We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Could be better but needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Could be better but needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked our trip more than 6 months ago as an Interval International Getaway. We contacted the Managing Director at that time, requesting as nice a suite as possible, given that we would be there for two weeks. He only responded many months later, after two more emails.
The resort itself is reasonably nice, however our unit was badly in need of upgrading, with dirty kitchen curtains and a generally 'tired' appearance. We made staff aware of our displeasure with the unit, but nobody seemed interested in addressing our concerns, although all staff with whom we spoke readily admitted that this was an older unit in need of renovation.
The resort is built on the side of a mountain, with shuttle service running all day up and down steep, winding roadways. We were not too high up, but it still required a fair bit of energy to get up and down to the beach, even though we are in good physical shape. We didn't want to wait at all times for a shuttle to be available.
They advertise internet service, however wifi is only available in the lobby and we were not informed that only ethernet connection is available in the room. We would have brought a laptop, rather than IPad had we known.
The restaurants we sampled served good food, but were on the pricey side. The resort is not within walking distance of other restaurants or any other commerce. Rodney Bay, with high quality, reasonably priced restaurants is a $14US taxi each way.
The Dragonfly restaurant had an excellent Friday night barbecue buffet. Service was pleasant enough.
We ate several dinners at Jammers. Service was variable but food was generally good. The setting is lovely, overlooking the beach and water.
Our favourite restaurant was Papa Dons. It is Italian, but has a very wide menu, It's reasonably priced and the service and food were the best of the entire resort. We ate several meals there.
We did enjoy our stay, however, we feel that for a supposedly high end resort, Windjammer is lacking many of the finer things. It is badly in need of updating for it to really be first class. We would not hurry to return.

Room Tip: The Hibiscus Suites are the nicest, but we were told none were available, in spite of our having req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank judykball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. First, I apologize for my slow response to your earlier messages. I am sorry your stay was not as positive as would like but I appreciate your feedback. We are planning a renovation of rooms starting this summer and installation of wi-fi in the units as well. I hope you'll give us a chance in the future.

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,461
    656
    190
    92
    42
See reviews for
793
995
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our third time back to Windjammers and we had the most amazing holiday. we absolutely love it here. . so why is Windjammers so fabulous.... ok well the staff are second to none and they bend over backwards to make you feel welcome and at home.
the villas are lovely and clean with amazing views and great furniture. The restaurants are superb but def check out having in house villa dining as this is just superb. totally yummy and so romantic. ask for Sabina to be your chef. she is excellent...
there is a great spa, gym, water sports and a lovely beach and pools to use. it really is bliss. the mango daquiris are quite something too.
we go on holiday a lot - but this is time and time again our fav resort. check it out.

Room Tip: ask for an enclosed villa (so mosquitoes stay away from you!) try out a two bed villa with plunge p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davinia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thanks for the terrific review! We are always so happy to see the two of you and look forward to your next trip (maybe with 3!) Thanks for the note about Sabina - she enjoyed being your Chef for the two nights!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We recently returned from our second trip (the first 7 years ago when our children were very young) and had as good a time this year as in 2005. Positives: the setting, the landscaping, lovely secluded bay, good 'safe' swimming, fun beach games like the floating trampoline and floating water slide. There are several pools to choose from if you want to avoid the gorgeous white sand. Sports facilities, quite busy during our UK half term visit, include waterski-ing, with lessons for children if booked the day before, hobie cat sailing, kayaking and pedaloes. The people were friendly - both staff and other guests - and we found ourselves chatting with plenty of both. Most were families with children ranging in age from 0 to 16. There is a kids' club which is well run which we used occasionally on our first visit.
The food: American-Caribbean style cuisine - with BBQ and grills featuring large on the menus of all five restaurants. The fish and meat we had was excellent. The only real disappointment was the Dragonfly dinner we had on Valentines night. The Upper Deck proved top of our list this time for its exquisite filet mignon. The fish - mostly Mahi-mahi, was deliciously fresh and cooked. The menu at Jammers was perfect for family suppers with a great bar too, and right by the beach. The view from the Papa Dons mediterranean style restaurant up the hill is gorgeous - get there before 7 or the sun will have set. Breakfast is at the Dragonfly by the main pool, which has a lovely verandah though is a little gloomy inside. On the bright side you can have the buffet every day of the week - eggs cooked in front of you, bacon and pastries piled high. The children were agog and had chocolate pancakes with muffins just to whet their appetites for the cooked brekkie afterwards.
The accommodation: villas and apartments across the whole site, linked by a winding narrow brick road and shuttle bus rides to the resort facilities. We were 'upgraded' to a 3 bedroom villa with plunge pool on the lower slope from the 2 room villa we'd booked. While providing the children with more privacy, we were told by other families we met that the villas up the hill were more modernised. Ours was tired, definitely, with no glazing in the living room/kitchen area. The lighting in the bathroom was decidedly temperamental and the plunge pool was in need of a good scrub to lose its liverish look. However, we were quite comfortable in our bedrooms with AC units and the outdoorsy feel to the living room was exotic and helped us acclimatise to the tropical climate. Another benefit of being lower down the hill was that we didn't need to depend on the shuttle bus. The view across the sea was lovely though our proximity to the beach meant we could hear the local Saturday night gatherings more clearly than we would have liked.
Overall, an excellent choice for the family holiday with lots of activities and a friendly atmosphere. Plenty of guests were there with kids and grandparents. You don't need to leave the resort, but if you do you'll soon discover you've picked one of the best on the island.

Room Tip: Insist on a newer room/villa up the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kikirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed nearly all elements of your stay but apologize for the disappointment with Dragonfly. We do hope you'll return - and with less than 7 years between visits!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Where to start .. The villas : We stayed in one of the older villas but it was still imaculate. Our cleaner comes everyday and does an amazing job. She even folds over the end of the toilet paper roll in all 3 bathrooms ! And we also had an outstanding view of the sea from the balcony. Next, the staff : The friendliest people you'll ever meet. They'll often talk to you if you're just passing by and ask you how your day has been. And they ALWAYS say "You're welcome" which is a nice touch.
Then there's the restaurants : I would definatly recommend the Upper Deck, although Papa Dons isn't quite as good. There is always a fresh buffet at lunchtime and on Sundays they do a special brunch. The nightlife is great ; there is a live band every night. Very entertaining. Over all Windjammer is definatly the place to go ; even if you have children.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Wow! Thanks for the nice comments - we're happy you feel we're the "best"! We hope you'll be back soon!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As I usually am apt to do, before booking a hotel, I read as many reviews as I can, to get an overall flavor of the hotel property and surrounding environs. For this specific property, I initially discovered that there seemed to be a proliferation of negative comments about the hotel staff.

Before I say anything else about this wonderful little Caribbean island, I would like to make one specific observation -- in my 30+ years of travel to every Caribbean island that exists, I have never encountered a more friendly, efficient, and accommodating hotel staff. Period.

Every need we had was met. Every request was fulfilled in a timely manner. Attention was paid to every detail. Here, I would specifically like to commend Mr. Lloyd Evelyn for his professional demeanor, not to mention acumen, in dealing with a mirade of public relations situations.

One word of advice for travelers "new" to the Caribbean experience, YOU are in the tropics, YOU are in a place on earth where time is NOT of the significance it is "back home". So learn to mellow out, enjoy the slower pace of life and leave your uptight, perfectionist seeking persona at home.

Best restaurants:
Jammin': (at Windjammers Landing) have the fresh fish plate - so fresh it's flopping on your plate!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa: have the coconut-breaded fresh grouper with plantain -- divine!
Cap Maison: best for lunch -- beautiful setting to boot!

Sites to see:
Take the Red Catamaran Cruise that includes a trip to the rainforest for a tour and lunch, a trip through the drive through volcano AND finally, snorkeling. A really good deal!
Latille Water Falls: Be sure to ask for John who will give you the most wonderful guided tour of this property. Also ask for a cup of his incredible St. Lucian coffee! http://www.rainforestadventure.com/st_lucia_tours_excursions/other_tourist_attractions/latille_waterfall_and_gardens/

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for very positive comments about our staff! I do think we have a terrific team and most of our repeat guests say the friendliness of our staff is the number one reason they return. Thank you, too, for the comments about Lloyd - I'll pass them along to him. I hope you'll be back!

Warm regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simsbury ct
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The view and the charming architecture are Windjammers appeal. We went on a " getaway" with interval International and were placed in their least desirable villas in terms of view and villa condition. The section was their "hotel" inventory and not the updated times share units. They did change our villa and we had a fantastic view although everything in the villa was dated, kitchen was adequately supplied. The common areas, especially around the main pool and beach area needs to be refurbished. The landscaping is beautiful and the employees were terrific...friendly and accomodating except for one "bad apple" whose name is Trisha in Jammers restaurant....big attitude, quite unpleasant.. Our appetizers were forgotten about and the meal arrived one hour after being seated! Papa Dons was our favorite restaurant on the property.

Room Tip: Same as everyone else's comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mtnestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJLMD, General Manager at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you had mixed feelings but I am happy you were happy with the service. I've noted your comments about your original unit and I'll follow-up with your comments about Trisha.

Regards,

Mark Ozawa
Managing Director
mozawa@windjammer-landing.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

A great place but management should stop the disgusting raw egg throwing contests which take place on the beach in front of the sunbeds. I have had eggs which have landed on my expensive camera equipment whilst lying down and attempting to enjoy the sun. It adds unnecessary stress, is unhygienic and increases the risk of salmonella with raw eggs splattered over the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeenTraveller12371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
2.7 km away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
35.4 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
4.0 km away
Rendezvous Resort
Rendezvous Resort
#2 of 12 in Castries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
0.5 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Property: Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and West Indies so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing