We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found it!”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Found it!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Whoever said East Winds was like a private house party described it perfectly. All I might add is that there is no pressure to join in or mingle with other guests if that is not what you want. The atmosphere is one of acceptance and genteel conviviality, neither trendy nor slick and it suited us perfectly. The resort is certainly not for everyone and it is immediately obvious that that is not its intention. Trying to be all things to all people would entirely destroy the perfect tone they have achieved. A big box resort this is definitely not. If you are looking for lots of activities and entertainment, stay away from East Winds.

In addition to the big things, they do the little things well - Perrier (not just still, bottled water) in the frig, little personal baskets of snacks with drinks (cheese puffs, baked coconut, pistachios), attractive clay pots for refuse unobtrusively placed about the lovely gardens. Someone has given East Winds a lot of tender attention.

The marvellous food is what sets this place apart. We are foodies and couldn't have asked for more delicious meals. Each meal, including breakfast, was the highlight of every day, hands down, with the dining room magically transformed at night into a romantic, twinkling fairyland. Given the high quality of the food, however, we were a bit disappointed with the wine selection, particularly the red wines. Knowing nothing about the availability and prices of the wines they have to choose from, this is perhaps an unfair comment but we know wine and fancied we could have made better choices. We ordered from the Manager's List (extra cost) at 4 or the 7 dinners and found those selections better enhanced the truly exceptional food. But, in all fairness, we noticed that very few others did the same so we assume that wine is perhaps just more important to us than to the other guests.

Our deluxe cottage was comfortable, tasteful, ultra quiet and well-appointed.

As others have noted, the staff is well-trained and friendly but never intrusive. Samantha and Chrisanthamus were our personal favourites.

In short, East Winds was just what we were looking for and wondering if we would ever find - a tasteful, small, all-inclusive resort where excellent food is paramount, trendiness and noise (no obnoxious, piped-in elevator music!) absent, accommodations luxurious but never over-the-top.
Well done, East Winds. We're hooked.

Room Tip: The porch on the deluxe cottages is larger and far more comfortable than the superior ones, also fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank windswept17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE FOND REVIEW

We greatly appreciate your kind review of the time you recently spent at East Winds Inn. It is clear that you recognized many of the nuances which we have strived to introduce for the pleasure of our guests, and more importantly, the commitment of the staff to ensure that all our visitors experience a very special holiday.

The enthusiastic endorsement of our food quality was most welcomed, and we are also pleased that you discovered our manager’s select wine list, even though the majority of diners find the wines on offer to their liking – especially given the fact that we have daily choices of red, white and rose, as well as champagne and premium brand spirits of virtually every type.

To end your comments by stating that you are “hooked” is extremely gratifying – meaning that we are hoping to see you again soon. We thank you for your support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    64
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
141
585
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aston Rowant, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at East Winds for a fortnight just after new year 2012. We were absolutely delighted with our visit. The cottages are charming, the staff super-friendly and welcoming, and the facilities are more than enough to keep us busy and happy. With only 30 cottages, the atmosphere is more like a house party than an anonymous resort - everyone can socialise or have quiet periods depending on their mood. I would go alone happily, knowing that it is such a friendly place. We spent a day at another resort, visiting friends, and coming back to East Winds was like coming home after being away (we could stop holding our tummies in!). Be warned: this is not a place for the super shiny - it is very much a relaxed, barefoot luxury spot. Dressing up in the evening is certainly a 'nice-to-do', but not essential. The free wi-fi worked, the help-yourself swim up bar was a delight, the little Hobie catamarans were such fun, as were the sea kayaks, endless supply of swim fins, masks and snorkels. Sitting by the sea under a palm tree, with a cocktail in my hand and the sand between my toes, watching the glorious sunset... Oh yes, we will certainly go back. One word of warning: the airport arrival experience tests your patience, but East Winds more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
JOYFUL REVIEW APPRECIATED

Thank you for the kind and informative posting of your recent stay at East Winds Inn. The numerous positive adjectives and superlatives in your review are most sincerely welcomed by the staff and all those who worked so diligently in making this a memorable holiday. Of course, the most satisfying comment of all, is your true endorsement “Oh yes, we will certainly go back”. As more than 50 percent of our guests already do just that, you will be in very good company - like a big house party as you observed.

We eagerly await your return, and will do our utmost to ensure that your next experience is just as favorable as your last. Thank you again for your ongoing support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel is excellent.Good location and first class rooms in small bungalows.
The food and drink are superb and it fully deserves its award as Best All Inclusive in the caribbean.The staff are very friendly and efficient .In conclusion,this is an elegant and relaxing place-an ideal spot to recharge the batteries.

Room Tip: Deluxe cottages are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoctorAlex841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
THANK YOU FOR OUR 250TH FIVE STAR REVIEW

We greatly appreciate your concisely worded yet sweeping, favourable review of the time you spent at East Winds Inn. The gracious use of adjectives such as “excellent, first class and superb”, with special acknowledgement of the “very friendly and efficient staff”, is most appreciated – as is the recognition of our recent receipt of this website’s award as the #1 All-Inclusive Resort in the Caribbean. That is a challenging reputation to live up to, and we will continue to do our best to maintain the experience which you enjoyed.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Having just returned from a week at East Winds, it is easy to see why the resort has earned such consistently high ratings. I should start by saying that the clientele the week we stayed were of an older generation with no families or children. I would guess that the average age was about 60 so this is not a place to come if you are looking for a younger crowd. The guests were almost all British .... and it was all very gentile. The entertainment in the evenings was mainly pianists or a jazz duo playing popular songs. The special Friday night entertainment was a little odd as this sounded more like an "ooompah" band than something from the caribbean!
Mainly the food was of a good quality and varied. Breakfast was more limited but there were eggs and pancakes cooked to order. Afternoon tea wasn't a particularly grand affair (but people aren't generally hungry) and was probably more of a novelty than anything as the local birds will eat cake out of your hand. Plenty of choice with drinks of all kinds ..... pre dinner champagne was also a nice touch and also gave an opportunity to meet fellow guests. We met some lovely people and only ate by ourselves on a couple of occasions.
I highly recommend taking water shoes with you as the sea shelves quickly onto rocks / coral. I also found it easier to swim in them than flippers when snorkelling - there was some great viewing although it took me a few attempts to find the best spots.
As Johnny or Kim to take you out on the hobbiecats - Kim for a more sedate sail or Johnny for a more adrenaline fuelled experience!
Even though this was the dry season, there are still mosquitoes about. They did "fog" the whole grounds whilst we were staying to keep them at bay but take plenty of high strength repellant. Most guests did report some bites - one had a particularly nasty attack on her face - I escaped with about 6 which didn't trouble me too much after applying antihistamine.
The staff are very friendly and eager for the guests to have a good time. All in all, a great holiday.

Room Tip: Air conditioned rooms will help keep mosquitoes at bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AlisonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
THANKS FOR THE LAID BACK POSTING

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to express your views and satisfaction of East Winds Inn. Starting by stating that “ it is easy to see why the resort has earned such consistently high ratings” sets the stage for more positive comments, followed closely by gracious remarks about the gentile clientele and how friendly everyone was. Your final line - “The staff are very friendly and eager for the guests to have a good time. All in all, a great holiday.” pretty well sums it up, and everyone is most pleased that you had a relaxing vacation at East Winds Inn.

We hope to see you again soon – the same smiling faces will be waiting for you.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

visited just prior to christmas. not as rustic as I thought, but the rooms were lovely and the showers were very unique. my 4 year old liked talking to eric the parrot and we liked playing table tennis. the sea was fairly rough so no water sports whilst we were there which was a shame and we heard about the lady who had the spines in her foot. we managed to paddle though in the waves which was fun and the children enjoyed the pool and the swim up bar. memories of east winds are: cocktails watching the sunsets which were just beautiful, eric, the delicious pork spare ribs at the lunch bbq, all the birds eating the cakes at tea time, and the food generally , although we thought this could be hit and miss occasionally. however being all inclusive it did not matter too much if there was a course you did not enjoy... you had plenty of food. staff all friendly except one who just did not smile at all. did trip to pigeon island which was good and we saw the rough atlantic surf and managed to swim on a really calm beach which was lovely as I missed swimming in the sea at east winds. all guests mainly english and obviously there were repeat guests - you really should make a few trips though out of resort. next time we will hire a car as taxis very expensive.
tip: My husband hit his head on the corner of the safe and had a big gash, so be careful to keep the safe door shut before bending down to get anything out of the cupboard.

Room Tip: a bit further back from the beach so you don't get people walking past all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pendulwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
ERIC THANKS YOU FOR YOUR FRIENDLINESS

Your kind remarks about Eric and the various other aspects of East Winds Inn are most appreciated. For those who are not frequent repeat guests, you will likely not know about Eric’s longtime friend – Mac – who unfortunately passed away last year – leaving Eric a very lonely fellow. We are still looking for a new parrot who can help keep poor Eric company – but in the meantime, it seems your four year old did a very good job of that.

You also state “the rooms were lovely and the showers were very unique”, the fact you enjoyed the beautiful sunsets with cocktail in hand, that the food was very good overall. We are sorry that your husband hit his head on the open safe door while crouching down in the closet – an unlikely accident which has never happened before. Thanks for warning our other potential guests of this low probability occurrence.

It is unfortunate that you stayed at East Winds during a period of high seas – this does happen from time to time, depending on the lunar cycle and the strength of the Trade Winds further to the north on the Atlantic side of the island. However, for most times, the sea is calm and makes for excellent swimming. For those rare occurrences when it does not, as you so graciously point out, the swimming pool is an excellent alternative.

Many thanks for your posting, and we hope to see you return to East Winds again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Complete relaxation at East Winds Inn. I recently spent a stunning week at East Winds with my fiancee. I have travelled all over the world staying in 5 star hotels in every continent but this was was my first trip to St Lucia and first experience of an all inclusive package - something that I have always intentionally avoided before. We were recommended to stay at East Winds by family friends who have been going for nearly 20 years. The whole experience was perfect and most importantly so relaxing, it felt like being as comfortable as you would be at home except you are staying within 14 beautiful acres of botanical-esque gardens directly fronting 200 metres of serene sandy Caribbean beach front! We stayed in cottage 24 and from day 1 the whole experience matched 5 star service and quality but with the relaxed informality of being amongst friends and family. The accommodation was superb - large, airy room with giant king size bed, lovely mahogany furniture and all relevant mod cons (wide screen plasma with multiple channels and dvd and ipod deck). The character of the accommodation was completed by a beautiful stone floor, generous wardrobe space and stunning stone clad shower pit ! After many days relaxing by the beach or in the gardens, each evening we used our terrace for drinks before wandering down to the giant traditional bamboo lounge for a glass of champagne before dinner. There is an elegant and charming feel to the dining room and bamboo lounge - from the furnishings through to the nightly live music, a highlight being the Steinway piano and amazing pianists!

The food and associated service absolutely make East Winds what it is. The resort is absolutely beautiful but this is more than matched by the spirit and hospitality of the East Winds staff - from GM Gareth through to the waiting and bar staff, chamber maids and gardeners ! We found most of the staff have been at East Winds for more than 8 years which says so much about the place. My favourite element of the whole stay though was the food and wine. It really was special and clearly extremely well thought through by some talented chefs. We met Tomislav who a young and exciting Sous Chef and responsible for much of the evening menu - his training in London and europe has set him up for East Winds which I cannot believe is not the best restaurant on the island - during the St Lucia PM, the British Commissioner and many non-residents from other hotels also ate there....

Each night the dinner menu provided for 4 courses with 3 choices of dish. The food was stunning michelin star quality yet did not leave you feeling bloated in any way. Fresh local ingredients coupled with an international sophistication left me so eager every night to see what might enjoy! The bbq lobster/creole salad lunches were also a high point ! Also my fiancee is gluten intolerant so the kitchen made gluten free bread and adjusted every dish to accommodate her needs. I thought that was amazing and something that even the greatest hotels in the world would struggle with such a personal touch.

We went off the resort early on in the trip for a tour of the island but thereafter just could not drag ourselves away from the place. You feel like there are few people there at all yet everything you need is always available - I think there are more staff than guests !

We thoroughly recommend East Winds and will definitely go back as a couple, family or with friends. Our entire experience is credit to the GM Gareth and the owners for putting together such a great team which more than match the classic caribbean beauty of the resort.

Room Tip: The deluxe cottages are worth every penny - views of the gardens and great air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE HOME RUN REVIEW

This detailed and most informative review is greatly appreciated, and should be of considerable assistance to anyone who does not know East Winds Inn. Not only does it capture the essence of the resort, but your enthusiastic and explicit descriptions of so many elements clearly demonstrate the extent to which you and your fiancé enjoyed yourselves. And to think, it was on an ‘all-inclusive” basis – your first ever such experience which evidently exceeded your expectations.

Your kind acknowledgement of the staff and their efforts to please, including Gareth, the GM, is also welcomed, as without these people, it simply would not be the same kind of relaxing place. Oftentimes, it takes a seasoned traveler such as you report, to properly appreciate and understand all of what goes on behind the scenes to make a resort like this a place you want to come back and visit time and time again – which you have already indicated you wish to do.

Thank you for all the generous superlatives you have utilized in your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to what is obviously a new “home” from here on in.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a place people come back to again and again - and it's easy to see why. With only 30 rooms, it's ideal for a quiet, luxurious break in great accommodation. The facilities are excellent - try a sail in the Hobie Cat with Johnnie - and the food is first class, with a choice of different wines by the glass being offered with each course at dinner. Altogether a great experience, with nothing much to be added to the wish list, except slippers to go with the Frette robes - and a shaving mirror!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Merantum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
A HUGE GEM OF A REVIEW – THANK YOU

So succinctly and naturally, you have captured the essence of East Winds Inn – thank you for your gracious posting – it embodies the efforts of all those who work so hard to make this type of holiday escape possible. If you noticed the Frette robes, you have a good eye. We will work on the slippers and the shaving mirrors so that they will hopefully be there for your return.

Your support of East Winds Inn is greatly appreciated – it would be lovely to see you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.8 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
26.9 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
11.3 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
908 reviews
26.0 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,255 reviews
5.6 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing