We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveller rating
847
73
21
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
847
73
21
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fitness trail bamboo lounge deluxe cottage sunken shower other guests food and wine head gardener sunset cruise sunset bar four courses yoga pavilion local musicians st lucia good vibes steel band evening entertainment is house party
Filter
Updating list...
691 - 696 of 946 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Until we visited East Winds we hadn't stayed in the same hotel more than once, as there are so many interesting places to visit. That was 11 years ago and this our 4th visit to East Winds. It never ceases to impress. The staff are great and can never do enough to help make your stay a pleasant one. The food and drink are superb. The only problem I have found is that I put too much weight on while I am there!

It's not your typical luxury hotel, its small with only 30 rooms. The majority of the rooms are in bungalows scattered through a beautiful tropical garden, and most of the time you would be forgiven for thinking you were on your own, as there is so much space.

A really great place to relax and unwind.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

RETURN TWO WEEK VISIT PROMPTS VALUED AND RELIABLE REVIEW

Thank you for being such a staunch supporter of East Winds Inn and publicly sharing your enthusiasm for the resort after your recent two week visit. To confirm that you have never revisited a resort prior to your initial stay at East Winds Inn, and since then, have stayed four times over the past 11 years and the resort still impresses you - to the point where you wish to come back again - is the most positive affirmation we could possibly receive. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and hope to keep the positive trend you have witnessed. And don’t worry about the weight, it is easy to shed between visits.

Best regards,
George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We got back from East Winds last week and we were not disappointed. We went for our honeymoon and chose East Winds because of the reviews on trip advisor.

The location of the hotel is beautiful, tranquil and serene. The cottages are simple yet offer all the amenities needed and the open air shower is lovely after a great day at the beach. Everyone talks about the food and there is a reason to - it's magnificent! Delicious, fresh fish, veggies, lobster etc. So good.

Also a note about the amazing staff - dedicated, kind and always willing to help. Many of them have been there for many years and it's evident that they enjoy what they do.

We are only sorry that we could not spend some more time there but we will absolutely return to gorgeous St. Lucia and the East Winds Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Noemie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

POSITIVE HONEYMOON REVIEW APPRECIATED

As a fellow Canadian, I wish to personally thank you for entrusting East Winds Inn to look after the special occasion of your honeymoon. We are all extremely pleased that you clearly enjoyed yourselves, and wish you all the best in your married lives together. Your recognition of the fine cuisine and friendly staff are rewarding for their efforts.

Hopefully, you will have a chance to return as you have indicated – we love celebrating anniversaries too. Thank you once again.

Best regards,
George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in March 2011 and had a really wonderful time. I think the main thing to say about this hotel is that you really are paying a little extra for something that is so rare in the Caribbean - a quiet, discreet and authentic hotel which has a real heart. For that reason, we would almost certainly go again. Most of the problems we did encounter were associated with a couple of staff at the reception desk who were so bad that they really did have an impact on our stay which would, otherwise, have been perfect.

The good bits really are great and I would support what everyone else has said. The food was amazing (I've never stayed at an all inclusive before as I usually hate that kind of thing but this was just fantastic), the beach was gorgeous, our room was so pretty and most of the staff were great. Special thanks to the wonderful Windall who was just the loveliest barman we had ever met! Most of all though - they could have built 900 rooms on the amount of land they have at East Winds. But they haven't. All the rooms are beautifully spaced out amongst massive gardens which means that you really have the space to relax. This might mean the prices are a little bit more than 'similar' levels of accommodation, but it is SO worth it!

Now - the bad bits. I guess the room wasn't 'luxury' in the way I expected but I kinda liked that. The big problem came with the reception staff. One night, we went out to a 'Jump Up' (street party) and were quoted a price for a taxi to take us there by the hotel. I think the taxi driver must have been the receptionists boyfriend as she came too and we had to do this whole round trip to drop her off somewhere first. Then later when he picked us up he charged us double what we had been quoted and we simply didn't have the cash on us, so we asked him if we could leave it with reception the next day. He said fine. Then the next morning, the receptionist started screaming at my boyfriend calling him a thief! Not good. There was also a really annoying incident when the manager (I forget his name) told us there would be a yoga class the next morning and invited us along. When we called reception to book a place, she said that there definitely wasn't a yoga class and that the manager had got it wrong. Of course, the next day we found that there had been a class, and we had missed it.

There were lots of examples of small things like this that DID build up and get on our nerves by the end of the trip. However I wouldn't want that to overshadow what a wonderful job the people at East Winds have done to create a very special hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank thehappyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL REVIEW OVERSHADOWS SMALL ISSUES

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at East Winds Inn. While clearly positive in almost every respect, including your comment that you “had a really wonderful time” at this “quiet, discreet and authentic hotel with a real heart”, we were disheartened to hear that you had a couple of small issues during your stay. We were pleased to read that you felt the food was “amazing….just fantastic”, the “beach was gorgeous”, the “room was pretty” and “most of the staff were great”. It was interesting to see that you appreciated the fact that in your view, the property could accommodate 900 units, but we have deliberately chosen to limit it to 30 cottage style rooms – allowing you space to relax.

The minor issue you reported of the taxi ride to the Gros Islet street party seems to have stemmed from a miscommunication. We have investigated this situation thoroughly, and understand that you had ordered a taxi to take you to the street party at 9:45 PM, but for some reason, it did not show up. Apparently, in an effort to assist you, our reception staff on duty suggested that you could catch a ride in a taxi with our departing receptionist at 10:00 PM, as you would both be heading in virtually the same direction. Furthermore, we are told that you could not have been overly disappointed with the taxi service, as you later hired the same driver to take you on an island tour as well as to the airport for your eventual departure from St Lucia. Under no circumstances, would we tolerate any of our staff screaming at a guest, and in all fairness, would suggest that the use of that word may be a bit sensational in this respect. As for the extra yoga class which was set up by our manager, it is truly unfortunate that you were not able to attend. Based on this experience, we will be implementing a new method of advising all our guests about our yoga class schedule, as well as bonus classes which may be introduced through popular demand.

In summary, we are encouraged that you felt compelled to conclude your review by stating “what a wonderful job the people at East Winds have done to create a very special hotel”. Thank you for that, and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Being someone who works for a major airline and spends much of their life in hotels around the world, when it comes to holidays I am particularly picky. The East Winds absolutely blew me away despite my jaded opinion of most hotels.

The food was nothing short of superb, the booze even better and the rooms, ambience and sheer friendliness of the staff something that other hotels should try to emulate.

From Wendell and Titus and their awesome cocktails, to Johnny and Kim who kept us occupied with all manner of boaty and water related activites.

I have always worked on the principle of never going to the same hotel twice, as the world is very large and there are a huge amount of places to visit. The East Winds has changed that point of view.

It is quite simply a fantastic place to saty, just remember the sun tan lotion, ask for the moveable aircon units if you aren't in a room with it fitted as standard, be aware of the frog chorus at night (wherever you are in the Carribean you'll hear it!) and you'll have a ball.

As mentioned, I've stayed around the world in some of the best hotels you can think of (and some of the worst!) the East Winds is a superb place. If you are disappointed, then frankly you need your head looking at!

Room Tip: Make sure you have aircon if going in the wet season. If you don't have it fitted as standard, it is available from reception.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank IforB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

SUPERB REVIEW – THANK YOU SO MUCH

Your detailed and enthusiastic review of your time at East Winds Inn is very meaningful to our staff, as well as to potential guests of East Winds Inn. With your strong history of travel throughout the world at fine hotels, it is most flattering to be considered “Superb” in so many areas of service – we are glad you were “blown away”. And to think that this is the first time you have ever considered coming back to the same hotel for a subsequent visit – that pretty well tells it all.

Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to repeating your experience when you come back to the small resort with a big heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have literally just returmed from a two week holiday at the East Winds Inn. We did the usual checks on TripAdvisor and were very impressed with the consistently high scores achieved by the hotel. I will try to keep this as brief as possible:
The holiday was everything and more that we wanted, the hotel is peaceful,elegant,great accomodation,great staff,great food,endless drinks of every kind including bottled water and they cannot do enough for you. We cannot praise the staff highly enough, they were outstanding and obviously enjoy working here, I would like to thank Reynolds for looking after us (our daily chats were great) the water sport guys (Johnny,Kim, despite making me work every day) and all the rest of the staff.
If you want total peace,space, great food,drinks and a true taste of the Caribbean then this is the hotel for you. We cannot wait to return. Thanks to you all for our truely wonderful holiday, Gary and Vicki Pearson (Room5)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GaryPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

WE CAN’T THANK YOU ENOUGH

What an incredibly positive and thoughtful review to receive after your two week visit at East Winds Inn. It is obvious you came to know many of our staff on a personal basis, while at the same time, experiencing the tranquility and serenity of the place. As you candidly point out that you wished to keep your review brief, what more can we say to a review that is entitled “We Can’t Praise it Enough”, than merely say Thank You and please do return as you have indicated you will.

We are so pleased that your holiday was “everything and more than what you wanted”, and will strive to keep the standard you experienced.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews