We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff and Delightful Hotel”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff and Delightful Hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The hotel is situated in lush tropical gardens on a beautiful 2-mile stretch of beach and is in walking distance of Castries. The standard of service and happy atmosphere of the hotel is what marks it out from the rest. Many guests are repeaters and one can see why as one is made to feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble. We were celebrating a significant birthday and wedding anniversary and this was remembered by the staff throughout the resort, so we kept having nice surprises of cakes/champagne/flowers etc. Lovely! The romantic candlelit dinner in a location of our choice within the grounds was extremely memorable and we felt very special indeed. The standard of accommodation in the Premium Garden rooms was great and the food very good in the Terrace (buffet) restaurant. We dined in The Trysting Place (a la carte) twice in one week and it was excellent, accompanied by a guitarist, which created a sophisticated atmosphere. There's a good range of sporting facilities and the evening entertainment was fun. The fact that the hotel is next to the runway of Castries' little airport is absolutely no problem at all, rather the sound of the small turbo-prop LIAT planes taking off was nostalgic. You can be sure of great service from a team of happy and willing staff, who obviously enjoy looking after their guests. Can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Premium Garden View Rooms are excellent and 1st & 2nd floors have view of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EPBerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,778
    503
    128
    49
    38
See reviews for
32
2,111
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just fantastic - we were upgraded to what I can only describe as the best room in the hotel. A top floor with a sea view. Wonderful suite, wonderful staff and excellent food.

Room Tip: Verandha seems good, but the ocean view, high floor suites are fantastc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just come back from a 10 day stay at this resort and overall we had a very nice time.
Service and food was generally very good and the staff do try to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We saw no evidence of the bug mentioned by other travellers. However, the hotel was over booked causing issues with expected guests. The quality of rooms are good though a few still require further work. We were actually informed of water damage in our allocated room; a top floor beach front suit. As such we were moved into a second floor beach front on the understanding that we could only stay for two nights but would then be upgraded to a beach front cottage. This obviously was not a problem; an upgrade is always welcome, however the cottage was tired and in need of updating in comparison to the room we left.
On balance we enjoyed our stay. You can either simply relax or get involved with the activities laid on.
Please note, the sea is not Caribbean blue but the beach is sandy and long!!!
If you've book your holiday here I'm sure you will enjoy your stay. Finally many thanks to Gill and David we very much enjoyed your company.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AndyRWHuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Nice hotel it's next to a cemetery and runway with a 2 mile beach. The cemetery was fascinating and the runway had propeller planes which to be fair we found very nostalgic. This is a family run hotel and the service was mediocre. Would I go back probably not. But we met lots of nice people and 1 couple came to rendezvous 23 times. We met many others like this. You could probably get a better hotel but this one is not bad. Food was slightly above average. I would say that the guests are older and personally I liked that because they were quiet. No loud music or loud americans here so it will be for sure peaceful. We found it very relaxing that for sure was the one very positive aspect.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Showme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We arrived at Rendezvous on 21st February and after being met at the airport by a virgin rep we were taken to the resort and welcomed with a cocktail. We had booked a Seaside Suite however were told that these had been overbooked so we had to stay in a Garden View room for the first 3 nights. However, Rendezvous were great and reimbursed us for the difference in price and also gave us a free couples massage. The personalised dining experience is not to be missed along with the massage which was amazing! We had an amazing honeymoon, helped by the staff at the resort and did not find the resort to be in the negative light that others have left below. There are birds flying around but they are friendly and will leave once waved away, the noise outside the resort cant be helped and it isnt the resorts fault if something is going on outside. We were told about the virus on arrival and had the bug for 2 days only but still enjoyed ourselves all the same. All in all an AMAZING honeymoon and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: It is worth spending the money for a better room e.g. Seaside Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ems28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I did enjoy our stay at the Rendezvous, but did notice a few things!! Valentine's evening being one of them. The Rendezvous, for as long as we can remember, have always with out fail decorated the place whilst guests go on the Sunset Cruise. Not the case on 14th February 2012. We were so embarrased - after having said to one couple who were experiencing their first visit to the Rendezvous (wait and see what they do on Valentine's evening) i.e decorating the place. Not the case!! - please can you explain to us, after having decorated the place year in year out you suddenly decide not to do it. I know the economic climate dictates - but very disappointing. A few other returnee guests who we have got to know over the years had also voiced their concerns, by asking us if we felt that standards had dropped slightly. Their words not ours!!

We do like the Rendezvous, but please, having read Philip and Kea Gould's review (also returnee's) Try and make every possible consideration before increasing your prices at the resort. We appreciate that a major reburishment has taken place over the past few years - but please try not to let it be at the returnee's or first time guest's expense.

We feel really badly writing this review - but want the Rendezvous to maintain it's previous standard of excellence. The staff have always gone out of their way to make our stay very comfortable - that is why we feel badly in voicing our concerns during this visit. We have always felt like we were coming home when returning to the Rendezvous, and have always praised and recommended you constantly to friends, and family.

The question is, would we come back for a tenth time. The answer would probably be yes - but again the price would have to reflect this.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Return Guests

First let us thank you for your support of Rendezvous. We are very well aware that a great number of choices are available to you and we are so honored that you have chosen us again and again nine times running.

It appears from your review that your only disappoint was the decoration on Valentine's night. It is very gratifying to hear that for nine years running we have been able to meet your overall expectations. It is unfortunate that you felt that we failed to decorate on that night when in fact the team went to great lengths to transform the main bar and restaurant on that night. We have chosen not to use balloons and similar decorations that have been used in years passed and moved to more subtle but tasteful decor. This year, we chose to let hundreds of candles along with other subtle decor create the backdrop for your romantic evening. This decision was not one made on economics or savings but rather the desire to improve all the aspects of your experience. As such matters are subjective we respect your comments but hope this change does not deter you from staying with us agin.


Sincerely
Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Wish we had stayed at La body sport St Lucia instead!
What a disappointment, we arrived at Rendezvous with a lovely welcome and first impressions where good but when we arrived at our room the air-con wasn’t working and didn’t get fixed until the next morning, so hot and airless, awful night’s sleep. Don’t book a seaside suite as they get the odd wiff of sewage now and again...maybe we were unlucky with our room. The Ocean rooms look so much nicer and are private. it wasn’t quiet or relaxing as the staff played loud music throughout the day, an american guest complained and said if he wanted to go to disney land he would have gone there!
We did book massages at the spa and the girls where great and that was prob the best bit of the holiday.
We spent a day at the sister hotel Body Sport and that was amazing, so much nicer, cleaner, more variety, amazing food and the staff where so nice. People outside the resort had a massive party from xmas eve through until xmas day lunch time, Im not joking when I say the music vibrated through our room, you couldnt hear yourself think. The hotel staff said there was nothing they could do as the party wasnt on the hotel site, which I can understand but you cant call yourselfs a relaxing couples holiday when you have to put up with that. Rendezvous is not worth the money, its quite basic and did not impress us at all, several things went wrong and our complaints along with other guests was not taken seriously. Just don’t go!

Room Tip: ocean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We regret your disappointment and the aspects of the experience that you felt let you down. In responding to your complaint and request for compensation through your Tour Company we offered the following responses:

We admit that your complaint of loud music on Christmas Eve is unfortunately true. A property neighboring the resort’s south side where the Seaside Suites are located, held a Christmas party. As it is a St. Lucian tradition to hold Christmas parties into the morning, this admittedly affected the eight (8) rooms in that block out of 100 total on resort. Unfortunately, because it was Christmas Eve, the police would not and did not shut the party down. We do confirm that the police was notified as guests in that block complained.

You stayed in a Seaside Suite which underwent an update in November 2010. In general, the resort rooms have undergone recent updating, the Garden View Rooms in December of 2011, the Luxury Beachfront Rooms in December of 2010 and general routine maintenance is carried out throughout the year especially in the months of June to December

As we did not receive your report of a smell of sewage affecting your room, we were unable to address it. However, we can confirm that no other couple staying in your room or that block has complained about a smell of sewerage.

- When you complain the staff rarely acknowledge you or take anything seriously
We regret that you feel this way. However, guest satisfaction scores suggest otherwise.

- Staff play loud party music all day
We are compelled to deny this. The only music offered on resort during the day on any day is soft background music at the Terrace Restaurant. No music is played at the pools or any other areas as a matter of resort policy to preserve the atmosphere of relaxation for our guests. A special program of activities is offered during Christmas which includes an all day beach picnic where music is provided in keeping with the fun activity. It is unfortunate that this activity, which is very popular with guests occurred the day after the night of loud music. This activity was curtailed to appease guests who had been affected the night before even while other guests were unhappy that the activity was not being delivered as promised.

Having said all this, please be assured that the team has taken your comments on board as part of our continued effort to improve our services and guest experience.

Sincerely
Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
20.3 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
31.9 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
3.5 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
2.3 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing