We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2005

We were fortunate to stay at Villa Beach for two weeks in January 2005. It was fantastic. My husband, myself and our children aged 10 and 7. We had travelled through the night for 24 hours before our arrival. On our arrival we were greeted by a wonderul front desk staff that lead us to our cottage, showed us the property and ensured that we made it to supper on time. This outstanding friendly personal attention is the best way to describe Villa Beach.
It was the staff at Villa Beach that was outstanding. Personable, polite, professinal and extremely knowledgeable. We cannot say enough nice things about them. They were able to arrange our our days simpy by us saying we would like to and they produced it. (This included tours on very short notice). The ladies at the front always had a smile, a joke and were extermely professional yet at the same time made us feel like family. I miss the ladies. St. Georges' smile lit up our mornings. His mangos and fresh flowers were highlights. We must mention Moses our tour guide and driver he truely showed us life in St Lucia. Mr. Colin Hunt the Owner/Manger takes time with you to point out what tour books do not, beautiful highlights. We have not ever had that much personal attention. It included his stop by our cottage daily to check how our day went what we had done and if there was anything else they could do. Even with all this the staff was not intusive at all, they knew when to approach and when to keeep their distance.
The cottages are clean, spacious, modern and perfectly suitable. Everything we needed was provided. This included a convertor as ours did not work. The size of the complex is again what makes it special. It is large enough to have everthing you need yet small enough that you do not feel lost in a shuffle. If you have a problem it is dealt with immediatly. You got to know your neighbors. We made good frineds with the people next door, borrowing sugar, Pitons watching kids. It did not have the big all-in feel where you are just one of many. Here you really are treated as a personal guest. It really is home.
Shopping is close just a five minute walk. Again the staff helped in advising where to buy what.
Ensure that at least one night you eat a Coconuts supper on your deck it is definitly worth it. The smells as it is cooking are outstanding and the meal itself heavenly.
The Beach was spectacular. It was right outside our door. We fell asleep every night to the sound of tree frogs and waves. We woke every morning when the frogs stopped. It was safe enough that we could let the children play at the beach while we were on our deck or visiting with friends we made next door. We enjoyed watching the cruise ships arrive and leave like floating Chirstmas trees every night.
Our family highlight was a day on the good ship Brig Unicorn. If you have children this is the way to spend a day. Our children made more frineds from all over that they are now e-mailing. It had to be one of the easiest parenting days of my life. With children take the Pirate day. As Adults take the sunset cruise. It is the best trip of it's kind we have done.
The island itself is beautiful. The weather, warm and humid. More to do than what we needed. Crisp clear water, waves to body surf in and great sandcastle beachs. The people were extremely friendly and polite. We never worried about out children's safety. Although we had more rain than ususal for that time of year it did not in any way detract from the holiday. If fact it probably saved our white Canadian skin.
We had used to say Mauii was our favorite place on earth. This is taking into consideration other carribean islands we have been to, the south of Frnace and Mexico. That has been replaced by St Lucia and Villa Beach. Thank-you for the holiday of a lifetime.

6  Thank notthemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 662 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
14
Reviewed 14 February 2005

Exactly what I was looking for...a few days of calm, away from the noisy and hysterical Carnival week. We had the option to either be energetic and explore this lovely island or just laze on a comfortable lounge and admire the sunset and ocean, literally just feet away. We did both. The accommodations are so private and relaxed that one does not have to dress up and a bathing suit and sarong work just fine! The cottage was nicely equipped with dishes and kitchen utensils and would be perfect for families with children or those who prefer to have the choice of eating in or out. What I appreciated the most was the library of books and games for the enjoyment of guests and the ever smiling and helpful staff. To them, "no problem" really was...no problem.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bloomington, Indiana
12
Reviewed 14 February 2005

We recently spent a week at the Villa Beach Cottages. We had considered staying at one of the resorts on the island, but were very glad we stayed here. We were pleased with the accommodations and the staff could not have been more helpful. Not only did they take care of all our requests, they anticipated our needs. Colin Hunte, the General Manager, provided us with very helpful information on restaurants and sights to see. His staff made all the arrangements for us, including guides, and the grounds staff even covered up the books we left on our beach chairs when it started to rain! The only thing that would have made the experience better is a restaurant close by. (There is a restaurant next door, but its hours are erratic.)

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2005

We really enjoyed our week-long stay at the Villa Beach Cottages. The setting was a tropical paradise and our 2nd floor villa was large with a very well-equipped full kitchen and a big bedroom/living room. The large balcony overlooked the ocean and the beautiful St. Lucian sunsets. The staff at Villa Beach is the best of any resort we've been to. We were there with our 8 month old daughter and everyone treated her like the princess she thinks she is!! Clara, the cook/houskeeper, cooked us the best meal we had on the island and then volunteered to hold our daughter while we ate!! What a wonderful place to take a family or just go as a couple. Colin, the manager, mapped out a child-friendly itinerary for us and Mr. Charles, our cab driver arranged by the resort, was prompt and informative. Definately visit the Dasheen Restaurant at the Laredo resort near Soufriere. The view is unbelievable!! We will be back....SOON!!

4  Thank Lynnlovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, England
17
Reviewed 6 February 2005

We stayed at the Villa Beach Cottages over Christmas and New Year 2004/2005, and four weeks later still remember this wonderful experience every day. Sending much love to all of the team from Cambridge!

Many of the reviews here have already eloquently described why “our” cottage at the Villa Beach (my new Windows background :-)) has a special place in our hearts. A beautiful, almost empty beach less than 15 metres from your doorstep, complete with Coconut palm-suspended hammocks, sun lounges, soft sand, the warm Caribbean sea, and a postcard view of Rat Island (no rats, but named after a horizontal palm tree that looked a bit like a rat's tail) and Choc Bay. Inside, a well-stocked kitchen, cable TV (our 8-year-old son basically divided his time between rolling in the sand and watching Cartoon Network), huge, immaculate and comfortable beds (have not slept that well for ages – missing the soft calling of the frogs and the sound of the surf), air-conditioning and fans if needed, all windows fly-screened, a walk-in shower, a safe (not that you would have needed it) – what more could you want for a beach holiday?

Every interaction with the staff was a joy, from Colin Hunte’s knowledgeable and spot-on island advice, Nadia, Neva and Prissa’s first-class professionalism and friendliness in reception, Melanie’s well-kept on-site shop, Cuthbert’s thoughtfulness, the unobtrusive yet alert security guards (hi Marlon), Clara, the housekeeper, and St. George, the groundskeeper-cum purveyor of coconuts-cum-provider of kayak-based shell collecting adventures for our boy. Every one of them happy to do whatever was necessary and spend, as another reviewer rightly wrote, quality time with you if you open your door and heart to them. It’s an extraordinary team.

We spent four days down in La Dauphine, the hotel’s other site just south of Soufriere. It is an ideal base, located just a couple of miles from the Pitons and the Jalousie Hilton’s gorgeous beach, which apart from crystal-clear waters features a charming boutique and Lord Glenconner’s memorable “Bang between the Pitons” restaurant. Breakfast at the Ladera Hotel’s Dasheene Restaurant, arguably offering the best view in the world, was a 2-minute drive away, as were the sulfur springs and other attractions. There is also a beautiful botanical garden and spa in Soufrière. To get to La Dauphine, we rented a car from Colin Hunte’s own Coconut car rental service. The little Suzuki was a joy to drive, very good on the hills, and the road between Castries and La Dauphine is excellent.

But the best memory is the sheer humanity and heart of the place.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2005

I spent a week in mid-January 2005 in St. Lucia and stayed at the Villa Beach Cottages. I had an ocean view suite on the second floor. The accomodations were fantastic and the grounds kept very clean. The kitchen facilities were very adequate. It took some time getting used to the surf rolling just outside my veranda doors but hey this is why I'm here. The view was inspiring and even managed to catch a few sunsets. I ate at the Coal Pot, Spinnakers, Buzz and Charthouse restaurants which were recommended by Colin Hunte and had excellent food. I toured Pigeon Island and the Soufriere quarter with the help of Colin's tour guides. On the negative side, the swimming pool is rather small and showering proved to be a challange with low water pressure and an inconsistent water temperature. All in all, I was very pleased with my stay.

4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2005

We loved our 7 nights at the Villa Beach Cottages. We stayed there for our Honeymoon at the beginning of January and had the best vacation of our lives. The staff were very helpful and treated us like a guest should be treated. We stayed in the Honeymoon villa and had our own kitchen living and dining area with a TV and cable with a bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The best part was falling asleep to the sound of the waves everynight. It is a quiet place yet very well located on the island with easy access to the resort area where all the resturants were. We ended up taking the local buses everywhere because it was small a fraction of the cost of a taxi. Transportation would be one of the draw backs to this hotel because it is very expensive. Also be ready to pay $20+ a head for dinner. The one must do is to take the tour around the pitons it will amaze you but be sure to request Moses as your driver he knows everyone on the island and does an excellent job. Also make sure to go to Anse La Raye for Friday night seafood and get the lobster and the fish in the foil.

4  Thank fadakakaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
21.8 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
962 reviews
2.7 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
9.4 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,188 reviews
7.7 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
755 reviews
2.3 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $185 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing