We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,013)
Filter reviews
8,013 results
Traveller rating
4,827
1,885
716
334
251
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,827
1,885
716
334
251
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset bluff butler service sandals regency la toc joe knows main pool our honeymoon butler suite pavilion restaurant piton restaurant cricketers pub st lucia piano bar two story private pool main building dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 8,013 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2018

I'll try to make it real quick and useful.
We traveled two couples to Sandals La Toc for my wife's birthday.
Room was great, and i'm sure they all have ocean view. Butlers (three of them) were great. Beach was great: at times it was too rough, we just took free shuttle to Sandals Grande (its beach is less seclusive and private, but much calmer).
Can't really complain much except for restaurant service (all of them- way too slow on "island time"), AND.... hotel has some freelance taxi drivers on retainer, so here is my little story about one of them named Jude.
One day we left the property, and my wife realized she left her phone in one of two suspect places. She called our butler Jesse for help, gave him pointers as to where she may have left her phone , and surely some 10-15 minutes later he called her back on hotel issued cell phone with reassurance of having found her phone.
Needless to say my wife tipped the guy on the top of her general service tip $50 as a small token of appreciation for his sense of urgency.
Driver Jude retained by Sandals was used twice by us. First time we had him take us to another Sandals location, paid $35 for his services and left him $5 tip. Second time he, accidentally, happened to service us by taking us to airport as we checked out of Sandals at no additional cost to us, as this was part of Sandal's package.We tipped Jude $15 nevertheless. Literally, few minutes after we exited Jude's van/minibus and he left, my bud realized he forgot his phone in Jude's vehicle. We called Sandals immediately, and they affirmed us they would reach out to drive to return to airport and drop off our cell phone at Sandals airport lounge. Kudos to Sandals as everything was fast and proficient on their end.
As my friends make their way to Sandals lounge at airport- lo and behold the driver Jude and our cell phone awaits them. We planned to give him money as we did we butler Jesse in the past, BUT! Jude asks for money. As we inquire what money he refers to, his answer is "I spent gas coming back to return your phone, aren't you're happy im returning your phone?" We're appalled now, but ask, "How much?" So he gives us flat "$30"
So our response is "Sandals pays you to do your job, WE tipped you $15 on top of it as a token of appreciation, and now you are extorting?" We were planning to thank him with more, but his audacity was too much.
This post is mainly to make travelers aware: do NOT use services of Jude as he is one of contracted by Sandals to shuttle from/to airport and between Sandals properties on island, as well as freelances on his own. Note to Sandals management: while your grounds, food and service are good, PLEASE, get rid of sneaky usurious people like JUDE in particular.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ivan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to sandals and unfortunately think it’ll be our last. We booked a basic room with no butter and on arrival they told us they had upgraded us. Naturally this got us excited only to find our room was exactly the same. We had no bathtub and no balcony, which is very poor in my opinion for a 5 star. The hotel is set on the side of a cliff which makes the setting very pretty but very hilly, this made me feel very closed in and trapped in my hotel. At other 5 star resorts I’ve been too they have been bigger and spread out a lot more, so you could go for a stroll and not feel trapped. We had an issue with the door to our room one day and was looked out for about 2 hours, when this eventually got fixed we wasn’t even apologised too. We then had an issue with the power sockets in our room so couldn’t charge our phones or use the hair dryer for 12 hours which was very frustrating. When we complained all they offered us was 24 hour room service which we were never going to use. Overall I thought the customer service was pretty bad, although the staff were friendly they weren’t very helpful. The hotel itself needs some tlc, it all just feels a bit old and reminds me for of a 4 star not a 5. The beach at the hotel isn’t very good either. On a positive note, the food in all the restaurants is very good, la toc is well worth the reservation and soy was another great one. We went to the grand one day and ate at Bombay which was also very good. The staff at the grand seem a lot friendlier and helpful. Also the beach and all the amenities at the grand are far superior. Had we of known how much better it was we would of paid the extra to stay there. Although I still feel that the hotel needs some tlc and looks very dated. Me and my girlfriend have previously stayed in 5 star all inclusive hotels and Jamaica and Mexico and both hotels have completely out shone sandals by a mile and for less money. On another note, the joe knows tour was good and well worth doing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanassa J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sandals La Toc. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, however we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your trip. At Sandals we remain dedicated to maintaining the highest standards of quality and service at all times, and it is most regrettable that our commitment was not apparent during your time with us. Our staff members are usually known for their friendliness and eagerness to assist and we deeply regret that it seems their many efforts to assist you and the goodwill gestures which were offered were not to your ultimate satisfaction. We do hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves during a future stay. We would love the chance to host you at one of our resorts and offer the true Sandals luxury experience for which we are known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

We traveled to St. Lucia as part of our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay at Sandals Regency La Toc, but definitely have some tips for future travelers.

1. Use the Sandals shuttle. We didn’t stay at just the sandals when we were in St. Lucia. We also traveled to Soufriere and stayed in Castries one night to experience the Carnival. While we loved those experiences, we spent over 400 dollars on cabs. If you want to go to a different part of the island, by cab, because you should NOT rent a car ( the roads are crazy!) you will spend at least $80 each way. Looking back now we should have just went straight to the Resort and used the included shuttle! The shuttle takes you to the other two resorts as well!

2. Butler service really isn’t worth it. We did a split stay because the Butler suit we wanted wasn’t available for the whole time. The regular room was way more convenient and had a better shower. I think the reason this resort has so many butler suits is because it’s spread out on a hilly cliff and the main purpose of the butler service is to pick you up in the golf carts. The included room service food is not anything special and you have to call the butlers all the time If you want them to do anything. We are 25 so walking a block to do something is wayyyy easier than calling and waiting 15 min. I will say the private pool was pretty cool, but it wasn’t heated. Save yourself 1,000 bucks and just stay in the normal rooms!

3. The tennis courts are covered in carpet.... one of the main reasons we chose Regency La Toc over the Grand Lucian was so we could play tennis. Typically, Golf resorts also have good tennis. I even called and asked what the surface was and I was told hard court. Well carpet in a tropical island is a pretty dumb idea... it rains at some point pretty much everyday. So not once did we get to play tennis, they are perpetually soaking wet.

4. Plan your excursions early! We loved the horseback riding and mountain biking. We also hopped over to the Grand Lucian for waterskiing. Just bring Dramamine for the car rides! It takes forever to get anywhere in St. Lucia, but the views are worth it!

We had a wonderful time and will definitely go to another Sandals, but now we know what to do and not to do! Hope this helps you!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank katiebolt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

As beautiful as St Lucia is, I can only say we were very disappointed when visiting La Toc. We booked the most basic of rooms to begin with so were never expecting anything spectacular, however on arrival was told we were ‘upgraded’ to find it was the same room we was in all along - totally fine, however we got our hopes up and shouldn’t have. The room was clean and modernish, but we’ve had better for sure. Also the basic rooms are situated next to the main pool of which is extremely loud at all times - just a pre warning! The staff aren’t all that helpful and don’t seem to really want to help you, I felt anyway. There’s no clear signage or maps in your room as to where the different pools, restaurants and bars are so I found myself asking a lot where this and that was, the staff most of the time simply brushed off your comments and just pointed where to go and not wanting to help. You feel pressured into buying things also, there’s always someone walking around trying to sell you massages, golf days or excursions, all you want to do is relax and you’re constantly being interrupted. We was locked out of our room for over an hour one day which was extremely frustrating, lucky we had the back door unlocked so maintenance could grab a ladder and climb through the back way!! The day after this all of our electrics went and we couldn’t charge our phones or use our speaker or hairdryer. Sounds like a stupid thing to moan about but when you’re getting ready to go out for dinner and your hairdryer doesn’t work or you can’t charge your phone to take photos for an excursion you’re on the next day is very disappointing. They told us it would be fixed in an hour (it wasn’t) then told us it would be fixed the next morning (it wasn’t) we arrived back late afternoon to find it had just been fixed, this is all well and good however there was an extreme lack of communication or care to help us and we was palmed off with room service or a new room (we didn’t want this as we only had 2 nights left and didn’t want to transfer all of our belongings, it’s just not worth the hassle) we really wasn’t expecting the world and aren’t usually complainers however, thought they could have come up with something better here. The entertainment isn’t all that good, slightly boring and cheesy, which some people love just not our thing.
Food is great especially the sushi, Italian and la toc. Would recommend going to Bombay in the Grande food and service was AMAZING.
We visited the Grande for a day and all I can say is stay there if you can. Everything about it is sooooo much better, the beach, the basic rooms, the people, the food, the service, everyone was so friendly and helpful really engaging and helpful, actually spoke to us rather than brushing us off. As soon as we arrived there we was so sad that we didn’t go sooner/book to stay there the beach is amazing!!
The hotel is out dated and tired just needs some tlc and attention to detail worked on, I can say we won’t stay at a sandals again after staying here unfortunately.
We had a great stay (may not sound like it)we just feel it’s not 5 star compared to other resorts we’ve stayed at.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank harrietlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanassa J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018


Hello Harriet

Thank you for taking the time to express you concerns of Sandals La Toc. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, however we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your trip. At Sandals we remain dedicated to maintaining the highest standards of quality and service at all times, and it is most regrettable that our commitment was not apparent during your time with us. Our staff members are usually known for their friendliness and eagerness to assist and we deeply regret that it seems their many efforts to assist you and the goodwill gestures which were offered were not to your ultimate satisfaction. We do hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves during a future stay. We would love the chance to host you at one of our resorts and offer the true Sandals luxury experience for which we are known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Have been going to Sandall's over the past 15 years now. We go because it is pure quality. However, we noticed something has changed. The best way I can put it, this visit was similar to an 18-30's holiday....the posh version.

Where as in the past there was a good age range mix, this time there appeared to be an influx of loud younger people, particularly around the pool. Whooping and hollering with occasional shouts of USA.

We are older so as celebrating our anniversary want a relaxing, romantic holiday and at times this did get spoilt.

However, there was still loads of positives. The food is exceptional. The drinks, very nice. The rooms are very good, with a great bed and are spotlessly clean.

The big positive is the staff. I would like to particularly thank the 2 John's. John in the Cricketers pub was an absolute gentleman, always with a smile and always ready to help. Then John who was in the pool bar again a great person, always there to help and so hard working....a massive thank you to both of you, you made our holiday.

Even though we absolutely love Sandal's, not sure we would go back as we definitely like it quieter.

Stayed: September 2018
4  Thank blueskies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews