We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon!”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We got back from East Winds last week and we were not disappointed. We went for our honeymoon and chose East Winds because of the reviews on trip advisor.

The location of the hotel is beautiful, tranquil and serene. The cottages are simple yet offer all the amenities needed and the open air shower is lovely after a great day at the beach. Everyone talks about the food and there is a reason to - it's magnificent! Delicious, fresh fish, veggies, lobster etc. So good.

Also a note about the amazing staff - dedicated, kind and always willing to help. Many of them have been there for many years and it's evident that they enjoy what they do.

We are only sorry that we could not spend some more time there but we will absolutely return to gorgeous St. Lucia and the East Winds Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Noemie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

POSITIVE HONEYMOON REVIEW APPRECIATED

As a fellow Canadian, I wish to personally thank you for entrusting East Winds Inn to look after the special occasion of your honeymoon. We are all extremely pleased that you clearly enjoyed yourselves, and wish you all the best in your married lives together. Your recognition of the fine cuisine and friendly staff are rewarding for their efforts.

Hopefully, you will have a chance to return as you have indicated – we love celebrating anniversaries too. Thank you once again.

Best regards,
George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in March 2011 and had a really wonderful time. I think the main thing to say about this hotel is that you really are paying a little extra for something that is so rare in the Caribbean - a quiet, discreet and authentic hotel which has a real heart. For that reason, we would almost certainly go again. Most of the problems we did encounter were associated with a couple of staff at the reception desk who were so bad that they really did have an impact on our stay which would, otherwise, have been perfect.

The good bits really are great and I would support what everyone else has said. The food was amazing (I've never stayed at an all inclusive before as I usually hate that kind of thing but this was just fantastic), the beach was gorgeous, our room was so pretty and most of the staff were great. Special thanks to the wonderful Windall who was just the loveliest barman we had ever met! Most of all though - they could have built 900 rooms on the amount of land they have at East Winds. But they haven't. All the rooms are beautifully spaced out amongst massive gardens which means that you really have the space to relax. This might mean the prices are a little bit more than 'similar' levels of accommodation, but it is SO worth it!

Now - the bad bits. I guess the room wasn't 'luxury' in the way I expected but I kinda liked that. The big problem came with the reception staff. One night, we went out to a 'Jump Up' (street party) and were quoted a price for a taxi to take us there by the hotel. I think the taxi driver must have been the receptionists boyfriend as she came too and we had to do this whole round trip to drop her off somewhere first. Then later when he picked us up he charged us double what we had been quoted and we simply didn't have the cash on us, so we asked him if we could leave it with reception the next day. He said fine. Then the next morning, the receptionist started screaming at my boyfriend calling him a thief! Not good. There was also a really annoying incident when the manager (I forget his name) told us there would be a yoga class the next morning and invited us along. When we called reception to book a place, she said that there definitely wasn't a yoga class and that the manager had got it wrong. Of course, the next day we found that there had been a class, and we had missed it.

There were lots of examples of small things like this that DID build up and get on our nerves by the end of the trip. However I wouldn't want that to overshadow what a wonderful job the people at East Winds have done to create a very special hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank thehappyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL REVIEW OVERSHADOWS SMALL ISSUES

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at East Winds Inn. While clearly positive in almost every respect, including your comment that you “had a really wonderful time” at this “quiet, discreet and authentic hotel with a real heart”, we were disheartened to hear that you had a couple of small issues during your stay. We were pleased to read that you felt the food was “amazing….just fantastic”, the “beach was gorgeous”, the “room was pretty” and “most of the staff were great”. It was interesting to see that you appreciated the fact that in your view, the property could accommodate 900 units, but we have deliberately chosen to limit it to 30 cottage style rooms – allowing you space to relax.

The minor issue you reported of the taxi ride to the Gros Islet street party seems to have stemmed from a miscommunication. We have investigated this situation thoroughly, and understand that you had ordered a taxi to take you to the street party at 9:45 PM, but for some reason, it did not show up. Apparently, in an effort to assist you, our reception staff on duty suggested that you could catch a ride in a taxi with our departing receptionist at 10:00 PM, as you would both be heading in virtually the same direction. Furthermore, we are told that you could not have been overly disappointed with the taxi service, as you later hired the same driver to take you on an island tour as well as to the airport for your eventual departure from St Lucia. Under no circumstances, would we tolerate any of our staff screaming at a guest, and in all fairness, would suggest that the use of that word may be a bit sensational in this respect. As for the extra yoga class which was set up by our manager, it is truly unfortunate that you were not able to attend. Based on this experience, we will be implementing a new method of advising all our guests about our yoga class schedule, as well as bonus classes which may be introduced through popular demand.

In summary, we are encouraged that you felt compelled to conclude your review by stating “what a wonderful job the people at East Winds have done to create a very special hotel”. Thank you for that, and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Being someone who works for a major airline and spends much of their life in hotels around the world, when it comes to holidays I am particularly picky. The East Winds absolutely blew me away despite my jaded opinion of most hotels.

The food was nothing short of superb, the booze even better and the rooms, ambience and sheer friendliness of the staff something that other hotels should try to emulate.

From Wendell and Titus and their awesome cocktails, to Johnny and Kim who kept us occupied with all manner of boaty and water related activites.

I have always worked on the principle of never going to the same hotel twice, as the world is very large and there are a huge amount of places to visit. The East Winds has changed that point of view.

It is quite simply a fantastic place to saty, just remember the sun tan lotion, ask for the moveable aircon units if you aren't in a room with it fitted as standard, be aware of the frog chorus at night (wherever you are in the Carribean you'll hear it!) and you'll have a ball.

As mentioned, I've stayed around the world in some of the best hotels you can think of (and some of the worst!) the East Winds is a superb place. If you are disappointed, then frankly you need your head looking at!

Room Tip: Make sure you have aircon if going in the wet season. If you don't have it fitted as standard, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank IforB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

SUPERB REVIEW – THANK YOU SO MUCH

Your detailed and enthusiastic review of your time at East Winds Inn is very meaningful to our staff, as well as to potential guests of East Winds Inn. With your strong history of travel throughout the world at fine hotels, it is most flattering to be considered “Superb” in so many areas of service – we are glad you were “blown away”. And to think that this is the first time you have ever considered coming back to the same hotel for a subsequent visit – that pretty well tells it all.

Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to repeating your experience when you come back to the small resort with a big heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have literally just returmed from a two week holiday at the East Winds Inn. We did the usual checks on TripAdvisor and were very impressed with the consistently high scores achieved by the hotel. I will try to keep this as brief as possible:
The holiday was everything and more that we wanted, the hotel is peaceful,elegant,great accomodation,great staff,great food,endless drinks of every kind including bottled water and they cannot do enough for you. We cannot praise the staff highly enough, they were outstanding and obviously enjoy working here, I would like to thank Reynolds for looking after us (our daily chats were great) the water sport guys (Johnny,Kim, despite making me work every day) and all the rest of the staff.
If you want total peace,space, great food,drinks and a true taste of the Caribbean then this is the hotel for you. We cannot wait to return. Thanks to you all for our truely wonderful holiday, Gary and Vicki Pearson (Room5)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GaryPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

WE CAN’T THANK YOU ENOUGH

What an incredibly positive and thoughtful review to receive after your two week visit at East Winds Inn. It is obvious you came to know many of our staff on a personal basis, while at the same time, experiencing the tranquility and serenity of the place. As you candidly point out that you wished to keep your review brief, what more can we say to a review that is entitled “We Can’t Praise it Enough”, than merely say Thank You and please do return as you have indicated you will.

We are so pleased that your holiday was “everything and more than what you wanted”, and will strive to keep the standard you experienced.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

As the title says this was without doubt the best holiday my family and I have ever had. East Winds Inn is the most amazing place, where you feel welcome and looked after from the moment you arrive, but at the same time without it being over the top.

No request seemed to be a problem... not that we had to ask for much as it was all just there.

We visted East Winds at the very start of the UK school holidays with our 16 year old daughter and 13 year old son. Given that the holidays had only just started there were not a lot of other families there, but the kids found enough to do.

But the best way to sum up how we felt is in the words from the letter my wife left to the staff as we departed.

Thank you to everyone at East Winds who have made out stay here so special.

Thank you to all the unseen hands who have made our beds, cooked the most delicious meals and made the gardens so beautiful.

Thank you to the lovely ladies of the office who have arranged our tours of your beautiful island and been so patient with our requests.

A big thank you to the chefs and their staff who have kept us so well feed, even for the meals we were going to skip we had to try a little something.

Thank you to Kim and Johnny at the beach who helped us in the sea.

The biggest thank you goes to the Bar and Restaurant staff who have been warm and friendly from 7am to 11pm. Your attention to us has been amazing.

It is hard to single out anyone in particular but our special thanks go to Deborah, Haige, Wendell and Mavis. You have made our stay at East Winds the best holiday that we have ever had.

Kindest Regards
Debbie, Chris, Natasha and Huw

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

ONE OF THE BEST REVIEWS WE’VE EVER HAD

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to post such a warm and personal review of your time at East Winds Inn. To state that this was the “Best Holiday Your Family Has Ever Had" does say a lot – it warms our hearts. But to feel the impact of the lovely and most thoughtful things written by your wife is what makes everyone’s role at East Winds Inn so rewarding – it is clear that you caught the true atmosphere of the place and what makes it special – the people who all work so diligently and happily to make our guests feel so special.

The fact that you have referred to the “unseen hands” who helped make your experience so memorable is very touching, as we actually do have over 80 staff for our little 30 room resort. And each and every one of them wants for all our guests to feel just the way you did – genuinely special to the point where a return visit is almost unavoidable.

We hope to see you again soon, and once again, thank you for your heartfelt comments.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

....our second visit and we have already booked for next year!!
The people involved in running this hotel are one of the main reasons it is so wonderful as it is run like a dream.
The environment is perfect and kept to an impeccable standard. The gardens are beautifully maintained and the flora and fauna make for a wonderful and complete "at one with nature" remarkable stay. St Lucia is the most beautiful island and East Winds Inn have encapsulated this perfectly. The design of the pretty cottages is unobtrusive and all the buildings integrate so well with the natural surroundings.
We welcomed the updates made to the cottages as they are now even more perfect than last year. I think for the type of clientele and the price paid it is important to keep the amenities updated to a high standard.
The plentiful food is varied, interesting and so amazingly delicious and the drinks flow with a vast choice.
The entertainment is perfectly low key provided by talented musicians.
The staff are the most wonderful people who cannot do enough for you. There are many staff all contributing greatly to the success of this outstanding hotel but I would like to give special mentions and true heartfelt thanks to Hanna; Titus; Windle; Emmanuel; Kerwin; Ellie; Mavis; Johnny and Aunty Paula! It was good to meet Gareth, the Manager this year and he was most gracious and we are extremely grateful to him also.
We took the Helicopter transfer this year which I would also recommend; to see St Lucia from the air was breathtaking.
Holidays are precious times and we had a truly magnificent and relaxing time here and we are now very much looking forward to next year! Thank you to the owners, Mr and Mrs Reti, you own and maintain perfectly a piece of the world that we hold close to our hearts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

DETAILED SECOND REVIEW CAPTURES ESSENCE OF RESORT

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of your second visit to East Winds Inn and also mentioning your re-booking for next year. From naming only a few of the many people who have made your stays so enjoyable, it is evident that you have managed to grasp the atmosphere associated to this resort. We thank you for singling out all the various aspects you mention so clearly, and are very looking forward to your return visit.

For any of those people considering visiting East Winds Inn for the first time, we would strongly encourage you to read this review carefully – it is the essence of what we have, as a team, attempted to achieve over the past five years. And we promise to keep it going to the best of our abilities to ensure further guest satisfaction. Thank you for your continued support – it is most appreciated.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The feel of this hotel is something hard to describe. I think it is the space in the grounds and the laid back pace of life that is so refreshing. I do echo the comments made in a recent review about young children. Some were very irritating and noisy as they were left to play by parents, who didn't supervise their behaviour in any way. I would fully support the idea not to allow kids under the age of say twelve to stay. The only other negative in my opinion was the evening meal. Both of us felt that many of the dishes were very run of the mill. (e.g. piped mashed potato in the centre of the plate, some grated [cooked] carrot and beef on one side, and three dots of gravy on the other side). I could have cooked that myself! We felt that the chef is probably a pastry specialist as the desserts were generally much better than the other courses (and I don't have a particularly sweet tooth!). The quality of the ingredients used throughout was exceptionally good - the beef, in particular, was so tender. My one stand out dish was tuna. which was caught and delivered earlier on the same day.
Despite these two negatives, everything else about this hotel was superb - the service, the layout of the cottages and amenities, the new fitness trail, the beach, the friendly faces, the cocktails, the bbqs...
So, would I go back??? Yes - the feel of the place and the friendly smooth running service overwhelmingly outweighs the two negatives that I have mentioned above.
The only other thing I would change would be the weather - absolutely awful, with over a week not seeing the sun at all and one memorable evening where part of the hotel even flooded! Fingers crossed next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank echelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

HONEST REVIEW APPRECIATED

Your careful and honest review of your stay at East Winds Inn is greatly appreciated. We note that you classify your overall experience as “superb”, and the fact we were given an excellent, five star rating on account of the resort’s ambiance and special, relaxed feeling. We truly value that in spite of a couple of smaller negatives mentioned. In terms of our cuisine, we have two French trained chefs plus an additional 15 kitchen “cooks”, who perform every specialized activity from creating the most wonderful reduction sauces, cooking traditional St. Lucian dishes, overseeing our famous Friday bar-b-ques, to filleting and deboning our freshly caught fish. We do have two pastry chefs as well, and overall, the kitchen staff is extremely well rounded – producing some of the most memorable meals that our guests claim to have ever had.

We limit children to certain times of the year related to school breaks and holidays, and the resort has a no child policy for the months of January through March or early April. We are disappointed for you that you experienced such poor weather, for that is not the norm for St. Lucia. We would encourage you to return in our high season, where you will be virtually assured of good weather and the absence of any other distractions to an otherwise exceptional vacation.

Thank you for your support and continued interest in East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.9 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
988 reviews
26.1 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,315 reviews
11.3 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
5.6 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
783 reviews
1.6 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: C$726 - C$1,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing