum for friends I would visit, which was a no-go in town since it was election day, but passing the shopping centre at the very artificial cruise ship port found I could buy anything anytime at duty free prices with a passport. Funny that. The front desk conveniently arranged an impromptu care rental so I could be off quickly to Soufriere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
154 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I must say right up front that I did not select this property for my stay. It was arranged by a local partner. The property and the stay overall was ok but they have room for serious improvements. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was clean. The air conditioning, key for this place, became very noisy at times, sometimes while I was sleeping and it woke me up a couple of times. If you shut down the AC, the room becomes very smelly. This was perhaps one of the two serious downsides in this place. The room gets very smelly. But after you switch the AC back on (some 15 minutes later) the smell loses strength. The food is NOT impressive at all. Compared to other places I visited, the restaurant in this hotel is far far behind. I even had lunch at a very small place next to the road to Soufriere and the food was superior when compared to the hotel food. The second big disappointment of this hotel was that before arriving I was told the rate included the breakfast. When I sat down at the restaurant the first morning to have my breakfast I was told that it was not included. That is simply dishonest. But the place is isolated from other places so no chance to run away to get breakfast. And again, the food is not good AT ALL. The staff is helpful and courteous, unless you want to get your breakfast as part of the rate!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

If you want a charming hotel where nothing is too much trouble, this is it. Rooms are spacious, clean, well equipped (yes, wi-fi also) and you look out over an arm of St Lucia's harbour called the 'petit carenage'. Everything from small launches through elegant catamarans to massive cruise liners to watch from the lovely big balcony and the sunsets can be spectacular. It feels like a hundred miles from anything, but it's not! And a reasonable if rather dated bathroom with lots of hot water .

There's a well stocked bar, a small lounge area (alas not air-con) and a dining room open to the breeze on one side. The food is mostly better than average and sometimes good.

It's a 10 minute ride from V.C.Charles airport (the smaller of the two on the island): if you've flown in to Hewanorra, take the helicopter over the island - more fun and much quicker, and then a taxi. Ten minutes again into Castries for the usual supermarkets, coffee shops, and local craft, though this is aimed at the cruise ship trade and you have to search for anything special,

But the best bit is the staff, warm, friendly, and out to please. Give it a try1

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtmiktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.0 km away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.0 km away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 km away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#4 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Seraphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Seraphine

Property: Auberge Seraphine
Address: Vielle Bay, Castries 00000, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Seraphine 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel in St. Lucia with one of the most popular restaurants on the island. An obvious choice for business travelers visiting Castries or Gros Islet because of its proximity to SLU airport, more and more vacationers are stopping into Auberge Seraphine for one or two nights during their stay on the island for an authentic local experience. While there is no beach, most rooms overlook the pool and beautiful Vielle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Auberge Seraphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Seraphine Castries
Auberge Seraphine Hotel Castries
Auberge Seraphine St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing