We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never had such a wonderful vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chez Marie Alish
Ranked #7 of 14 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never had such a wonderful vacation.”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My fiancé and I were on a 4 week vacation in the Caribbean and did a bit of island hopping. We stayed in St. Lucia for 6 days and never had a better time. We chose Chez Marie because we really wanted to experience the island the Caribbean way and were not at all disappointed. We had such a great time in St. Lucia and all thanks to Castro, his wife and friends.
We have never met such friendly, warm persons ever. Castro showed us around on many occations just to make our stay even more memorable. He even took us walking one morning with him and a group of friends just so that we could see a bit of the area. Exercise for them but a really nice experience for us.
The very, very spacious apartment is conveniently located close to the main road heading to Rodney Bay and Castries.....just about 2 mins walk to the bus stop actually. The kitchenette is fully stocked, and the apartment spick and span. We never once felt unsafe in any way. It was great to just kick back some evenings on our verandah and relax. The grounds are very well kept with loads of local flowers. A little hummingbird might even pay you a visit on the verandah.
For tourists who are really interested in getting out and having a real St. Lucian experience we can't recommend Chez Marie enough.
Thanks so much Castro for such a great time. We look forward to our next stay in St. Lucia and at Chez Marie.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danzie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
26
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My husband and I just returned from St. Lucia and we stayed for a week at Chezmariealish Hotel in Gros Islet. We agree with all of the previous reviewers that
Louis (Castro) Bernardin and wife made all the difference. They are such warm, kind and extremely hospitable. We cannot say enough to show our appreciation for the service that they offered to us. The little bakery next door was convenient. They made very tasty patties. This hotel is in a great location if you want to experience St. Lucia the
"local" way. One can walk to the Friday night street party. Our host Mr. Bernardin kindly
took us there. If you love barbecued fish, ask for directions from Mr. Bernardin. He might even take you there like he did for us. All in all it was a very memorable vacation for us and we would love to go back and stay at Chezmariealish again.

linrabcanada

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linrabCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariealish, Owner at Hotel Chez Marie Alish, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We the owners of hotel chez marie alish in St.Lucia, we are so excited and delighted when our clients are very happy with our services. It is our duty to make our clients happy and comfortable during their stay with us, There is an inner beauty with lies in us that we are able to show to our clients , our laughter and smiles are genuine to our clients.
Mr. Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I stayed here for 5 days and it was absolutely wonderful. The room has a real island feel to it and considering that I come from neighbouring Trinidad I couldn't ask for anything better. There were fresh local fruits in the room, it was squeaky clean and just really comfortable. There was a balcony which allowed me to look out and be wrapped by the soothing Caribbean breeze. The hotel is close to Rodney Bay, walking distance to the Gros Islet Beach and is ideal for taking public transportation to the capital Castries. Mr. Bernadin was a great host and so was his son. So if you are looking for the real St. Lucian experience and a cozy, comfortable home away from home then stay at the Chez Marie Alish.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetestTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed from April 5 thru April 12th, 2010 at the Chez Marie Alish Apartments. The accommodations were squeaky clean and felt very cozy and comfortable right away. The room is tastefully decorated and had all the necessities that I was looking for. Mr. Louis ( Castro) went above and beyond to answer all the questions I had before my arrival and was most helpful during my stay. I had a grand time, yes, there is the practice of the steel drum orchestra and enjoyed it sitting on the balcony sipping on a drink watching hummingbirds and little black and bright yellow birds right on the palmtree just a few yards away. I felt very safe with the way it is set up - downstairs door and roomdoor. I can highly recommend this place for those who want to experience the REAL St. Lucia without the hotel buffets that cater to the tourist with the food. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s2kzoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

These are nice studio apartments on a bus route where local buses pass every few minutes. A reasonable walk to the beach and close to a number of good local restaurants. The bakery right next door had many good local treats and the fruit/veg stand across the street was handy.

There is some noise from the steel band place across the street but we enjoyed it. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. We'd stay again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Travel_G0ddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oBston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Nice studio apt. with little bit too much street noise, but well located to explore Gros Inlet. 5 blocks to the beach, little bakery next door.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0st0nW0rldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We stayed at Chez Marie apartments for 3 weeks. The rooms are lovely and extremely clean and tidy with a really nice view. The location is perfect if you want to experience the 'real' st lucia - 5 minute walk from a beautiful beach and the centre of Gros Islet village. Street party every friday at the end of the road (far enough away not to be bothered by it if you don't want to go though) with local food, music and dancing. Transport is great - bus passes every 5 minutes. The owners make you feel extremely welcome and will do anything to help you out and look out for you. We had a fantastic time staying here and fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.0 km away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#8 of 12 in Castries
76 reviews
0.0 km away
Stephanie's Hotel
Stephanie's Hotel
#11 of 13 in Gros Islet
32 reviews
0.0 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Villa Cleopatra
Villa Cleopatra
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
24 reviews
0.0 km away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
251 reviews
0.0 km away
Habitat Terrace
Habitat Terrace
#4 of 14 in Gros Islet
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Marie Alish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Marie Alish

Property: Hotel Chez Marie Alish
Address: Massade, Rodney Bay, Gros Islet 1758, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chez Marie Alish 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel chez Marie Alish is intimate, situated in a lushly landscaped setting, with its seven commodious self-catering apartments, complete with the latest amenities, including full kitchen,air condtion, private bath & balcony, telephone, remote cable tv (43 chanels) micro wave oven, electronic safety boxes, iron and ironing board, & coffee maker. Hotel Chez Marie Alish is enchanting, & comfortable, caressed by a gentle steady east wind breezes, with a spectacular vista of the mountains which lie to her south. Our modern and tastefully decorated apartments offer an ideal base from which to explore St. Lucia's unspoilt beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Chez Marie Alish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chez Marie Alish St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing