We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”
Review of Bamboo Restaurant

Bamboo Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Bamboo Restaurant at Fond Doux Plantation & Resort in St. Lucia offers up sumptuous Caribbean and international cuisine in beautiful, tropical environs. The restaurant offers a la carte lunch and dinner dining. Set amidst the lush gardens of the resort, diners can enjoy the truly magical ambiance of a tropical setting.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Went here for the tour and possibly lunch. Decided just to have lunch as the tour/lunch package seemed overpriced and we'd done other tours. Food was good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank stegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Extremely pleased that you enjoyed having lunch at the Jardin Cacao Restaurant and Bar

Best Regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    61
    31
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Mpls Suburb
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb dinner”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

One of the best dinners we had while on the island! Staff was friendly and courteous. Price point unlike most of the resorts was in line. Great ambiance!

Helpful?
1 Thank LaLa_in_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your dining experience at Jardin Cacao Restaurant and Bar. The team is overwhelmed with joy, thank you!

Best Regards
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome to a perfect rainforest hideaway.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

At the entrance meet with Mr. Lamontagne who greeted me and my guest, with a warm " Jean la Kai" or family friend welcome to his paradise escape. The food and service as great and warm as the first welcome, not over shadowing the picturesque beauty of the hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tcgaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Owner at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
At Fond Doux holiday Plantation we ensure that our guest are taken care of and do everything in our power to make them feel at home.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal at the Jardin Cacao Restaurant.
We really appreciate your review. Thanks so much!!


Best Regards,
Eroline & Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Treat you senses . . . .”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Rich in nature, culture and history, dining at this upscale restaurant tantalizes your senses and is so worry free. It is nestled in a beautiful open garden setting, comfortably enclosed Caribbean style and arrayed with spectacular tropical greenery and floral foliage that gently sway in the soothing breeze of fresh air. The staff welcomes you, offers excellent/pleasant service, knows the menu and can help you make a good adventurous choice from their extensive menu of local, exotic and traditional foods, wines and cocktails. With prompt service, from the appetizers, the entrées, or desserts, the chef does not disappoint--superb taste and exquisite presentation! I dinned in a company of 4 and we each ordered different things, but we each couldn't stop eyeing and admiring the other's plate for a sample. Everything looked good and was so delicious! The atmosphere was quiet and stylish yet relaxing. The romantic evening of the couple next to us was capped off with a toast and the staff singing "Happy Birthday" to the lady over a dainty cupcake with a candle, which I thought was a nice gesture. All in all this was really a memorable experience worth repeating again and again when in St. Lucia.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AletaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Very Good Meal”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Pros
- Your meal starts with warm buttery garlic bread.  Appetizers were delicious - crab app was nicely seasoned, conch & octopus sous Kaye was crazy good & I didn't even know what I was ordering but decided to be adventurous. The main courses were great also - I definitely recommend the ribs, the fish was expertly prepared - get the creole style.
- We can't comment on dessert because we were rushing to have the magnificent piton at hotel chocolat! 
- Staff was super nice and accommodating and they even have their own pair of cats - say hi to Socks for me! - to make sure their guests are well taken care of. 

Cons - it's an open restaurant and while I wasn't bothered by mosquitoes at all, my dinner date had on aftershave that attracted them to his face - definitely don't wear perfumes while visiting!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adambikenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonddoux, Manager at Bamboo Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal.

On behalf of the entire team we look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Eroline/Lyton Lamontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Restaurant also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Bamboo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing