We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,938)
Filter reviews
7,938 results
Traveller rating
4,783
1,874
703
330
248
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,783
1,874
703
330
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset bluff butler service sandals regency la toc joe knows main pool our honeymoon butler suite pavilion restaurant piton restaurant cricketers pub st lucia piano bar two story main building private pool red flag
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 7,938 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit to sandals and unfortunately think it’ll be our last. We booked a basic room with no butter and on arrival they told us they had upgraded us. Naturally this got us excited only to find our room was exactly the same. We had no bathtub and no balcony, which is very poor in my opinion for a 5 star. The hotel is set on the side of a cliff which makes the setting very pretty but very hilly, this made me feel very closed in and trapped in my hotel. At other 5 star resorts I’ve been too they have been bigger and spread out a lot more, so you could go for a stroll and not feel trapped. We had an issue with the door to our room one day and was looked out for about 2 hours, when this eventually got fixed we wasn’t even apologised too. We then had an issue with the power sockets in our room so couldn’t charge our phones or use the hair dryer for 12 hours which was very frustrating. When we complained all they offered us was 24 hour room service which we were never going to use. Overall I thought the customer service was pretty bad, although the staff were friendly they weren’t very helpful. The hotel itself needs some tlc, it all just feels a bit old and reminds me for of a 4 star not a 5. The beach at the hotel isn’t very good either. On a positive note, the food in all the restaurants is very good, la toc is well worth the reservation and soy was another great one. We went to the grand one day and ate at Bombay which was also very good. The staff at the grand seem a lot friendlier and helpful. Also the beach and all the amenities at the grand are far superior. Had we of known how much better it was we would of paid the extra to stay there. Although I still feel that the hotel needs some tlc and looks very dated. Me and my girlfriend have previously stayed in 5 star all inclusive hotels and Jamaica and Mexico and both hotels have completely out shone sandals by a mile and for less money. On another note, the joe knows tour was good and well worth doing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanassa J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sandals La Toc. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, however we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your trip. At Sandals we remain dedicated to maintaining the highest standards of quality and service at all times, and it is most regrettable that our commitment was not apparent during your time with us. Our staff members are usually known for their friendliness and eagerness to assist and we deeply regret that it seems their many efforts to assist you and the goodwill gestures which were offered were not to your ultimate satisfaction. We do hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves during a future stay. We would love the chance to host you at one of our resorts and offer the true Sandals luxury experience for which we are known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We traveled to St. Lucia as part of our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay at Sandals Regency La Toc, but definitely have some tips for future travelers.

1. Use the Sandals shuttle. We didn’t stay at just the sandals when we were in St. Lucia. We also traveled to Soufriere and stayed in Castries one night to experience the Carnival. While we loved those experiences, we spent over 400 dollars on cabs. If you want to go to a different part of the island, by cab, because you should NOT rent a car ( the roads are crazy!) you will spend at least $80 each way. Looking back now we should have just went straight to the Resort and used the included shuttle! The shuttle takes you to the other two resorts as well!

2. Butler service really isn’t worth it. We did a split stay because the Butler suit we wanted wasn’t available for the whole time. The regular room was way more convenient and had a better shower. I think the reason this resort has so many butler suits is because it’s spread out on a hilly cliff and the main purpose of the butler service is to pick you up in the golf carts. The included room service food is not anything special and you have to call the butlers all the time If you want them to do anything. We are 25 so walking a block to do something is wayyyy easier than calling and waiting 15 min. I will say the private pool was pretty cool, but it wasn’t heated. Save yourself 1,000 bucks and just stay in the normal rooms!

3. The tennis courts are covered in carpet.... one of the main reasons we chose Regency La Toc over the Grand Lucian was so we could play tennis. Typically, Golf resorts also have good tennis. I even called and asked what the surface was and I was told hard court. Well carpet in a tropical island is a pretty dumb idea... it rains at some point pretty much everyday. So not once did we get to play tennis, they are perpetually soaking wet.

4. Plan your excursions early! We loved the horseback riding and mountain biking. We also hopped over to the Grand Lucian for waterskiing. Just bring Dramamine for the car rides! It takes forever to get anywhere in St. Lucia, but the views are worth it!

We had a wonderful time and will definitely go to another Sandals, but now we know what to do and not to do! Hope this helps you!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank katiebolt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As beautiful as St Lucia is, I can only say we were very disappointed when visiting La Toc. We booked the most basic of rooms to begin with so were never expecting anything spectacular, however on arrival was told we were ‘upgraded’ to find it was the same room we was in all along - totally fine, however we got our hopes up and shouldn’t have. The room was clean and modernish, but we’ve had better for sure. Also the basic rooms are situated next to the main pool of which is extremely loud at all times - just a pre warning! The staff aren’t all that helpful and don’t seem to really want to help you, I felt anyway. There’s no clear signage or maps in your room as to where the different pools, restaurants and bars are so I found myself asking a lot where this and that was, the staff most of the time simply brushed off your comments and just pointed where to go and not wanting to help. You feel pressured into buying things also, there’s always someone walking around trying to sell you massages, golf days or excursions, all you want to do is relax and you’re constantly being interrupted. We was locked out of our room for over an hour one day which was extremely frustrating, lucky we had the back door unlocked so maintenance could grab a ladder and climb through the back way!! The day after this all of our electrics went and we couldn’t charge our phones or use our speaker or hairdryer. Sounds like a stupid thing to moan about but when you’re getting ready to go out for dinner and your hairdryer doesn’t work or you can’t charge your phone to take photos for an excursion you’re on the next day is very disappointing. They told us it would be fixed in an hour (it wasn’t) then told us it would be fixed the next morning (it wasn’t) we arrived back late afternoon to find it had just been fixed, this is all well and good however there was an extreme lack of communication or care to help us and we was palmed off with room service or a new room (we didn’t want this as we only had 2 nights left and didn’t want to transfer all of our belongings, it’s just not worth the hassle) we really wasn’t expecting the world and aren’t usually complainers however, thought they could have come up with something better here. The entertainment isn’t all that good, slightly boring and cheesy, which some people love just not our thing.
Food is great especially the sushi, Italian and la toc. Would recommend going to Bombay in the Grande food and service was AMAZING.
We visited the Grande for a day and all I can say is stay there if you can. Everything about it is sooooo much better, the beach, the basic rooms, the people, the food, the service, everyone was so friendly and helpful really engaging and helpful, actually spoke to us rather than brushing us off. As soon as we arrived there we was so sad that we didn’t go sooner/book to stay there the beach is amazing!!
The hotel is out dated and tired just needs some tlc and attention to detail worked on, I can say we won’t stay at a sandals again after staying here unfortunately.
We had a great stay (may not sound like it)we just feel it’s not 5 star compared to other resorts we’ve stayed at.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanassa J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Hello Harriet

Thank you for taking the time to express you concerns of Sandals La Toc. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, however we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your trip. At Sandals we remain dedicated to maintaining the highest standards of quality and service at all times, and it is most regrettable that our commitment was not apparent during your time with us. Our staff members are usually known for their friendliness and eagerness to assist and we deeply regret that it seems their many efforts to assist you and the goodwill gestures which were offered were not to your ultimate satisfaction. We do hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves during a future stay. We would love the chance to host you at one of our resorts and offer the true Sandals luxury experience for which we are known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been going to Sandall's over the past 15 years now. We go because it is pure quality. However, we noticed something has changed. The best way I can put it, this visit was similar to an 18-30's holiday....the posh version.

Where as in the past there was a good age range mix, this time there appeared to be an influx of loud younger people, particularly around the pool. Whooping and hollering with occasional shouts of USA.

We are older so as celebrating our anniversary want a relaxing, romantic holiday and at times this did get spoilt.

However, there was still loads of positives. The food is exceptional. The drinks, very nice. The rooms are very good, with a great bed and are spotlessly clean.

The big positive is the staff. I would like to particularly thank the 2 John's. John in the Cricketers pub was an absolute gentleman, always with a smile and always ready to help. Then John who was in the pool bar again a great person, always there to help and so hard working....a massive thank you to both of you, you made our holiday.

Even though we absolutely love Sandal's, not sure we would go back as we definitely like it quieter.

Stayed: September 2018
4  Thank blueskies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was not much of a debate, I have always said we would visit, and have always wanted to visit a Sandals, just skeptical of the value. Bottom line, loved it!

So let me share our experience and perhaps lend a bit of insight in case you are on the fence of visiting or just want more information.

Sandals has a promotion called "777" and they post these deals every Wednesday, so once you have booked your room I would check these out, you just might save money over your original booking. We did, and it was well worth it, saved over $1600 from original reservation and were able to get a butler room. You can also sign up, with a butler room, with your reservation number to request special items you may want in your room, ie: certain spirits, soda, etc in your room. We had requested a mid day snack of cheese and fruit each day ( and chocolates each night) and sure enough, it was delivered each day. This was very nice to have if you like to go up midday and rest in the room.

Perhaps this is a good time to say thank you to our main butlers, Ms Delina, Ms Tana, and Mr Combie. Excellent service and a joy chatting with you, room 889. Mr Donovan and Ms Abra thank you as well.
Thanks again.

We took a private charter from the airport to La Toc, so if you decide to do this ( not taking Sandals shuttle) don't hand off your bags to the aggressive porters, just check in at the sandals lounge and let them know you have a private charter. And if you have any level of motion sickness I would recommend taking something for this as the road is back and forth and up and down, and about 45 minutes or so. The Last ten minutes it hit me.

Our room, sunset bluff one bedroom balcony with soaking tub butler level, had a very modern feel crisp and clean with the spirits we requested and a beautiful view from the balcony. A large sleeping area and very nice bathroom with a second soaking tub ( never used this) remember the balcony?! With the butler rooms you get a small, compact ( old school ) phone - loved it - for all of your whims and needs. Did not think I would use it much, but I did ( haha). The property is quite expansive, and our room was on the very far edge ( furthest from the main pool/beach-which we loved) You can walk it, but hey...
So, when did the phone and butler service prove to be a value?
- Walking - naw - butler will pick you up with a golf cart and take you down
- Reserving chairs at pool ( tell them the night before) all set.
- Make dinner reservations - you can do this prior to arrival also - once you sign up as mentioned above.
- Lunch, give them a call and they will deliver it to you ( as long as the restaurant is open) or get something from the room service menu ( 24/7 with a butler room).
- Room service and special dining on your balcony.

There are three pool areas, the main pavilion, the pitons pool and the sunset bluff pool. Pitons pool is very quite and small with no swim up bar or food during day. Neptunes and pizza restaurant is a quick walk down the stairs for food ( starts at 11:00). The main, well its the main one. Enough said. Sunset bluff pool is where we spent most of our time. Quite, nice size and great views, pool bar opens at 10:00+/- and Armandos restaurant and has pool tables off the pool deck.

The beach is nice but small, in between rocky outcroppings, etc. The surf is quite rough, but we did have a calm day as well. Just make sure you don't turn your back on it, especially when rough ( saw many ocean frolics end in complete wipe out, face in the sand, tumbling in the surf ( slamming into the surf) ouch endings. Still nice to get the toes in the sand.

Don't miss "white night" with its chocolate buffet, Reggae night and the beach party is not to be missed. Shout out to John at the Cricketer pub, excellent fish and chips and excellent service, karaoke night is fun.

So, as always listen to your wife, she is always ( most of the time) right. Enjoy the moment, the sunsets and remember your on vacation so don't sweat the small stuff. Please enjoy the photos I have attached as well.

Room Tip: The sunset bluff area cannot be beat.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews