We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at the Belair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
East Northport, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience at the Belair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week stay at the Belair Beach Hotel in Little Bay. The staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our apartment was spacious with two bedrooms and a fantastic view of Little Bay (every place at the Belair has a view of Little Bay). The furnishings were comfortable, although a little dated. The apartment was immaculately kept by the housekeeping staff. With all of the sand that we trekked in after the beach each day, they were miracle workers! We both agreed that we would absolutely trade dated furnishings for this incredible location. We always felt safe and secure as there was security not only at the entrance gate, but also further down in the parking lot. Little Bay is a beautiful, quiet beach but is only a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk into Philipsburg.

The Gingerbread Cafe, the restaurant/bar on site had delicious food and a great drink selection. Rufus and Dewayne, the bartenders were so friendly. Jody's Place, the store on site also had everything that you could possibly need if you forgot to pack something. And if they don't, there is a Grande Marche supermarket right down the road. A special note: Jody was so kind to take pictures of each guest at the hotel BBQ (where there was live entertainment and a wine and cheese reception as well) and print them as a souvenir. It was a really nice touch!

Lorna, who works at the activities desk was a joy! She helped us to navigate our way around the island. She recommended some fabulous places to eat and guided us to make the right choices as far as outings went for the week. Lorna was so helpful and is an asset to the Belair!

All in all, this resort is a great place if you'd like to take your family. We had a wonderful time and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lilac0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    179
    59
    27
    15
See reviews for
157
141
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great views. Clean rooms. Typical island feel so if you're looking for luxury go somewhere else. Off the beaten path is nice and this has a better island feel for us. Mellow bar / restuarant. Nice pool for the kids. Mostly familys and older crowd. Very quiet. Tips: check in with the towel attendant as soon as you check in because the chairs are marked for each room - this will get you a better location. Do the 2-4-1 Guavaberry coladas at happy hour - yummy. Snorkel to the east side by Divi and see the sunken helicopter and tanker under the floating tiki hut / red boat. Rent your car through Brinks (at the hotel) cause the cars are good & clean (no scams - just make sure you fill it up before you return). Close to the Le Grand Marche grocery store - go there for all kinds of yummy stuff you can't get in the states. Close to Philipsburg.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank djskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at the Belair Beach Hotel. We traded our RCI points for a very spacious 2 bedroom place with balcony facing the ocean. The staff was wonderful. Lorna helped me with all of my questions, months before I had even arrived. Once there she directed me to some great outings and experiences. Jody was also wonderful and took family photos of everyone in attendance at the beach BBQ, and then left the prints pinned to our door. The place was clean, the beach was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Check out their car rental prices. we rented a 4 door wrangler with soft top for a price that was better than the quotes I got from Priceline etc. Try exploring the hills of StPetersburg.
Belair is the kind of place you go to if you like spending time with your wife and family. If you are looking to all run in different directions, this might not be your best choice. I highly recommend The Belair Beach Hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Sounds like my experience was very similar to everyone else's. When we checked in I was a little nervous just seeing the lobby as there is really nothing to it and as everyone said the hotel is a bit dated. The rooms while dated were very clean, our maid Tika, came in and it smelled like she bleached everything every day. We had first floor room and it was a plus, especially traveling with 3 children. The ocean and beach were 5 steps off our patio and we would have coffee on the beach each morning while watching the cruise ships coming into Philipsburg. The beach was beautiful and nowhere near as hectic or packed as the other beaches we visited while there which get overrun with cruise ships on a daily basis. When you get there reserve a chair with the towel hut and they will tag it for you for the week. Water was calm compared to other beaches as well. I really didn't think the staff was all that friendly and the servers in The Gingerbread Cafe are working on island time but it's really no different than anywhere else we visited. Eating out every night on the island can be very expensive, lunch one day for a family of 5 (1 pizza, burger, salad and 4 adult drinks was $120 on the French side at a beach bar). All the rooms have a toaster oven and 2 burners. Grocery store is a 5 minute drive but I have to say I always felt odd there especially with the baggers insisting on carrying whatever on had 30 feet out the door and then insisting on a tip.
As it is a timeshare a lot of people already know each other and it's almost like a family reunion watching them on the beach, also a bit of an older crowd. There really is nothing within walking distance of the hotel so a rental car will be helpful but if you are just going to Pburg the taxi will charge you $4 a person. You can walk to Pburg by cutting through the Divi (resort next door), it's about a 15 minute walk but not anything that you should do with young children in a stroller. Driving on the island was a bit hairy and you do drive through some rough areas but we never ran into any issues. Really did have a great experience at the Divi and I have to say while the staff seemed rude and time did start to grow on me towards the end of our week. I will be back and hopefully soon.
One last thing, the air conditioners in the room are VERY loud and made it difficult to sleep towards the start of the week. There might as well have been a jet engine in the room. Also the mosquitos were really bad the week we were there and while they supply citronella candles for the deck I would recommend bug spray. Screens on the sliding glass doors would have been nice to enjoy the evening weather while keep the bugs out and listen to the waves from inside.

Room Tip: First floor towards the Divi, no noise from the Gingerbread Cafe especially when they have entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Yes, Belair Beach hotel is old and looks old. Yes, hotel personnel is not too friendly, and no shampoo in the bathroom. Yes, the second bedroom is really small ... But the view from the room is so great; the beach and water are so welcoming, that you could forgive and forget all the shortcomings, as far as the price is acceptable. And you may need a car, because hotel is not in walking distance from anywhere.

Room Tip: do not worry: all the rooms have water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The views from this hotel are amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had an amazing vacation at this lovely resort. The beach is quiet and you can find a great sandwich and cold beverage at the bar. It appears people return to this fabulous spot year after year. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkrash4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is the 8 year visiting the island during the Heineken regatta. The ocean views are great and you can actually see the boat with full sails open. Simple kitchen, big balcony and quiet beach space making a great space for 4 people in the 2 bedroom unit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank polans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.3 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
5.5 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.3 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
1.0 km away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
5.9 km away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Property: Belair Beach Hotel
Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing