We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little place”
Review of Bay Gardens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Gardens Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice little place”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Quiet place, excellent service. Not in front of the sea, but you have access to the Garden Bay Resort's beach front (a 7 min walk or you can take a mini bus to get there - we liked the walk so we never took it). If I go back to Rodney Bay, I'll be back to the Bay Gardens Inn.

And St. Lucia is a really great place to relax!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Hi Marc,

Thank you so much for your excellent review! I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to our beautiful island on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    132
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
55
141
36
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
farnham, surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay with Ramblers and would agree fully with all of the recent reviews. Whilst the hotel is showing its age in some respects it is very clean and tidy with large rooms and good food. Best of all the staff were excellent and responded quickly when any defect was pointed out. The availabilty of the facilities at the two sister hotels was most useful andthe walk to the beah hotel was short enough to ignore the hourly shuttle.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ends ofthe pool ahve a better outlook than those on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I visited Saint Lucia the week of January 13 to 20 and stayed at the Inn. Due to circumstances, I was travelling solo; initially I was a little apprehensive to be on my own in a new country staying at other than all-inclusive resort. I had nothing to be concerned about as my stay at the Inn proved.

The staff at the Inn are friendly, competent, and helpful. From the front-line staff, the room service staff and the bartenders, all made me feel welcome and comfortable. As far as amenities go, the restaurant was not open except for bufett breakfast. The pool isn't deep at 3.5 feet but was a great place for a quick dip to cool off in the afternoon. The Inn has a single computer available for the use of the guests and it's free! As a result I was more connected on this trip than I've been in my visits other island.

The walk to the beach is about 15-20 minutes depending on how quickly you choose to walk, and you'll pass my numerous retaurants and bars on the way to the Bay Gardens Beach Resort. ( I read in a earlier review that the walk is hot and humid - well, yes it certainly can be but isn't that why we go to the Caribbean - for the heat and humidity?) The resort is situated on Reduit Beach, the sand is fine and so soft, and during my stay the water was calm and warm.

I typically spent mornings on the beach, heading back towards the Inn early in the afternoon. Along the way I'd stop at Rituals Coffee for lunch. They serve paninis, wraps, salads, burgers, and so on, along with fresh coffee and chillers (like a 7-Eleven slurpy but better!) The prices were reasonable and the restaurant was located about 1/2 way between the beach and the Inn.
You'll find that food is very pricey here on the island, which makes sense, as they import most everything. I ate at The Big Chef restaurant one evening, a salad, steak and fries with a coffee was $65 US with tip. That was my big splurge night! Most of the places I ate at were within the $30-$35US range for evening meals.

Since I was staying at the Inn I was able to arrange to go on an excursion through the Resort. I chose the Endless Excursion, a catamaran sail to Souffries, visit to Diamond Botanical Gardens, a visit to the Sulfur springs, and a visit to the cocoa bean plantation (Fond Doux). It was a terrific day, I'm a little nervous being on the water but soon overcame any fears, and the places we visited were, in turn, beautiful and interesting.

I'm already planning our next trip to Saint Lucia for next winter. This time we'll look for a place that has a kitchen, possibly the Bay Gardens Hotel. There are two grocery stores within 2 blocks of the Inn and Hotel as well many other shops, banks, and fast food places. Except for the once excurison I still have much to see in Saint Lucia; the Saturday market in Castries, the Friday night jump-up in Rodney Bay, the Friday fish fry, the Gros Pitons, Pigeon Island...is it any wonder I want to go back!

Just an fyi, I transferred from the airport to hotel using the services of Saint Lucia Airport Shuttle. I swear the owner, Janus never sleeps as he responded to e-mails within a few hours. The cost from Hewanorra to the Inn was $70US one way which considering the length of the trip (1.5 hours) and the cost of fuel is very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saskrinkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Bay Gardens Inn. We take pride in our legendary Bay Gardens Service, and I will be sure to share your glowing review with the whole team.

It looks like you had a great first trip to our beautiful island and I hope that you will make the Inn your home away from home for all our future trips to Saint Lucia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from 24.01.2012. with the Ramblers Assocation.The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. The location is good, as it has a free shuttle service to the Bay Gardens beach resort. It only takes 15 minutes to walk there anyway. Used my phone to connect to the hotels wifi. It did disconnect occasionally, but all in all was reasonably reliable. I would definately recommend this hotel. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeBigbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed at the Inn for two weeks during a walking/sightseeing holiday. This was our second visit to St Lucia and to Bay Gardens and the quality of the hotel was an important consideration with regard to visiting the island once again. If you are looking for gloss and glamour then the Bay Gardens Inn is probably not for you. If, on the other hand, you want a small and intimate hotel with cheerful, friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome then this is the place to come. The rooms are spacious, clean and airy, the grounds attractive and well kept. Both the quantity and quality of the food were more than acceptable whilst the opportunity of using the facilities at the nearby sister hotels was an excellent added bonus.

Room Tip: The majority of rooms overlook the pool and gardens - these are the ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words, David. We loved having you and your group stay with us. We hope that you come back to visit your Bay Gardens family very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

An unpretentious small hotel in the centre of Rodney Bay; 15 mins walk or a short trip in the free shuttle bus to the beach. All the rooms - on two floors - are set around a small but useable pool. Our room was large and had all we needed for our stay: it was comfortable rather than luxurious and housekeeping standards were good. The hotel was extremely friendly and welcoming and we valued the quiet, in comparison with the sister hotels in the group. Internet access was iffy at times.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moulton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Visited Bay Gardens Inn with the Ramblers. They were very welcoming, the rooms were clean and well appointed without being 'over the top', and the food was reliably good if sometimes a little un-exiting. The setting is convenient for Rodney Bay and Gros Islet and only a short (and VERY cheap) bus ride into Castries. Access to sister hotels (BG Hotel and BG Resort by the beach) make it a very attractive destination.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face the pool - it's just a question of whether you want direct pool access (g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidaarons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 km away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#4 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,125 reviews
1.0 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
464 reviews
1.0 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,650 reviews
2.6 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Papillon by Rex Resorts
Papillon by Rex Resorts
#5 of 6 in Rodney Bay
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Inn

Property: Bay Gardens Inn
Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy, romantic, 33-room hotel is a tropical paradise that offers all of the pleasures of charming island life. Conveniently located in the island epicenter of Rodney Bay, the Bay Gardens Inn offers spacious modern rooms, each with a private terrace, exquisite Saint Lucian cuisine, and a high standard of service that creates an atmosphere for ultimate relaxation. The Bay Gardens Inn is a paradise for the vacationing family, the ideal spot for a conference retreat, or a romantic escape for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing