We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Chez Marie Alish(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Gardens Inn(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

blu St Lucia(Gros Islet)
US$274
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ginger Lily Hotel(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Habitat Terrace(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Breeze Guest House(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
US$1,065
US$609
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$737
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Winds(Gros Islet)
US$610
US$475
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,310)
Filter reviews
2,310 results
Traveller rating
1,412
710
123
38
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,412
710
123
38
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi tiderodney baysea grapesst luciasplash islandpigeon islandbeach frontone bedroom suiterestaurants within walking distancebig chefpool viewsecurity stafffull kitchenrotitime sharerum punchbeach vendors
Filter
Updating list...
2,080 - 2,085 of 2,310 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We'd never been to St. Lucia before and were very much looking forward to the experience. After an hour and a half drive from the airport (not 45-50 minutes as the hotel tells you), we arrived at the hotel. We checked in and immediately hit the pool which which was very nice and super quiet.
That evening, we popped into Dolphins, one of the restaurants on the property.
The food was absolutely horrible. And more than likely came from a box or a frozen bag. We ordered Pizza (dreadful), hot dogs (smothered in some type of crud), Mahi Mahi (which was undercooked and didn't taste like fish), and ended up leaving most of the food behind.
Next morning (on Sunday), we decided to venture over to the all inclusive breakfast.
On our way over, my 2 year old slipped in a pile of vomit in the hallway left over from a wedding party the night before. After cleaning the vomit off of her, we were back on our way.
We get to the beach front restaurant which was crawling with flies and the staff couldn't have been less accomodating. Our 2 children (2 and 4) were running around because they were excited. Now mind you there was NO ONE in the restaurant. After getting back to our room, we received a call from reception reprimanding us for their behavior? Say what? At that point, we were done and ready to change hotels. What actually stopped us from doing that is the uncertainty of knowing where else to go, having spotty internet service and deciding that sticking it out it might get better.
It did...a little. The breakfast food improved a little but like I stated here above, the staff generally speaking were mostly apathetic to unresponsive to downright rude.
Interestingly enough, the other folks we met on the island exhibted similar behavior which I thought was sort of strange.
The rooms in the hotel are nice and spacious and pretty basic.
For $250.00 a night I expected more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VacationsWithFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We went St Lucia for our honeymoon and stayed at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort in March 2010. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Olive who was on reception. She gave us cool towels as the humidity can be really overwhelming. We had a quick chat then we were escorted to our room by the porter who carried our cases. The room was just lovely, there was champagne and fruit there for us. It had a gorgeous bathroom and 2 double beds, also excellent air conditioning. Our patio doors opened right out to pool area/garden, it was beautifully lit with lots of palm trees and gorgeous flowers. If you going with children they have a fantastic DJ who organises games with the kids, also plays bingo where which we had such a laugh completely different from what you would expect. All the reception (Olive, Nal and Jackie.) and restaurant staff are fantastic always full of smiles, and are more than happy to help in any situation. They always had time for a chat and made you feel like you were old friends rather than a tourist. I must mention Mrs Parl, she is the hotel manager and such a lovely lady who does her best to look after everyone and she does do an excellent job even took the time to keep reminding me to put more suncream on. The nightlife at the hotel was also superb and every night was different, ranging from bands to beach bar-b-q, fire eating and limbo dancers and Mrs Parls rum punch party night.. This was our 2nd time in St Lucia and unfortunately didnt stay at the Bay Gardens the 1st time but would never stay anywhere else but the Bay Gardens if i am lucky enough to return. They have gave us memories of our honeymoon that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon-Wallsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2010

After watching this season of the Bachelor, naturally I looked into St. Lucia for my vacation. I came across Bay Gardens Beach resort, decided to book it, and glad I did. The place was awesome. The staff was very friendly, the grounds were very well kept, and it just made our time in St. Lucia all the better. The food at the HI-Tide restaurant was great. We ate there for most breakfast's and lunches, did one buffet dinner, but then did all others dinners off the property. Everyday we took advantage of the 2 4 1 Happy hour special, while watching the sunset on the beach. It was amazing. The vendors on the beach were fine, hopefully you come across a guy that goes by the name Bob Marley. He's a hoot. WE had massages in the spa, and this was definitely worth it. They typically run specials during the week (we got buy 1 get one free). It was awesome. The pool was so big, enough space that when all the kids were playing gin the pool, we just hung out on the other side of it. No need to rent a car if you stay here. You can walk to the grocery store, which we did, and then to all restaurants near by. We did a lot on the island, so say many other hotels, and although they were beautiful and looked appealing, we were very happy with our stay at the Bay Gardens. We were EXTREMELY happy here, and I'm sure you will be too. This whole island is just amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiNYC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2010

we just got back from st. lucia & the BGBR was wonderful. we stayed in a beachfront deluxe room on the quiet end , towards rodney bay marina inlet. over looked reduit beach with a breathtaking sunset every night. everyone was so friendly & the service was great , they couldn't do enough for us. we will be back. don't be afraid to drive, get out & see the island & support the locals.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed at BGBR late Feb/March. St Lucia is lovely , well worth a visit. Hotel...... really 3 star masquerading as 4 star, but not quite making it. Our 1st room was up to the standared of delux which we had booked and payed for, unfortunatly we had to request a move as it was on the 3rd floor (no elevator) and due to health issues was unsutible (not the hotels fault). It was nearly a week before we could move into very inferior accomadation on the ground floor, certainly not up to the standared 4 star that we have come to expect as seasoned Carribean travellers. It is unexceptable for rooms to be un serviced at 5 or 6pm. This happened on several occations, we would have to vacate our room while it was cleaned (to a high standard it must be said) but not what you would expect when you just want to relax and unwind after a hot day out, and before the evening foray. The hotel was nicely appointed throughout the public areas and the grounds are lovely. It was all beautifly kept and very clean. However there was a distinct lack of atmostphere, one bar didn't open the duration of our stay, the other was closed up by 10.30pm. Majority of reception staff appeared to be inexperienced, however the restaurant and bar staff were excellent. Entertainment was also extreamly good and varied, just not enough residents using the public areas to appreicate the artists efforts. It seemed that the self catering guests were uninterested in the hotel facilitys and it showed, they were visiting the local supermarket and not using or spending their money in the hotel. Not good for buisness! The will is there but the way hasn't been achieved. BGBR has the position and facilitys to be an excellent 4 star hotel, but it needs alot more thought and effort to achieve this goal.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hooli48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews