We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guana Bay Beach Villas
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

With all the reviews that I had been reading about St. Maarten re: safety, muggings, petty theft etc. I was dredding our trip to St. Maarten and also Guana Bay Resort. To my surprise and pleasantly so, we had a great trip, inspite of sleeping lightly the first night as we were sure there would be problems. We rented a car from Mickey at Tropicana Car Rental, no problems there, would recommend him to anyone travelling to St. Maarten. The roads were fine, none of those potholes that we read about, the places we visited we had no problems at all, no fear of walking around, the people were very friendly. Of course we took care in not being too flashy and keeping all our shopping in our car, just basic sensible steps.
The GEO resort we stayed at in Guana Bay, not one complaint. The rooms were clean, Max was very accommodating and on the ball with any requests we had. The only thing was the phone which didnt work for us. There is a public phone on the property which doesnt work too. The beach was great, but not for weak swimmers like me, so I just splashed about and walked on the beach which was never crowded like some of the other ones.
Food was great, fresh fish and variety of indian, caribbean, creole, french - just great. It turned out to be a most pleasant experience and we will not hesitate to go back to that resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jdsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    13
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grafenwohr, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

First of all the pictures on the website are very decieveing, taken from certain angles that do not relect the true picture of this place. While the veiw from our balcony was very nice everything else was dreadful. Roaming dogs, unkept landscaping, villas falling apart etc. We stayed in unit #7, while the inside was nice and charming, the toilet seat was broken so when my wife sat down she almost hit her head on the sink. The TV in the living room was broken and had no reception (no biggie, i did not go to watch tv), we had ants in the kitchen the second day. Never met the onsite manager, his son gave me the key and that was it, i raised issues but never got an answer. While were sleeping on our 4th or 5th night the condo was broken into and our laptop along with all our cash was stolen, when i reported it to the managers wife (again i could not find the manager) she said and i quote "well i had nothing to do with it" so we packed our bags and went to a hotel in simpson bay!! when i turned the keys into the managers wife again she said "you are leaving and i said yes we were robbed in our sleep and i have a 4 y/o daughter, then she said ok whatever bye!!" Stay as far away from here as you can!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank gpatte6424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philipsburg hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed in Guy Estates for one week in December of 2010. The rooms were modern and spotless, the caretakers were gracious and pleasant, and we enjoyed the view of the bay, the pool and the spotless beach. The room has a wireless connection and a full kitchen. Guana Bay is peaceful and relaxing and we are definitely returning to stay at Guy Estates as soon as possible! The location is remote so if you are looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the typical resort scene you will find everything you need at Guy Estates.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graduatestudies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

On the third night at Guana Bay, at 4:00 AM, three men broke into our villa while we were sleeping. They took knives from our kitchen, entered the upstairs bedroom and demanded jewelry and money. A struggle ensued, lots of screaming and punching took place, and they fled with our valuables (including our car keys) and proceeded to steal our car. We learned that they held the security guard at gun point while they stole from us. When the police arrived they were apathetic. Needless to say, DON'T STAY HERE. It is too remote and unsafe.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hockeyfcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBBV, Manager at Guana Bay Beach Villas, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
The villas at Guana Bay are very remote and were built that way intentionally. They are in great shape and nicely furnished. Guests who stay there love it for the remoteness and the "home away from home" feeling. As far as security the whole island has issues with this and therefore we do have a security guard on duty all night. It is very important to make sure your doors and windows are locked at night plus your car. Guana Bay is not alone in its robberies on the island. There has been issues for years on this island yet thousands of people return every year to enjoy its 37 beaches throughout the island. I am confident that this is an isolated incident and should not dissuede people from enjoying this remote beautiful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This timeshare facility is overdue for a major facelift. We rented a two-bedroom unit directly from the owner but even off-season the cost was dear. That said, the unit was very spacious, the views from virtually all rooms (except perhaps the bathrooms!) were breath-taking and the pool, although small, was clean and neat. The stucco has begun to crack on many of the unit giving them a decidedly unsafe appearance - particularly given that the units are built on a steeply terraced hillside. While most units had appropriate parking, we were forced to drive across a rutted walkway and rough cement (some leftover cement) to reach our unit. The ground floor washer and dryer for the unit had long since been abandoned by the Maytag repairman forcing us to ante up $$$ to use machines from another unit. As noted above, the views couldn't have been more spectacular but the location is fairly remote (for some - including owners of the nearby multi-million villas - this is a plus as there's lots of privacy.) Don't expect to do much more than nod to the occasional neighbour or motorist as this is definitely NOT where the party-crowd hangs out. The nearby beach is great for hopping waves and body-surfing but the undertow is a bit tricky for some. The beach bar is surprisingly well-stocked and you can have the beach to yourself for most of the day. If you choose Guana Bay, get at least a mid-size rental car as 13-inch wheels don't give you the clearance you need to negotiate the speed bumps and potholes (there are several of each, increasingly severe as you approach the condo). There is a major, new development under construction (as of August 2010) right next door to the Guana Bay Beach Villlas (aka Geo Villas) but the pace of work was so slow, we hardly even noticed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandLia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2009

The service at the villas was good, the fellow in charge is Max and he was very helpful when we needed him. The villas are older and need a little bit more maintenance. The pathways between the villas are half dirt and half broken concrete. The bed was old and not comfortable but the maid always kept the place spotless. The villas are out of the beaten path and very quiet but dogs a roaming around. There is not beach front unit but he beach is about 300 meters away and easily accessed. We were lucky to see 5 to 10 people a day at the beach.The ocean is rougher on this side than the east side. If you want a holiday with someone that you love and want to reconnect, this is the place. The best thing about the villas is the peacefulness of the area.
St-Martin is the place to shop for diamonds. If you are in to diamonds go see Jewels in Paradise and ask to talk to Peter. The store is family owned and there is no pressure what so ever to buy. There are 4 people working there and 3 of them are family.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudel174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

August 8-22, 2009.


Don't do it to youself or your family. The villas are clean and remodeled inside, the pool is small , cleaned and upkept on a daily basis however, the resort grounds are horrible with dogs roaming around,infested with MOSQUITOS, no lights on the grounds or pathway to the villas forcing my family to purchase flashlights to allow for safe passage to and from the villas during the evening hours. Yes, there were occasional cockroaches ( I purchased a can of RAID) coming in from under the front door and the cable was inoperable for more than two of the 14 days we were there. The roads to the villas were HORRIBLE unpaved, bumpy and very dark. The villas are located up steep hills and off the beaten path from everything including the grocery store. There is NO front desk, no one to help with bags or groceries just a family living in one of the villas servicing the others. There was maid service only two days per week but the family was ammenable to your requests for additional towels or household items. There is an additional utilities charge of $120 per week, (a cost we were not made aware of before our arrival) and they do not take AMEX.


I was truly disappointed in the villas but made the best of it for our family vacation. We slept and ate there ONLY and found ourselves staying away from the villas at Guana Bay for most of our vacation. It was NOTHING like the pictures which are displayed on the website. Vacationers BEWARE. I have travelled to St Marteen for 10 years and this is teh first time I WAS READY TO LEAVE THE FIRST DAY I GOT THERE. If you like roughing it or young at heart(Spring Break) and any thing goes then this might be the place for you. Is it liveable? yes, beds, running water (sprinkling shower) and flushing toilets. But don't you want more for your vacation.




Thanks


Ed and Carol M.

Helpful?
4 Thank CAM1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
1.4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 km away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
457 reviews
1.4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Coral Beach Club Villas & Marina
4.4 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
7.7 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Bay Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Bay Beach Villas

Property: Guana Bay Beach Villas
Address: Guy Estates, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Guana Bay Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Guana Bay Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Bay Beach Villas Hotel Philipsburg
Guana Bay Beach Villas St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing