We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
844
73
21
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
73
21
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfitness trailbamboo loungedeluxe cottagesunken showerother guestsfood and winehead gardenersunset cruisesunset barfour coursesyoga pavilionlocal musiciansst luciagood vibessteel bandevening entertainment ishouse party
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 943 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

the setting of east winds is beautiful the beach and our room on the beach were lovely. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and had a lovely meal set up in beach gazebo with wine etc. So most of what other reviewers have said is true.

However a few negatives - the al a carte dinner menu was very nice but on 3 occasions it wasnt brilliant. ie chewy chicken which we could not eat and left in full - but were not asked by waiter what the problem was - if they had asked I would have told them. Also the cold asparagus soup was awful, again left in full but not asked as to why - felt quite disappointed this night. Lunch buffet is not 4 star salad comprises of a big bowl of tomatoes lettuce and something else with a waitress putting clingfilm back over bowl when you have your serving. Also a choice of say pork chop chicken leg and gammon for lunch not a lot of choice Im afraid. One night I didnt like anything on menu so told the waitress she did arrange for steak which I thought was brilliant service but when I asked again another night the restaurant manager came over and asked me to look at menu earlier in day and let them know if I didnt like anything so it would give them time to defrost something else. I felt quite put out by this.

Suggestions - lots of staff at this hotel only half full whilst we were there - why not put one of the staff on the pool bar and serve the guests cocktails drinks etc whilst around the pool. We didnt really want to get our own I do that at home everyday. Why not get a waiter on beach to serve drinks to guests - would be a nice touch. Also bathroom in room 27 was very dingy (as said in a previous review) more 3 star.

Also when guests put on anything less than a 5 star review for the manager to take on suggestions and not try and retaliate with an essay on why they are wrong - after all thats what this site is all about - and why it has taken me a month to post this review as I didnt want the manager to belittle me. Reviews need to be posted whether good or bad to give a fair opinion to trip advisor readers. Spent second week at the body holiday which is truly 5 star and in my opinion east winds could be too with just a few additions. Also fitness trail (as someone already said) is not something different we never saw anyone use it at all and just one person doing yoga one day. I would recommend to older people maybe retired who like a really quiet place and not bothered about the little finer touches.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms on beach lovely view but shower room needs renovating
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank suzanne806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

THANKS FOR THE POSITIVE REVIEW AND BEING HONEST

We greatly appreciate the review you have posted on East Winds Inn, and particularly the fact it is honest – as all our reviews are just that. Any hotel which is foolish enough to encourage anything but truthful reviews is walking a very thin line, as the guest expectations associated with high quality reviews are extremely stringent, and if expectations are not met, the results can be devastating. You are correct in suggesting that this is the purpose of this website, and we value honest feedback in order that we can make whatever changes are necessary to ensure we are doing the best that we can. After all, how else would we know what our guests are truly experiencing, and more importantly, what they would like to experience? It is only when we know that comments made are not truthful, or are completely unreasonable, do we take on a protective posture in our responses.

You have made a number of very positive and helpful remarks in your posting, ranging from confirming that the setting of East Winds is beautiful, and the beach and your room were lovely, to suggesting that we might provide bartender service at the swim-up bar or have a beach boy taking drink orders. Interestingly, we have tried both in past years, and while some guests did like these services, others found them somewhat imposing on their quiet time when they were just trying to relax. We have also opened the Piton Bar right on the beach in past quieter times, with good success and guest appreciation. The use of clingfilm over the various salads ensures their freshness as well as unwanted visitations by birds and insects – which are prevalent in the tropics, especially in an open air restaurant. We are pleased to know that you were provided the option of special meals in the event the daily offerings were not up to your standards. As you discovered, all you need to do is communicate your desires, and they will be looked after – just as you were on your 25th anniversary dinner right on the beach.

We will introduce some of your suggestions to our management team, and hopefully, on your next visit, you will see that we do listen to our customers. It is because of this attitude, that we have constantly received major awards for the past six years on this website. Thank you for taking the time to write a fair and honest review of your experiences at East Winds Inn and helping to make a difference.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2013

When researching east winds for last year's trip i thought surely nowhere can live up to so many great reviews. My fears were misplaced - it did then and it has done again. This truly is a gem of a place. Don't be put off by the term "all inclusive" either - as i think the manager said somewhere, think of it as bed and breakfast with lunch, evening meal and drinks thrown in. The 12 acres of tropical gardens form an fantastic backdrop for the rooms and restaurant and bars. All are maintained to the highest quality. The location and beach are both exquisite, however it is the staff that make the place what it is - and what i am sure it will continue to be. It really is like one big family - and for the length of your stay - you become a part of this extended family. The ages of the guests varied hugely - but everyone we met seemed to have found the place enchanting. For some the process may take a few days - but eventually the happy east winds vibe seems to be imparted to everyone by some form of holiday osmosis. (It really isn't just the rum punch.)
If anything i felt the food was even better this year than last. Breakfast and lunch are buffet style - with eggs cooked to order in the morning and a BBQ on alternate days for lunch. The range of salads and local cuisine are always fantastic. The evening meal is a 4 course affair - with a choice of fish, meat or veggie for everything bar desert. The quality is fine dining and the service immaculate.
St Lucia is a beautiful island - and there is much to explore - but equally you never have to leave east winds - your choice. The water sports are great - we sailed in the hobie cats everyday - and snorkelled in the sea. The water sports guys will teach you to sail or take you out with them at the helm - again your choice.
The rooms are well appointed - fastidiously clean and the beds big and very comfortable. The bamboo lounge is a treat at anytime of the day - but its open sides and dark wooden bar really come to their own after the evening meal, with a night cap or two.
If you want to relax - are willing to relax and are in need of a holiday - east winds will do the rest. If you are expecting las vegas in the caribbean - with noisy glitz and bling and virtual reality - and a turn down service and no requirement ever to leave your air conditioned bubble - then this isn't the place you're looking for. For everyone else - you may just have found paradise.

Room Tip: we had deluxe rooms 22 and 23 - which were great - i didn't see inside the superior rooms - but people we spoke to said they were also great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank grove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

A SECOND EXCELLENT REVIEW – THANK YOU!

As a Top Contributor on this website, with 50 reviews of which 27 cover hotels, confirming that East Winds “is a gem of a place”, has special meaning. Receiving accolades from experienced travelers is always rewarding, and we thank you very much for taking the time to once again reaffirm your positive feelings about East Winds Inn. The detailed descriptions in your review, punctuated with such well selected superlatives, are most insightful and appreciated – particularly where you sum up the cuisine offerings, suggesting "the quality is fine dining and the service is immaculate." After all, having stayed at over 25 hotels and completing reviews in 25 different cities, it is a fair assessment that you know what you are speaking about.

We are happy you have discovered the intimacies of the Bamboo Lounge, for that is what initially brought us to East Winds as well. Of course, there have been many improvements over the years, but even some of our repeat guests of over 25 times can hardly tell the difference, as it is the atmosphere they are after, not bricks and mortar. The emphasis placed on relaxation is well expressed in your posting, that is what we continually wish to be noted for.

Hopefully, you will return again soon, and join the many throngs of repeat visitors who have finally discovered their own little piece of paradise. We thank you for your enthusiastic and continued support.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from St. Lucia after 2 weeks relaxation in EWI. We have stayed in resorts before where 'Trip Advisors' would lash out 5 stars on the resorts, but our own experiences couldn't match such enthusiasm - something was missing ( eg Galley Bay - Antigua). My wife and I were afraid that this might be the case with EWI, but NO. This is a genuine 5 Star experience (not 5 star hotel it has to be said, but that's irrelevant).
Things to do range from Yoga, table tennis, running track at the top of the resort, watersports such as Hobbie cats, canoes, snorkeling (all free), small very clean swimming pool (cleaned every day)with serve yourself swim up bar.

The chalet layout lends itself to the tranquility of the resort (we stayed in No. 12 2 minutes walk to beach / swimming pool) - semi detached with own verandah, fridge outside the room, very clean and tidy room, large comfortable King size bed, large flat screen tv and DVD player (dvds from reception) , more than enough storage space for clothes. The bathroom has a large stand-in shower area with window screens open to the outside- privacy still very good though., twin sinks and all the soap/ shower gel etc you need, powerful hairdrier that can be used in the bedroom. One downside to no.12 was being woken up by mangoes falling off the nearby tree onto the roof - the first time is the worse!!)

The restaurant is located on the beach accessed via the 2 bars. Breakfast (cereals, fresh fruit, breads, toast, cooked food, fruit juices, teas, coffees), Lunches (buffet food, every other day bar-b-que with choice of fish, meats, kebabs or all three) and evening dinner generally 5 course a-la-carte with many choices. Friday night bar-b-que should not be missed. The food isn't totally outstanding, but is very,very good and is well covered from birds/flys. Other resorts let themselves down here. Afternoon tea served at the pool. The drinks in the bars are mostly premium brands.

Plenty of sunbeds either on the beach or at the pool (our choice was the pool) - no need to put towel out to snatch the location (during our stay, one woman from Scotland religiously did this everday ! - NO NEED!!)

Most of the clientele are/were UK with occasional US/Canadians thrown in. A few were returning again, some again and again.

The staff are generally long term employees, and are very experienced. Miriam, Harry, Wendel, Titus, Elie etc mix well with the guests.

One down side while we were there - mossies !! - The weather varied from very hot/ clear days to very wet/cloudy days, and this would bring about the guests generally discussing each and very new bite(s). Every week the resort would 'fog' the area and each room has a large can of spray to use in the room when leaving for dinner.

Finally, there's Gareth the manager. Never been to a resort before where the manager would be as high profile as Gareth (it was as if he was a guest we saw him so much). He would mingle with the guests and converse easily, his general knowledge would put him onto the final of MasterMind.

We've been to Nisbet Plantation in Nevis, and is very similar to EWI. We have always said we would return to there, but now we would also return to EWI, may be not next year but soon, very soon.

Thanks East Winds, thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GAZBOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

A TRULY WORTH READING REVIEW – THANK YOU

This is a very meaningful review, authored by a Senior Contributor to this board, with 25 hotel reviews in 24 different cities around the world. These types of experienced travelers know what to look for, and are not afraid to speak their minds. So in the case of East Winds Inn, the words have been spoken – this little gem is “Truly Worth 5 Stars in Trip Advisor”. What more could we ask for than that? Even more interesting is the early comment where it is stated that the author had stayed in other five star rated facilities, but for some reason, something was missing. With this trepidation, they entered the confines of East Winds Inn – and as they emphatically stated - “NO – this is a five star experience”.

The review then goes on to cite all of the many reasons that these guests were so satisfied, to the point where they are seriously considering alternating their time with their old favourite haunt in Nevis – which we view as worthy competition. Many staff members are singled out, including Miriam, Harry, Wendel, Titus and Elie. And there are 79 others who have remained unnamed, but no less contributed to the memorable experience of these guests. As for the mosquitos, welcome to the tropics. They are sometimes worse than others, and we do our best to keep the numbers down as you point out. It’s a good thing we have some 35 different species of birds on the property to help keep their numbers in check naturally.

Thanks also for mentioning Gareth Leach, our GM with over 21 years under his belt at East Winds in this capacity. His omnipresent presence clearly made an impression on you, and yes, you are correct, he could easily be a finalist in MasterMind. But don’t tell him that, for fear he might choose a new career in television game shows, giving Sean Connery a run for his money. Gareth has a fetish for old westerns as well, but you’ll have to wait until your next visit to ask him about that – very soon we hope. I guarantee his knowledge of this subject matter will not disappoint you either.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I recently spent the second part of our honeymoon at East Winds in towards the latter part of June 2013.

Before visiting I read some great reviews and was very excited to be staying at such a highly regarded establishment.

I must say the whole stay lived up to my high expectations and I can see why the hotel receives so many repeat customers.

The location is very secluded, with a small and generally quiet and well maintained beach area leading into the Caribbean Sea.

However Rodney Bay, Gros Islet and Castries are only a short taxi ride away.There are also a range of tours to go further afield if you are feeling adventurous.

The rooms are clean and well furnished with decent size bathrooms and great balcony areas (we stayed in one of the sea view rooms), the beds are also very comfortable.

The pool area is clean and tidy and there are always plenty of sun loungers, the swim up help yourself cocktail bar is also fantastic and very well stocked (!)

There is only one restaurant but that is not an issue as the food is exceptional, ample breakfast with cereals, toast, fried breakfast, omelette, pancakes, fruit, yoghurts and most importantly, amazing coffee!

Lunch is a similarly excellent buffet, with the odd BBQ thrown in and in the evenings a 4 course ala carte menu with 4 options for each course.

The quality of the evening meal was fantastic and by far and away the best quality food we have experienced on a break of this type.

There is also a great selection of wines and champagnes and they guys behind the bar (Titus is a legend) will pretty much make you anything you want, including a Hummingbird Cocktail which is a must!

The facilities at East Winds are great and just what you would want from an intimate and relaxing holiday in the Caribbean.

However what makes the stay memorable is this in combination with the staff, they are very genuine without being invasive, they really did strike a great balance between being friendly and attentive and enhanced our already excellent experience.

On the basis of our stay I would strongly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeBoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

SURPASSING EXPECTATIONS IS A GOOD THING – THANKS FOR SAYING SO

We have a lot to live up to at East Winds Inn. Winning major awards on this website for six consecutive years has many benefits, but with it come expectations, which on some occasions, are impossible to live up to. Yet you have so kindly pointed out all the reasons why you felt comfortable in stating that your expectations were even exceeded, and we sincerely thank you for that. “Expectation”, when one thinks about it, is a very subjective term. Different people have differing expectations in many areas of their lives, including what a honeymoon should be like or what a really relaxing holiday is all about. You have clearly set out that notwithstanding your “high” expectations for East Winds based on the overall quality of the reviews we are so pleased to be characterized by, including the facilities, the food and the overall setting, you were more than pleased by all.

However, as so many before you, the primary accolades are directed toward the incredible and devoted team at East Winds Inn, more commonly referred to as the staff. These are the people who made your holiday experience what it was – surpassing your expectations. We can’t speak highly enough about all these special people – all 84 of them – who work tirelessly with only one objective in mind, that being to provide each and every guest the best possible holiday experience that they can imagine. So when you say you would strongly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again in the near future, your comments have an authenticity to them, as it is obvious that you took the time to get to know not only the people of St. Lucia, but more specifically, the staff of East Winds Inn. Yes, Titus is a legend – but beneath it all, he is also a wonderful, sensitive fellow, who would love to see you back again. So would all the staff, whose livelihood and happiness depends on exceeding expectations. Nobody can ask for more than that, and if you allow them as you did, they will deliver. Please do come back soon with great expectations - whatever the dickens that means.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited the East Winds with my wife last October for my 50th birthday.

We arrived on the back of a tropical storm to a wonderful welcome. Room was clean and very comfortable with a lovely sunken shower.

Food was fantastic and we booked a couple of excursions.

Looking back it was the warmth and enthusiasm of the team at East Winds that made the holiday. We have been lucky and travelled, occasionally staying at 5 star hotels in the USA, Maldives Europe and Southern hemisphere. From the first evening we noticed the difference, somehow East Winds just feels honest and authentic with the staff genuinely interested in their guests.

Highlights included a candle light private meal for my birthday and a fascinating tour of the garden with the head gardener on our last day.

Thank you for making our stay so wonderful

Duncan & Liz

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncano14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL REFLECTIONS OF YOUR HOLIDAY AT EAST WINDS INN

We are most appreciative of your kind and thoughtful review of the 50th birthday experience you had at East Winds Inn. The comments you make about the warmth and enthusiasm of the staff, the clean and very comfortable room, the fantastic food and the botanical gardens are so complimentary – thank you for that. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your own private candlelit birthday dinner, as well as your personal guided tour by Sylvanus, our wonderful head gardener. Certainly, the pride of the entire team shone through during your visit.

In the same way you have thanked us for making your stay so wonderful, we too thank you for sharing your experiences so enthusiastically with the travelling public, providing an accurate depiction of what to expect as a guest of East Winds Inn. We hope to welcome you back soon, and given your age, you have a great many more potential visits to the Small Resort with a Big Heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews