We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Toc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Regency La Toc
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This is our first stay at a sandals and we couldn't have been happier but yet we have nothing to compare it to so that's why I rated very good. Sandals La Toc is an amazing place to stay with beautiful views. The food was great, service was wonderful, and everyone is so nice and willing to help you or answer any questions. The weather was wonderful. It did rain some but the rain never lasted long! The street party on Friday night had nice entertainment. I'd like to say though there were a few disappointments but I think that can be expected anywhere you go. I wish we would have had a few "heads up" before we went. First of all, our beach was red flagged all week so that meant no water sports. On the plus side of that you can go to Sandals Grand and hang out on their beach and do the water sports there, but it is a good half hour drive and I wouldn't recommend going on a Friday because traffic is awful and that half hour turned into a good hour or so. Second of all, pay attention to the restaurants schedules. Some of the places are only opened on certain days. Then they will decide to randomly not open a restaurant if there aren't enough people staying at the resort. We thought we would be able to eat at all the places but they decided to close the Piton's the last 3 days we were there. So we never got to try it. Planning your day around dinner is kind of hard especially if you go out and do things during the day. I would highly recommend doing the "Joe Knows" Tour. It is boat tour up the west side of the island stopping off at a waterfall and volcano for a mud bath. Pretty Cool and the guides are awesome and make it a really fun day. We did zip lining as well and that was also very enjoyable. Those things are not included but well worth the extra money to do them. If you are unsure where things are, I would recommend doing the orientation. They walk you around the resort showing you were different things are, which is very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,241 - 4,247 of 7,261 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

We visited this resort several times over the course of a week, while staying as a guest at Sandals Halycon, using the Sandals shuttle to get back and forth.

There is a shuttle schedule in the lobby of all 3 Sandals resorts so you can plan your day. We took a picture with our camera so we would always have one to refer back to wherever we were, since the camera always seemed to be with us.

During busy times, they were using more than one bus to accommodate all of the guests going between the 3 resorts. The buses were very nice - plan to bring a change of clothes if you are going in the water anywhere, as they do not appreciate getting the seats wet.

You can ask for a resort map at any of the resorts you travel between so you can locate everything easily.

At La Toc, if you wish to go to the bluff (where Armandos is) or Kimonos, part way up the bluff - a van will come every 5-15 minutes to pick up guests and bring you there or back...just wait right outside the lobby entrance.

The beach at La Toc was pretty rough when we were there. There were a few men in it, but they were getting knocked around pretty good, especially while getting in and out. It was fun to watch the waves but I would not have tried going in, although I am a strong swimmer.

I thought of the 3 Sandals resorts in St. Lucia, La Toc had the best restaurants. Neptunes was really good, we enjoyed lunch and dinner here and thoroughly enjoyed both meals - good food, good service, great view. We also went to Armandos for dinner one night, it was very romantic, good service, very ambient, but the menu was limited and the food was just ok.

We spent most of our time on the bluff enjoying the pool, hot tub and fire pits with a great view. Sunset from the hot tub here was awesome. Pool side bar service was very fast here too.
The entire resort looked very nice at night, with lots of nooks and cranies with fire pits and nice seating, which would allow you to find someone privacy and romance.
This was a very nice resort and although I prefer something smaller and more intimate, like the Halycon, I would stay here if a great deal was to be had.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunseekergirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I will start by saying my husband and I are finicky, so take this with a grain of salt. This was also our first time at an all-inclusive resort, so we may not have known what to expect. The island of Saint Lucia is absolutely beautiful. It is a true paradise, with warm weather, amazing sunshine, lush gardening, and spectacular views. Our experience at the Sandals La Toc resort was also good, but not great. Please, don't get us wrong, the staff was amazing! Always greeting you with a smile and willing to assist at anytime for anything. Sandals should be extremely proud of whatever training they provide to their staff because they are fantastic. The dinners at the restaurants were superb as well. From Armando's to the La Toc Restaurant, and the Pitons, they all had phenomenal food! Dinners were the best meals of the day! One of our "dislikes" was that the timing of things didn't seem to flow well for us. Certain restaurants were only open during certain time chunks, some needing reservations, so your day ended up having to be planned around what time you would want to eat and where. By our last full day and night at the resort, we cancelled our reservation at Kimono's so that we didn't have to plan our day around being somewhere. The other big "dis-like" was that the drink options were somewhat limited in our view. With only two white wines, two red wines, two beers, and one rum (excluding the other spirit options) included in the "all inclusive package," after a week, these options start to feel extremely limiting for beer/wine/rum lovers. The rooms were okay, although a bit smaller than we had hoped for, especially when getting a room with a "seating area." The bathrooms were awful in size. There was only room for one person to stand and you had to make sure not to trip over the toilet. We are going to try one more all-inclusive resort in Mexico and then can better decide if all-inclusive packages are our thing or not. Again, this comes from a couple that worked in the service industry and therefore we over analyze things. I would say we would definitely go back to the island, but would consider a different resort.

Room Tip: We had an "ocean-view room with seating area." I'd either go a few steps up from that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Hello I am a local patron (Marguerite) who normally spends old years night at Sandals La Toc, however this year another resort in St Lucia offered a very exciting package which I am inclined to accept. I normally go with a group of 20 persons and once I contact the Sales team at Sandals and spoke to Ms Pearl Rambally who I had never met or heard of in St Lucia I immediately made my decision to once again dine with Sandals La Toc for Old years night. She was exceptional in her service and selling skills and even aftersales service as she did sort feedback. People really make a difference in service and I am proud that St Lucians like myself can deliver such high standard of service, in a courteous, humble and effective way. The other service personel at restaurants and bar were also exceptional. I must mention also that I patronize the Spa almost every other weekend and the ladies and also gentlemen there are exceptional in their service delivery from the Manager down to the attendants. Sandals La Toc is an example of exceptional hospitality in St Lucia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed from Dec 22-Jan 3.

We booked room category OW, which is located in the Sunset Bluff, with a great view, but without butler or concierge services. We were in the "Self Service" category.
If your flight arrives late at night, there will not be Sandals staff to greet you. The taxi drivers will transfer you and then ask they claim at the hotel.

Dining
Food at LaToc is the best in quality and variety among all the Sandals we have visited (10). This is the only Sandals that i ncludes chocolate in most of their desserts. Also the only one who serves ice cream daily, at the buffet lunch.
If you want to drink coconut water, it is only available on Fridays at the Street Party.
One issue with dining is at holiday dinners, where the Pavillion staff takes forever to serve your dinner.
Because of the local terrain, you will see cats getting into the open air restaurants.

Beach
The beach at LaToc is good for relaxing but the water is rough. You will see only yellow and red flags due to waves and the uneven slope. You can bathe, but not swim as in a pool. There will be local residents, but they are very courteous and use the ends of the beach. Beach vendors stay in their areas and do not bother guests.

Facilities
Hotel faciities are well maintained. You will see staff working hard to keep the gardens, grounds, and buildings in good shape.

Sandals Select
The Sandals Select dinner is done on Thursdays. Each SSG couple receives a bottle of local rum. If you do not wish to receive the rum bottle, please let the SSG staff know.

Diving Program
The Dive Center is shared with Sandals Halcyon Beach and is located in a pier in Pointe Seraphine. For diving and snorkeling, you need to take a shuttle from your resort to the dive center. Two-tank dives leave at 8:20 and the single tank divers and snorkelers leave at 10:30, both returning after 1:30pm.

The instructors/divemasters are oustanding. They are very courteous, very patient, and go the extra mile. Night dives are on request ($80), and the "Dynamic Duo" (two wreck dives in a day) is $50. The first wreck in the Dynamic Duo is 104 ft, but the second one (60 ft) is the same given to other divers the same day for free, the only difference is that you get inside the compartments of the second wreck, while the free divers do not get.

If you take your dive gear, the dive center has a storage area for your equipment.

The dive trips are varied and the sites are great.

Overall Staff at the resort
The General Manager and his staff are very courteous, and customer-service oriented. They handled all our requests quickly and efficiently. We did not have either butler or concierge service, but they went the extra mile to give us the best service we have received in any Sandals.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank enatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We got married and stayed for an entire week staff really friendly. Wedding staff awesome. Every person you came in contact with friendly and really helpful . The restaurants were all very good I have nothing bad to say about our experience there . We plan to go back :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I travelled to St. Lucia with my husband to celebrate our honeymoon from December 9th to the 16th 2012. When you get to the airport your hit with wonderful heat and humidity! Goodbye snow hello heat! After going through the airport we had to wait about 5 minutes for a shuttle. The shuttle we ended up getting was actually a taxi and not a nice van like everyone else. No worries though! It made for an exciting ride to La Toc!!! The ride is a little long and it does cover a lot of hills so it's quite the ride.

Upon arrival at La Toc we were escorted to the Conciege louge and provided with champagne. Now I do have to note that we mainly kept to ourselves and we didn't ask or request much while we were there. That being said, the concierge service was great but I can't really comment on it much since we didn't really use it per say. They did make reservations at both restaurants that do require reservations for us. We did go to Kimono's but cancelled Armando's. Kimono's had the most amazing japanese food. The desert was ok but that didn't matter since there wasn't much room left for it anyways!

All the restaurants were amazing. The food was delicious and the service was great. It was really nice being served while taking time to actually enjoy the food and the surroundings. I hate going to a restaurant and feeling rushed! Everyone was so friendly and just eager to please and the service wasn't slow at all. We did travel to Sandals Halcyon to try the food at the grill but we missed it by about half an hour. We ended up eating at the main area and it was delicious. Side note about Halcyon, it's a really small resort so if you want to be secluded go there. The transfers between resorts run every 2 hours. We ended up spending 4 hours there and it was plenty. Any longer and we would've gotten a little bored.

We also travelled to the Grande for a day. The Grande was the only resort during our whole trip that had a green flag on the beach. Since La Toc was red flagged, this means the water is too rough, we wanted to at least get a chance to swim in the ocean once. We were provided with a day room there (arrangements were made before we left La Toc) which was wonderful since we didn't have to lug our stuff around. We had lunch at Barefoot by The Sea and since it was so good we returned for dinner. Since it was dark out we got there right at 6:30 and we were provided with a table right by the water and a tiki torch. It was so romantic and the food. OMG best steak I ever had! Another sidenote, the Grande is the biggest of the Sandals resort in St. Lucia. It's easier to spend a whole day there but as a honeymooning couple we found it a little big and a little busy.


The nightlife isn't so lively but it was ok because we just went to bed at a decent hour and woke up earlier to get more out of the day.

A few tips, bring only US dollars. The Eastern Carribean currency is low and no one that we dealt with (vendors or excursions) accepted Easter Carribean. Everyone wanted US dollars. Also, food portions are hit or miss. Some places the portions are small and then some places they're big. The best thing we found was to order an app and then judge by that. If you're still hungry then just order more. It's much better than ordering a whole bunch of food and realizing that it's too much. Last tip, we had booked a Honeymoon Concierge Suite with Private Plunge Pool. The pool is in the shade all day so the water is a little chilly. That being said it's still pretty cool!

The only part of the whole trip that was a little dispppointing for me was that even though we booked a honeymoon suite there wasn't anything extra done for us. I'm not sure what the difference between a honeymoon and non-honeymoon suite was but we didn't get anything romantic. Also, if you want romantic extras like dinner for two or a private cabana you have to pay extra. We didn't really care for that so it didn't make or break the trip. I would've just liked a little touch of honeymoon-ish type of stuff in the room.

All in all though it was a great trip and one that we will forever remember!

Room Tip: Unless you book with a Butler, just save the money and get a small simple room. You won't be spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newlyweddedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
17.4 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
10.8 km away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
4.6 km away
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
5.0 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
20.0 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc

Address: La Toc Road, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#3 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $584 - $1,579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46" plasma TV's, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls •Airport transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF) •"Stay at One, Play at Three" free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools •Voted Sandals Resorts "World's Leading All-Inclusive Company" 20 years in a row •Voted Sandals Resorts "Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand", 18 years in a row •Voted Saint Lucia's Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing