We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
844
73
21
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
73
21
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfitness trailbamboo loungedeluxe cottagesunken showerother guestsfood and winehead gardenersunset cruisesunset barfour coursesyoga pavilionlocal musiciansst luciagood vibessteel bandevening entertainment ishouse party
Filter
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 943 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in March 2011 and had a really wonderful time. I think the main thing to say about this hotel is that you really are paying a little extra for something that is so rare in the Caribbean - a quiet, discreet and authentic hotel which has a real heart. For that reason, we would almost certainly go again. Most of the problems we did encounter were associated with a couple of staff at the reception desk who were so bad that they really did have an impact on our stay which would, otherwise, have been perfect.

The good bits really are great and I would support what everyone else has said. The food was amazing (I've never stayed at an all inclusive before as I usually hate that kind of thing but this was just fantastic), the beach was gorgeous, our room was so pretty and most of the staff were great. Special thanks to the wonderful Windall who was just the loveliest barman we had ever met! Most of all though - they could have built 900 rooms on the amount of land they have at East Winds. But they haven't. All the rooms are beautifully spaced out amongst massive gardens which means that you really have the space to relax. This might mean the prices are a little bit more than 'similar' levels of accommodation, but it is SO worth it!

Now - the bad bits. I guess the room wasn't 'luxury' in the way I expected but I kinda liked that. The big problem came with the reception staff. One night, we went out to a 'Jump Up' (street party) and were quoted a price for a taxi to take us there by the hotel. I think the taxi driver must have been the receptionists boyfriend as she came too and we had to do this whole round trip to drop her off somewhere first. Then later when he picked us up he charged us double what we had been quoted and we simply didn't have the cash on us, so we asked him if we could leave it with reception the next day. He said fine. Then the next morning, the receptionist started screaming at my boyfriend calling him a thief! Not good. There was also a really annoying incident when the manager (I forget his name) told us there would be a yoga class the next morning and invited us along. When we called reception to book a place, she said that there definitely wasn't a yoga class and that the manager had got it wrong. Of course, the next day we found that there had been a class, and we had missed it.

There were lots of examples of small things like this that DID build up and get on our nerves by the end of the trip. However I wouldn't want that to overshadow what a wonderful job the people at East Winds have done to create a very special hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank thehappyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL REVIEW OVERSHADOWS SMALL ISSUES

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at East Winds Inn. While clearly positive in almost every respect, including your comment that you “had a really wonderful time” at this “quiet, discreet and authentic hotel with a real heart”, we were disheartened to hear that you had a couple of small issues during your stay. We were pleased to read that you felt the food was “amazing….just fantastic”, the “beach was gorgeous”, the “room was pretty” and “most of the staff were great”. It was interesting to see that you appreciated the fact that in your view, the property could accommodate 900 units, but we have deliberately chosen to limit it to 30 cottage style rooms – allowing you space to relax.

The minor issue you reported of the taxi ride to the Gros Islet street party seems to have stemmed from a miscommunication. We have investigated this situation thoroughly, and understand that you had ordered a taxi to take you to the street party at 9:45 PM, but for some reason, it did not show up. Apparently, in an effort to assist you, our reception staff on duty suggested that you could catch a ride in a taxi with our departing receptionist at 10:00 PM, as you would both be heading in virtually the same direction. Furthermore, we are told that you could not have been overly disappointed with the taxi service, as you later hired the same driver to take you on an island tour as well as to the airport for your eventual departure from St Lucia. Under no circumstances, would we tolerate any of our staff screaming at a guest, and in all fairness, would suggest that the use of that word may be a bit sensational in this respect. As for the extra yoga class which was set up by our manager, it is truly unfortunate that you were not able to attend. Based on this experience, we will be implementing a new method of advising all our guests about our yoga class schedule, as well as bonus classes which may be introduced through popular demand.

In summary, we are encouraged that you felt compelled to conclude your review by stating “what a wonderful job the people at East Winds have done to create a very special hotel”. Thank you for that, and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Being someone who works for a major airline and spends much of their life in hotels around the world, when it comes to holidays I am particularly picky. The East Winds absolutely blew me away despite my jaded opinion of most hotels.

The food was nothing short of superb, the booze even better and the rooms, ambience and sheer friendliness of the staff something that other hotels should try to emulate.

From Wendell and Titus and their awesome cocktails, to Johnny and Kim who kept us occupied with all manner of boaty and water related activites.

I have always worked on the principle of never going to the same hotel twice, as the world is very large and there are a huge amount of places to visit. The East Winds has changed that point of view.

It is quite simply a fantastic place to saty, just remember the sun tan lotion, ask for the moveable aircon units if you aren't in a room with it fitted as standard, be aware of the frog chorus at night (wherever you are in the Carribean you'll hear it!) and you'll have a ball.

As mentioned, I've stayed around the world in some of the best hotels you can think of (and some of the worst!) the East Winds is a superb place. If you are disappointed, then frankly you need your head looking at!

Room Tip: Make sure you have aircon if going in the wet season. If you don't have it fitted as standard, it is available from reception.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank IforB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

SUPERB REVIEW – THANK YOU SO MUCH

Your detailed and enthusiastic review of your time at East Winds Inn is very meaningful to our staff, as well as to potential guests of East Winds Inn. With your strong history of travel throughout the world at fine hotels, it is most flattering to be considered “Superb” in so many areas of service – we are glad you were “blown away”. And to think that this is the first time you have ever considered coming back to the same hotel for a subsequent visit – that pretty well tells it all.

Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to repeating your experience when you come back to the small resort with a big heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have literally just returmed from a two week holiday at the East Winds Inn. We did the usual checks on TripAdvisor and were very impressed with the consistently high scores achieved by the hotel. I will try to keep this as brief as possible:
The holiday was everything and more that we wanted, the hotel is peaceful,elegant,great accomodation,great staff,great food,endless drinks of every kind including bottled water and they cannot do enough for you. We cannot praise the staff highly enough, they were outstanding and obviously enjoy working here, I would like to thank Reynolds for looking after us (our daily chats were great) the water sport guys (Johnny,Kim, despite making me work every day) and all the rest of the staff.
If you want total peace,space, great food,drinks and a true taste of the Caribbean then this is the hotel for you. We cannot wait to return. Thanks to you all for our truely wonderful holiday, Gary and Vicki Pearson (Room5)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GaryPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

WE CAN’T THANK YOU ENOUGH

What an incredibly positive and thoughtful review to receive after your two week visit at East Winds Inn. It is obvious you came to know many of our staff on a personal basis, while at the same time, experiencing the tranquility and serenity of the place. As you candidly point out that you wished to keep your review brief, what more can we say to a review that is entitled “We Can’t Praise it Enough”, than merely say Thank You and please do return as you have indicated you will.

We are so pleased that your holiday was “everything and more than what you wanted”, and will strive to keep the standard you experienced.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2011

As the title says this was without doubt the best holiday my family and I have ever had. East Winds Inn is the most amazing place, where you feel welcome and looked after from the moment you arrive, but at the same time without it being over the top.

No request seemed to be a problem... not that we had to ask for much as it was all just there.

We visted East Winds at the very start of the UK school holidays with our 16 year old daughter and 13 year old son. Given that the holidays had only just started there were not a lot of other families there, but the kids found enough to do.

But the best way to sum up how we felt is in the words from the letter my wife left to the staff as we departed.

Thank you to everyone at East Winds who have made out stay here so special.

Thank you to all the unseen hands who have made our beds, cooked the most delicious meals and made the gardens so beautiful.

Thank you to the lovely ladies of the office who have arranged our tours of your beautiful island and been so patient with our requests.

A big thank you to the chefs and their staff who have kept us so well feed, even for the meals we were going to skip we had to try a little something.

Thank you to Kim and Johnny at the beach who helped us in the sea.

The biggest thank you goes to the Bar and Restaurant staff who have been warm and friendly from 7am to 11pm. Your attention to us has been amazing.

It is hard to single out anyone in particular but our special thanks go to Deborah, Haige, Wendell and Mavis. You have made our stay at East Winds the best holiday that we have ever had.

Kindest Regards
Debbie, Chris, Natasha and Huw

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

ONE OF THE BEST REVIEWS WE’VE EVER HAD

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to post such a warm and personal review of your time at East Winds Inn. To state that this was the “Best Holiday Your Family Has Ever Had" does say a lot – it warms our hearts. But to feel the impact of the lovely and most thoughtful things written by your wife is what makes everyone’s role at East Winds Inn so rewarding – it is clear that you caught the true atmosphere of the place and what makes it special – the people who all work so diligently and happily to make our guests feel so special.

The fact that you have referred to the “unseen hands” who helped make your experience so memorable is very touching, as we actually do have over 80 staff for our little 30 room resort. And each and every one of them wants for all our guests to feel just the way you did – genuinely special to the point where a return visit is almost unavoidable.

We hope to see you again soon, and once again, thank you for your heartfelt comments.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2011

....our second visit and we have already booked for next year!!
The people involved in running this hotel are one of the main reasons it is so wonderful as it is run like a dream.
The environment is perfect and kept to an impeccable standard. The gardens are beautifully maintained and the flora and fauna make for a wonderful and complete "at one with nature" remarkable stay. St Lucia is the most beautiful island and East Winds Inn have encapsulated this perfectly. The design of the pretty cottages is unobtrusive and all the buildings integrate so well with the natural surroundings.
We welcomed the updates made to the cottages as they are now even more perfect than last year. I think for the type of clientele and the price paid it is important to keep the amenities updated to a high standard.
The plentiful food is varied, interesting and so amazingly delicious and the drinks flow with a vast choice.
The entertainment is perfectly low key provided by talented musicians.
The staff are the most wonderful people who cannot do enough for you. There are many staff all contributing greatly to the success of this outstanding hotel but I would like to give special mentions and true heartfelt thanks to Hanna; Titus; Windle; Emmanuel; Kerwin; Ellie; Mavis; Johnny and Aunty Paula! It was good to meet Gareth, the Manager this year and he was most gracious and we are extremely grateful to him also.
We took the Helicopter transfer this year which I would also recommend; to see St Lucia from the air was breathtaking.
Holidays are precious times and we had a truly magnificent and relaxing time here and we are now very much looking forward to next year! Thank you to the owners, Mr and Mrs Reti, you own and maintain perfectly a piece of the world that we hold close to our hearts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

DETAILED SECOND REVIEW CAPTURES ESSENCE OF RESORT

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of your second visit to East Winds Inn and also mentioning your re-booking for next year. From naming only a few of the many people who have made your stays so enjoyable, it is evident that you have managed to grasp the atmosphere associated to this resort. We thank you for singling out all the various aspects you mention so clearly, and are very looking forward to your return visit.

For any of those people considering visiting East Winds Inn for the first time, we would strongly encourage you to read this review carefully – it is the essence of what we have, as a team, attempted to achieve over the past five years. And we promise to keep it going to the best of our abilities to ensure further guest satisfaction. Thank you for your continued support – it is most appreciated.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews