We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,194)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveller rating
1,656
320
126
54
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,656
320
126
54
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cane bar great room bayside restaurant sugar beach sugar mill grand luxury villa sushi rainforest spa butler service plunge pool st lucia beachfront bungalow our honeymoon beach bar dinner reservations sunset cruise meal plan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,699 - 1,704 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of May celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a spectacular setting, and we had a villa up in the rain forest which was luxurious, and peaceful. The rooms in the five hundreds seem to benefit from good sea and beach views and the mountains as well.

The staff here are without exception quite outstanding. They learn your names very quickly and service is always good in our experience.

The only slight drawback is the that you have to call for transport to go anywhere on the resort if you are staying in the hills. However a call to your butler brings a tuk tuk to your door in no time. (They do have other buggies that are not as good, but it all seems to work efficiently)

The beach side restaurant is beautifully set and the quality of the food is good as well. Good for lunch or dinner. We had dinner on the terrace a couple of times as wee, and whilst this is a bit more formal the food and service is again very good.

The hotel has a good gym and tennis courts with a residents coach.

You can also snorkel on a beautiful coral cove just off the main beach, and the fish are just amazing.

There is also a suspended walkway through the rain forest which is nice, if a little on the short side.

The rain forest spa is also very good. We had a couple of massages in the beautiful wooden cabins up in the ran forest. Whilst this is fairly pricey, it is a lovely experience.

Will definitely return

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marlowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Sugar Beach, experience on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you made Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort the destination to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary.
I understand your comment about having to call the shuttle to get from one point to the other. Like you rightfully said, the shuttles are very quick and efficient and guests usually do not wait any more than five minutes for a ride. We are glad that you enjoyed all our services and facilities.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome be back in the not too distant future.
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was our first trip to St. Lucia and we are already planning for a return stay at Sugar Beach in a few years! Everything about this resort was perfect, but just a few highlights:

-Most people seem to get upgraded to a large villa. We stayed for 10 nights in the 800's area. The bed, large bathroom, living room, outdoor space- all were large and beyond our needs.

-The location is the best on the entire island- smack between the pitons and lots of great fine dining nearby.

-We were glad we did not do all inclusive. The food on property is a bit expensive, but so are nearby resort restaurants. All were delicious and worth it- and we love good food. There is a lot of delicious seafood, but also pasta, sushi, steaks. Whatever you want! They staff are all friendly and accommodating.

-The beach was great: fantastic snorkeling at the beach , lots of free water sports, and they'll arrange excursions and dives.

-The butler service: You may think you won't use it, but they will make reservations and really help you with any and everything. We forgot a few items and our guys were right on it.

We don't really have a single negative- only that we had to leave. It was paradise. People who complain about shuttles or expense have negative dispositions. The shuttles were fun and if you talk to the drivers, they are happy to share St Lucian culture and history. Yes, it is a bit expensive, but worth every dollar!

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndseyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your honeymoon stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
I am very pleased to know that you truly enjoyed everything that we offered and that our butlers did an exceptional job serving you.
We strongly believe in creating experiences to last a lifetime, for all the right reasons. We are glad this was the case for you.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments and business. We are looking forward to your return visit, perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Wow! When we went the spa was getting done in the tree tops and the upgrade to the better 'villas/rooms' is TOTALLY worth it!
The views from the suites where spectacular, at night you could sit in your infinity pool and watch the glow bugs flying around and listen to the abundance of wildlife moving about. There was a big outdoor private area with your own shower overlooking the Pitons!

The rooms/suites are set quite far back up high from the beach and restaurant but you just call a shuttle when you're ready to go down or back and they come and get you.
Food: a few options to choose from but everyone was amazing, the ice bar is good fun and serve snacks there too!

Trips from the beach: we saw a whale with one if the guys on the beach who took us out, loads cheaper, little less luxury but much more fun as they went where they liked looking for the whales and talking to their fisherman friends to locate them, amazing, it was only the two of us!
I wasn't very familiar with whales in St.Lucia but they're there!!

The resort is very well located with all activities/ site seeing near by, there are amazing little birds everywhere.

The saddest thing is, the highlight of the holiday was the room upgrade, it really was spectacular, you don't spend much time in your room I know, but you would here, well, the outdoor space anyway...!
It's gone up in price since we went but it's worth it especially what they have done to it now!!!
Enjoy!

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LauraB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
Based on what you have described, you had an exciting time at Sugar Beach. We are always happy when our guests have positive experiences that they can share with others.
All of our facilities, including our accommodations, are at the same very high standard. We are happy that you appreciated the room upgrade we were able to extend.
Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and business. We hope to welcome you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort really soon.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Amazing Hotel! Great food, drinks and the rooms are amazing. I was here with a group of about 90 and everyone said one of the best places they have ever been. Staff is hard working and everyone is super nice! The Jerk Chicken special was amazing. Recommend for anyone that truly wants to relax.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davismm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort as part of a larger group.

We are thrilled with your comments. It is our aim to ensure we provide memorable experiences to our guests and all the special touches to make each vacation relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you for your glowing comments about our team members and also the jerk chicken you had. I know our culinary team will be delighted.

Once again, thank you for your comments and business, and for recommending Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to family and friends.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is the best hotel in the area. It has a lovely beach and as close as possible to the Pitons. Visited Jade Mountain which was lovely too but not much of a beach and Ladera which has a rustic look. These two other hotels were further away from the Pitons although with nice views of the Pitons. Guests in Ladera have access to Sugar beach resorts beach.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rubiaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Good day,
Thank you for your comments about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are happy to know that we are highly favoured by you when compared to the other resorts and hotels in the area.
We try our utmost to ensure that we offer the best service and products to our guests.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and business. We are looking forward to your return visit in the near future.
Regards,

André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews