We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding and honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We were married at VBC on 3 December, 2012. We stayed there for a week after the wedding, then had a couple of days at the owner's other property - La Dauphine.

Firstly, the photos and descriptions of other reviewers are pretty consistent with our experience. The unit was perfect for our needs, the staff looked after us and we slept like babies listening to the ocean's roar every night. Self-catering worked for us but, as others have mentioned, it's a 10 minute walk along a very busy road to the supermarket, and the only walkable restaurant, the Wharf, is not fancy, although the food was good and Lisa looked after us well. We felt lucky to travel in quiet season when the weather was perfect but we had the hotel almost to ourselves.

We had decided to get married on our own in St. Lucia with no friends or family in tow. That said, we still wanted a special, memorable day with nice pictures to share. VBC's wedding co-ordinator Susan Mondesir, did a great job of ensuring everything was perfect for for us. Neva and Austin volunteered to be our witnesses, Patrick took some great photos, and all the VBC staff made us feel very special. We had a lovely day and a fantastic honeymoon. Thanks Susan, Colin and team!

After a week at the beach, we were a little reluctant to move, but we had booked our last 2 nights at La Dauphine so we rented one of the hotel's "jeeps" and drove down to Soufriere. We were so pleased we did! We stayed at the great house (123 years old, no AC, no TV, no glass in the windows!) and had a fantastic time with the entire property to ourselves. With fresh fruit from the gardens, 2 high-end restaurants right next door (Dasheen and Boucan), a gorgeous pool and terrific views of a Piton, we had a blast. Just don't forget the bug spray.

This was our first visit to St. Lucia and we had only TripAdvisor reviews to guide us on selecting a hotel for our special day. We had a wonderful time and would recommend VBC to any other travelers looking for a non resort location.

Room Tip: I had thought a top floor room would be better, but room 4 on the ground floor was perfect, with dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TFATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

We booked 2 weeks at VBC for Oct/Nov 2012 after reading many of the reviews on Trip Advisor. It was our first trip to the Caribbean and as a family with 2 young kids (ages 5 & 7) we wanted some luxury but also some practicality and VBC certainly provided that. We were all blown away when we arrived and were shown the apartment. When we opened the balcony doors the view was breathtaking and I was immediately thankful that we had chosen the seaview! We are now all seriously missing our beautiful breakfasts on that balcony with the sound of the waves breaking on the beach.
The set up is excellent, particularly if you want the comforts of a hotel but with the flexibility of self catering. The reception facility can provide everything a hotel concierge would and we loved having our own BBQ's by the pool!
What really makes the place stand out is the quality of the team - they are so friendly and helpful. One of the guys would even climb a palm tree in the grounds to pick fresh coconuts for us to enjoy by the pool - the children loved it!
I'd have no problem recommending VBC to my family and friends and I really hope that we will have the chance to return at some point.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have good access to the pool/beach, but upstairs rooms have a fabulous balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This was our 1st trip to St lucia. It is truely an enchanted haven and a place that needs to be experienced .We spent 2 weeks in Oct / Nov 2012 .we chose the VBC . What a gem. A lovely boutique hotel. Yes, yes , yes it looks just like all the photo,s .The beach is right out your door with the hypnotic sounds of the waves and tree frogs to entertain your sences. Most of the time the waves were rolling and gentle. But a few days they were very big and exciting to watch. Our room was just beautiful. We had a huge surprise when we arrived , and were upgraded. Now that was such a treat. We were on the 2nd floorand relished the view from the balconey daily. It almost didn,t look real. Everynight the sunsets were slightly different and looked like a painting. The bed was so comfortable. The kitchen wa very clean and had everything you would need. The outside grounds were so pretty and well kept. The pools were too. If all this wasn,t enough to help you have a great vacation, the entire staff ( many) were super. We were picked up at the airport by Ali from vbc. We had a delay and couldn,t reach vbc ( due to our phone ). The driver was so patient and waited over an hour and a half for us. He greeted us with a warm smile and was happy we were ok. When we arrived at vbc the staff were excited that we finally made it there. For us, being strangers in a new country , this quickly felt like home. Being there for 2 weeks gave us time to get to know them . The nice thing was that they wanted to know us too. One night we decided to have a BBQ. Oliva reserved one for us . Earnest delivered it all cleaned and set up about one hour before we requested . The service with smiles , was wonderful. He placed it on the patio below our room . It was great and we had a delightful BBQ experience. The quest service staff Oliva, Neva ,Nadia and Austin were always ready to help us with our plans and questions . Margaret , our housekeeper also did a lovely job. Her thoughtfulness started before we arrived. She di such a beautiful job setting up our room with flowers and even added the rose petals on the bed. So sweet. Colin,s orientation to the vbc and St lucia was tremendous. We enjoyed his family stories and recommendations of places to visit. It was also nice of him to answer his childrens phone calls while we were sitting with him . This showed the family values of himself and his hotel and staff. We had decided not to drive. We took Colins advise and the others trip advisors reviews and asked for Claudius. Now, if all the above wasn,t enough , having a driver was like the cherry on top of the ice cream. It was such fun and we looked forward to each trip we took with him. He,s the best driver. Claudius kept us relaxed and gave us lots of insight about his island. he took us to severals beaches and pionted us in the right direction. We did the Souffere tour and he tailored it to what we wanted to do and see. He brought us to the Friday night jump up, which was a blast . Claudius walked us around and then set us free, but would be around for when we wanted to leave. We had great local foods and danced in the streets. What a unique time for the tourists to share with the locals. He also brought us to the little zoo. We had a terrific quide Chris who gave us the medicinal plant tour . She didn,t let the rain stop her from explaining everything to us. Claudius even taught us a little creole.
We are at the Wharf next door. Thje food was very good. The roti was delicious. Also enjoyed several catch of the day dinners. The crab back was awesome,,,, need to order several and they are worth it. The owner was very kind to let us listen to the news on hurricane Sandy , which was near our home. His daughter was delightful and helped us with the money exchanges , more than once . We had a magical time in St lucia and the VBC. We will return again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: 2nd floor suites had the jet tub with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We spent ten days at Villa Beach Cottages in January and immediately signed up to return in Feburary of 2013. Everything about the place is perfect, from our wonderful and enthusiastic host and his staff to the accomodations and the beach front. We can hardly wait to return!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MKeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I booked a week at VBC as a surprise birthday trip for my husband. We have traveled extensively and, while he loves the places we have visited, he never shows real "excitement". Boy was he excited this time. We were at VBC for less than 2 hours when he announced he would love to come back! It was the most relaxing and enjoyable week. Everyone at VBC is friendly, helpful, and very thoughtful. We took a tour to Soufriere with Claudius and he is an excellent guide.

We did many of the same things as the previous reviewer so I don't think I can add much more other than we are already planning a return trip. If you want to feel like you are home, yet have the beach within a few steps of your room, then VBC is the place.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views. We were in room #4 which is on the lower level with a unobsturcted view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bon551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at VBC the first week of October. It was low season so there were only a handful of people there which was awesome for us! It was like we had the whole place to ourselves. I had read all of the reviews so knew what to expect and it was exactly what we had anticipated. We stayed on the 2nd floor on the end (#12 I think). Very private and a gorgeous view. Olivia, Neva and Austin were patient and knowledgeable as they answered my million questions. Colin gave us a wonderful overview and lots of suggestions our first day. Earnest the security guard was really friendly and even gave me his umbrella when it started to rain on the way to the store so I wouldn't get wet. Claudius was a fantastic driver and tour guide. We took the island tour with Claudius and went snorkeling with Dive Fair Helen (be prepared that lunch is sitting on the boat and nothing fancy). We went to the Friday night jump up--nice to sample food and if you're not shy about dancing with the locals--but not too much else there. (All the tourists were there until about 10pm--then the locals came out) Ate dinner at a local restaurant called Claudia's--excellent! Also ate at the popular Coal Pot--food was pretty good, but you really go for the ambiance cause it is expensive (over $100 US for 2 soups 2 entrees and 2 sodas) Some hints that might help someone be prepared is 1) There is only one restaurant nearby-The Wharf next door. We ate there several times and had excellent food, but it is a local joint so not fancy to look at. The owner talked to us and was really nice. Other than that, you have to drive, taxi or take the bus. 2) Transport- We took the bus (big van) most places and it was really easy. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and the route is just a giant circle so you can't get lost. It's inexpensive and when you want to get off you just say "next stop driver" and he pulls over. We never had to wait for the bus--in fact, they would see us coming and wait for us! Sometimes it does get a little squished in there though. Taxis are convenient but very expensive. We didn't rent a car this time, but now that we know the lay out of the island, we would probably rent one next time. 3) Groceries- it is wonderful having a kitchen! And everything you would ever need is in it. We walked to the Super J grocery store twice--it took about 10 minutes. It is a very busy road but there is a sidewalk most of the way and there are other people walking so it didn't bother us at all. The only thing is remember you can't carry too many groceries back, so if you're planning to buy a lot of stuff, you might want to take a taxi. We just got the basics cause we did not want to have to throw away stuff at the end of the week. I definitely recommend the starter pack from the hotel. Well worth the money--you don't want to have to worry about getting something to eat after all that traveling. 4) Beach--all beaches are public. The beach outside VBC may not be the biggest or nicest but the plus is that there was not a lot of people there or locals selling stuff. The staff will take beach chairs down for you or, the beach is so close, we just laid in chairs on the deck overlooking the beach. Really beautiful, especially at sunset. Took the kayak out to Rat Island but not really much there--just a nice chance to be on the water.
Overall, we loved St. Lucia, loved Villa Beach Cottages and their staff! After looking at Sandals resorts, we are SO glad we decided on VBC. It was perfect for us. If you are looking for a noisy, crowded place for partyers and honeymooners, this is definitely NOT the place for you. VBC is a small, quiet, family-owned hotel that prides itself on service and friendliness. No happy hours, (except the do-it-yourself kind!) no nightly entertainment, no all-you-can-eat buffets--just fantastic views, beautiful grounds, and top notch staff. I've only been home 3 weeks and already thinking about when we can go back!

Room Tip: Definitely get the 2nd floor overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nosnogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I recently returned from a 14 night stay at VBC with my wife and son (2 years old) and it was absolutely amazing. As a seasoned traveller, and reading the reviews on here, our expectations were high to say the least. The staff were excellent throughout the trip, offering an effective concierge service - booking activities and restaurants as well as being friendly and welcoming hosts. We were there when Tropical Storm Isaac passed over and the owner Colin Hunte made an extra effort to put us at ease. We also had our own driver/tour guide called Claudius - he was absolutely brilliant and took us on a number of tours. We travelled with our 2 year old son and Claudius could not do enough for us - continually allowing us to keep our car seat with him whilst he left us to come and pick us up later. He is trustworthy, reliable and when we went on long tours, he was great with our son - allowing us to have some time to take photos and enjoy the mudbath! We really are grateful to him and cannot recommend his services enough. As for the suite - well the pictures say it all! Absolutely loved this place, can't sing its praises enough and, most importantly, cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean view - worth every extra penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
21.8 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
2.7 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
9.4 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,189 reviews
7.7 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
757 reviews
2.3 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $190 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing