We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Easy and Just the Right Size” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Easy and Just the Right Size”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I spent 8 days at the beginning of March in an ocean view suite (Bldg 9). The ocean view is definitely worth it. Not sure I would have liked not having an ocean or pool view. Everyone at this smallish resort is absolutely wonderful. Everything was clean, friendly and just plain easy. Hotel restaurants are good and there are many that are within walking distance so you have a complete variety. The beach is clean and is a perfect place for a long swim (note, the other hotels on this beach, Reduit Beach, look a bit worse for wear but the BGBR is in perfect condition). The charming fruit boat brings you delicious fruit right to the beach and there is a watersport concession that is part of the hotel that will arrange trips and water taxis. Oh, and Miss Mary's bar at the end of the beach has great spiced rum! If you want something-just ask and the hotel staff will know how to get it for you! We especially liked the size and location (and of course the great staff). We had considered an all-inclusive but when we compared the prices this couldn't be beat and we actually had more choices with the restaurants on site and just down the road (all within walking distance). Some folks we met who were staying at all-inclusive resorts complained that their rooms were a hike away from the beach. At BGBR you are just a few steps away! Also, never had a car and didn't miss it.

The hotel has two restaurants, Trios is more upscale and was totally charming. The chef, Beverly, gave us her sweet potato and soup recipes which were a total hit at our recent dinner party. When we asked what one of the vegetables looked like (breadfruit) the server brought one out to our table! Ate at Trios twice and at the outdoor restaurant twice when they had buffets. The other restaurant that was a highlight was La Terrasse, a French Restaurant in town. Make sure you try it.

We have not been to many of the islands but compared to where we've been, including Mexico, St. Lucia stands out for its beauty and really, really nice people. Everyone you meet is friendly and easygoing. Sundays on the beach are especially fun to watch the families and young people relaxing and having a good time. Also, don't miss the Friday Night "Jump Up" in Gross Islet (staff will explain it). It was so much fun and great to see everyone just enjoying themselves. Would have no hesitation to go back to this island and this resort. (By the way, they are part of a vacation club(timeshare) but absolutely are not pushy about it. See Jackie if you are interested. We approached her about it and after thinking that it was not for us she was totally gracious and not overly pushy.

The airport is a long way away (1.5hours)and our taxi picked us up way too early (Barefoot Vacations which we booked online was a bit annoying) but we took a 2 minute cab ride from the airport to an amazing beach where we spent our last couple of hours watching windsurfers etc... and enjoying one last Piton beer! The taxi picked us up and we were off. The end of a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Building 9 was ideal. Strongly suggest an ocean view as the view is fantastic. Families seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    578
    88
    27
    19
See reviews for
499
919
54
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We went for a week mid March, staying in a beach front appartment. This comprised of a large ensuite with his and hers sinks, shower over bath and loo. The shower was fine, warm and powerful enough, but it was originally a multi jet shower but the jets were not working. The bedroom was big, with beach views. There was also a spacious open plan sitting room with well kitted out kitchen, and a guest toilet room off. The balcony had a beach view too. The appartment was spotlessly clean and in good condition. Wifi is available free in all the shared areas such as pool side, lobby and restaurant/bar. The rooms have Network points and we borrowed the cable as we forgot ours. However, we could pick up wifi from the shared areas from our balcony.

Room Tip: Avoid north facing rooms. Beach and pool view rooms all have nice views. Entertainment is kept at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkshireLouloubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It was our 1st time to st Lucia and we were very impressed! We stayed 8 days at the Bay Garderns Beach resort,ocean front a deluxe suite. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had 2 balconies and the view was amazing.The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. Even the "locals" that sold various items on the beach were so friendly and welcoming. Pro, one of the activity directors always went the 'extra mile' making sure we were comfortable. We have been to many other islands in the Carribean and would definitley return to St Lucia and stay at Bay Gardens Beach resort again..

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugapugor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We just returned from a 2 week vacation at the lovely Bay Gardens Beach Resort. We cannot say enough about the service and friendly staff from concierge employees Nat and Jackie who had coffee for us every morning, to Wilbert and Wayne in security, Richard and Darryl (Pro) in guest activities, to Beverly-Anne the chef at the delicious Trios restaurant (a must to try), who prepared fresh fish that my husband caught on a deep sea fishing trip.We had considered upgrading to a suite, but we found our room to have plenty of space with a king size bed, large washroom, and a great view of the pool and sea. The location of the resort was perfect. It is walking distance to a variety of restaurants (both high end and fast food), 2 grocery stores and shops along the way. The resort is right on a beautiful beach with plenty of chairs for everyone. The only semi negative is that there was not enough umbrella's provided for shade on the beach. The resort if extremely well kept and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have been to a number of Caribbean islands, and so far have liked St Lucia the best. Much of that had to do with the great location in Gros Islet. In a somewhat secluded end of the beach, but a short walk to downtown. The resort was very nice. Beautiful layout, friendly staff, nice activities, and great beach. They did a great job!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent February 9 - 24 at Bay Gardens Beach Resort all we can say is that we will be back.
If you get car sick be prepared for the hour plus ride from the airport on windy roads. Quaint hotel, friendly accommodating staff, centrally located and a great beach.
Richard gave us the Wow service with tours, anywhere from going to the Jump Up party, Pigeon Island, Independence Day parade in Castries and friendly conversation. Alot of laughs with Jackie, Nat and Kennith. Check out the "Happy Hour" from 5:30pm - 6:30pm every night for 2 for 1 drinks except on Wednesdays when they have a "Manager's" party and alot of complimentary Rum Punch is served. A great way to meet the staff and other guests. We enjoyed the food at Hi-Tide restaurant and ate there a few times for breakfast and also supper. The food/entertainment during the Carribean night on the beach and Independence Day celebrations were our favourites. The hotels is within walking distance of a great selection of restaurants and you will feel safe walking around in the evening. Even the locals will setup a BBQ on the beach during the day and make sure you see "Auntie Jeannie" (red canopy) she serves fish and chicken.
There is a hotel shuttle that will take you to Bay Gardens Hotel & Inn and across the street is the local bus that you can take if you want to go to Castries for $1.00 US each way.
The people in St. Lucia really extend their hospitality and as world travellers we normally experience new destinations, but in this case we can't wait to return and spend our tourism dollars here.
Like they say "No Pressure, No Problem"

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor pool view corner room in the 600 block which we enjoyed and would request a 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dive_travel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We just got back from St. Lucia after spending 5 days at BGBR. Where I would rate the hotel as nice, I would rate the overall experience as outstanding. I had not been to St. Lucia before and could not believe how friendly and helpful the staff and locals were. Everyone went out of their way to make sure that you were accommodated in every way. To mention a few, the very attentive bar tenders (Ali and Elran) and the concierge (Jackie) made our stay a great experience. What I appreciated most about this hotel is the location, which is perfect. The beach has clear, calm, warm water and the pool is also perfectly refreshing, being neither too warm nor cold. Most of the local attractions bars, restaurants, shopping etc. are within walking distance. There is also a free shuttle bus which takes you to the fabulous Friday night street party, which is not to be missed. Also highly recommended right next door to the hotel, Saluna Watersports Land and Sea tour. This is a great way to see this beautiful island, mostly via speedboat and is a rocking good time with the crew (Daniel and Johnson) not to mention the pretty much unlimited rum punch. Also included on the tour is a trip to the mud baths, mineral falls and snorkeling. We have been to many places and expected to like St. Lucia, but were not prepared to be blown away. It was well worth the 7 hours of flight time and hour and half ride from the airport. We tend to like to travel to new places rather than make repeat visits, but this is one place I will be seeing again. The people of St. Lucia must be experienced to be believed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baygardensresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bay Gardens Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We know that our team is always hard at work to ensure that guests have the best vacation possible and we are pleased to know that we were able to achieve our usual high standard of service.

Saint Lucia is a beautiful island and I hope that you will be back very soon to experience more of what our "Helen of the West" has to offer, and that you will once again choose the Bay Gardens Beach Resort & Spa as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
4.5 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
37.3 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
1.4 km away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Property: Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing