We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$390
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$894
US$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$466/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$120
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jade Mountain Resort(Soufriere)
US$1,973
US$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,559)
Filter reviews
1,559 results
Traveller rating
1,160
246
88
40
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
246
88
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscane barbayside restaurantgreat roomgrand luxury villasushirainforest spabutler servicesugar beachour honeymoonplunge poolst luciabeachfront bungalowbeach barviceroy resortdinner reservationsservice chargemeal plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,375 - 1,380 of 1,559 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The refurbishment of this hotel has been done exceptionally well without losing the charm of the old La Jalousie. Stayed in a cottage which has been kitted out with great flair and taste; loved the amazing bathroom with double showers! Great to have your own - albeit small - pool.

The food is really very good especially in the Great Room. Only quibbles are that the service in the breakfast buffet is erratic; this is one area where with the volume of people being serviced they should allocate waiting staff to specific tables, rather than letting it be a free for all. It means that you might have to ask 2 or 3 staff for something before it is delivered. I felt that the self service buffet was a little limited and the coffee was terrible! The beach staff could also do with being a little more on the ball; beach loungers which had been vacated were often left with towels and empty glasses all afternoon which makes for a messy looking beach [as well as being off-putting to look at].

Other than that we found the service to be very good and loved our spa treatments.

We really hope to return here.

Room Tip: Ask for a heated pool if you are fussy - not all are. Ask to be situated away from the road [can get noisy with construction traffic passing by].
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Good day,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are glad that on the whole you enjoyed the resort and your accommodation and that you appreciated the changes that have been made to the property without losing the essence of this beautiful location.
The staff in the Great Room restaurant will be pleased with your comments and I am delighted to be able to share your views with them.
Regarding your concerns about the service on the beach and in the Terrace restaurant, we are continuing to review our service standards in those areas to ensure that the best possible service is provided. Our training efforts are on-going and we hope they will yield positive results and real improvements.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to your return visit to share firsthand the changes made in light of your concerns.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The £60M spent on transforming the previously "shabby chique" Jalousie Plantation into the Sugar Beach Resort has resulted in truely amazing place. The upgrade has been executed very tastefully, everything is clean, crisp and functional and of a high quality. Staff selection and training has clearly been rigerous and you get an occasional glimpse quality assurance proceedures which support the very high service standards. Our sole caviate is that this is now very definately an American style resort which, were it not for the Pitons, could be located in almost any tropical country.

We were allocated Sugar Mill Room 7 with which we were delighted. It provided a good sized garden with resident humming birds, reasionable privacy and a small but welcome plunge pool . In addition to the accomodation amenities which you would expect in a resort of this price and rating, there were many unexpected features including a large roof top deck with day bed, table and chairs plus very comfortable sun loungers, a clawfoot bath just outside the bathroom plus a dimmer on one of the bathroom lights in case you needed to pay a visit during the night.
The butler service was usefull and helpfull without being intrusive.
One tip - Local beer, water and some soft drinks from the minibar are complimentary. Do not stock up prior to arrival, as we did.

On the food front, the breakfasts, in the words of a now deceased food critric, were historic, do try the blueberry french toast with baked banana.
The quality of food and service in the Great Room could only be described as GREAT.
The Bayside restaurant was only average. We like our vegetables "al dente" but when the chef visited our table, he was unble to bite into them.

As you would expect, the pool and famous beach are both lovely and the people density is low. We never had a problem finding a sun lounger.

We have many happy memories fron this holiday including such enexpected experiences as watching Mama Mia on a cinema screen on the beach in the warm evening air with a full moon
overhead.

There is very little to criticise about this resort. Constructive suggestions are:
Recognise that American corporate events can be noisy and intrusive.
Add a firm pillow to the pillow menu. (Hence loss of one point on sleep quality).
Get some quieter leaf blowers or do not use them in the spa area outside room 7 at 07.30 in the morning.

Room Tip: Unless you have real need for a villa, seriously consider the Sugar Mill Rooms. They are in a lovely setting and conveniently located for restaurants, pool and beach. The beachfront villas lack privacy and the other villas can be a long way from amenities and are up a steep hill. We had Sugar Mill 7 - please see above for more details.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cedric324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Good day,

Thank you for your encouraging comments and feedback about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We are happy to hear that you are impressed with the changes that we have made to the resort. Many of our guests share your opinion.

Our aim is to deliver the best possible service to our guests and we are glad that you fully enjoyed your accommodation along with everything else we offered. The staff will be pleased with your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your business, comments and recommendations.

Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Well where do I start, the most beautiful and wonderful place I've experienced. Staff so helpful, friendly and willing to offer advice / ideas for places to visit / see. Was only there briefly for work, but felt very relaxed and came away feeling I'd been there a lot longer. Spa was amazing, and again the staff were discreet and friendly.
I stayed in a Butler suite, 318 which was so clean, beautifully decorated with personal touchs like rose petals on the bed, a snack left out for me as we arrived so late.
The location is perfect and food was amazing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Good day,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for providing your feedback.
We certainly agree with you that our location is world class and we work hard to ensure that the service we offer compliments the stunning views.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort at some point in the future, next time for a longer vacation stay.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great resort, , villas beautiful, clean , well maintained. Visitors need to be aware there is a butler service , you contact them to arrange everything, I found this a little intimidating but ours did a very good job and I got used to it. The other thing to be aware of is the shuttle service, it is very convenient, run by beautifully friendly people , who are an asset to the resort, but unless you are in the garden rooms or the beach bungalows, you need to travel in a shuttle to get everywhere, this does make things less spontaneous. We are big walkers but to get to some of the villas ,it is not only a long , very steep walk, but quite dangerous so we didn't do it.
The hotel is situated in a beautiful venue between the pitons, the dive centre is fab, really relaxed but very well organised with good kit. There are two restaurants, The Great Room which does do fantastic food and a beach restaurant, the difficulty is getting a reservation when you want one, its a bit like the towel on the sun lounger syndrome, its impossible to get a reservation at 7.30 , my partner took it on as a challenge trying a variety of techniques,but in the end we gave up and either ate early and faced the rampaging kids or left it later and tried not to doze off. The service in the beach cafe was quite variable, some times you were waiting 40 minutes + just to get a menu, but if you told them you needed to eat ( a sandwich) in less than an hour , they took on the challenge and delivered !!
Fresh fish was outstanding only, criticism is we would have liked expresso coffee which was not 'nespresso' I would have thought they could have had a proper machine to service the restaurants.
One down side for us was the lack of early evening gathering spots, if you have to have an 8.30 reservation it would be nice to have somewhere to go, both the bars were always empty all through the evening. The cane bar is soulless, someone has seen fit to put in floor to ceiling net curtains ( I am probably doing them a disservice) suffice to say , you could have been in a basement, the curtains completely concealed the view.
Breakfasts were entertaining, again a bit congested at peak times , the way some people spoke to the staff made me cringe.The continental buffet was a bit primitive but the a la carte breakfast menu highly sophisticated , I feel they could get more people through quicker if they added an egg cooking facility offering omelettes etc as part of the buffet , I don't think it would detract from the experience.
The biggest problem was the number of children, I understood why when I saw the tariffs, the hotel offers big discounts for children up to 17, so we would only go again out of school holidays.
Go all inclusive , house wines were pretty good.
Staff fantastic, especially Fabian, Alex, Mossiah, Richie ( Troy! ) all the shuttle drivers were a joy, cheerful, chatty and helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the sugar mill rooms to avoid the shuttle.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zeus_Faber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Good day,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Comments such as yours allow us to fine-tune the services we offer and to continually improve our guest experiences.
I am sorry that you appear to have had challenges booking your desired dining time at the Great Room restaurant. Your comments are highly unusual and it is extremely rare that we are unable to accommodate our guests at the times they request.
I would also like to apologize for the inconsistencies that you experienced with the beach service. We are continuing our training efforts to ensure that there is not a repeat of what you have described and that we can see tenable improvements on the beach and in our restaurants as well.
It so happens that your stay coincided with spring break which means we had a larger number of children than usual at the resort. I would like to apologize if this negatively impacted your stay in any way. I am surprised and sorry to hear that you were not made aware of the early evening gathering spots on resort. The Palm Court Lounge is open from 3pm until 11pm and is the perfect place for afternoon tea or early cocktails. The Bayside bar is open from 7am until 11pm and is a great place to watch the sunset, especially on a Monday when we have our sundown social event. There is also the Cane Bar, but we find most of our guests prefer the open air ambience of the other venues before dinner and then usually visit the Cane Bar for an after dinner drink. Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, a Viceroy Resort in the not too distant future..
Regards,


André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This resort is worth every penny. The service is impeccable, the food is the best I have ever had, and you cannot beat the scenery nestled in between the Pitons.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Butler Suites, since they were remodeling the pool area when we went. Our room had an infinity pool, the comfiest bed I have ever spent in , and a claw foot tub. It was very upscale.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowgurl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Good day,
Thank you for posting your overwhelmingly positive comments on TripAdvisor.
We are always happy to hear when our guests are pleased with our high level of service and quality offerings in all areas. We are also pleased to know that you appreciated the room upgrade and that you really enjoyed our amenities. The team will be delighted with your comments.
Once again, thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Regards,


André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews