We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Palace Resort
Nearby Hotels
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Holland House Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alicia's Inn(Philipsburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Vicky's Keys(Philipsburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
61
78
47
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
78
47
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink pearlfront streettime sharegreat baychairs and umbrellasfull kitchenthe cruise ships leavebeach towelsocean frontwasher and dryerevery morningsecond homebars and restaurantssint maartenactivities directoroverlooking the beachgrocery store
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 231 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Some rooms we saw were very tiny. We have a 1 bedroom unit on the 6th floor & enjoyed the hot tub on our balcony overlooking the Caribbean. Walking distance to great restaurants. NO POOL.

Room Tip: ASK about your room size before you book...Some are really really tiny!
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Decembergem7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Just returned from a week's stay in St Maarten at the Sea Palace. Chose this place as a time share switch from the usual Orlando, FL.

The building is older and the rooms are a bit dated. I had a room to sleep 6 and it had one bedroom with a queen sized bed and two sleeper sofas in an adjacent living room/kitchenette.

There were two bathrooms (1 1/2). Very small and very dated. We had a problem with the shower spraying the entire bathroom (causing the paint to peel above the shower and water stains on the ceiling tile) causing us to have to use all our towels to sop up the mess. Took three requests (two to the same person) to get this resolved. However the housekeeper didn't bother to replace our wet towels that were on the floor for several days.....

As far as housekeeping goes - it felt like they were never there. Beds never made. Towels barely changed. Only evidence was that the garbages were switched and a few times she took our extra pillows and blanket when we clearly needed them for the extra people using the sleeper!

Walls were thin -- lousy neighbors pounding on the door next door sounded like it was coming from ours.

There is a restaurant attached to this hotel - The Pink Pearl. It is a Chinese Restaurant. It is privately owned -- I cannot review it as I didn't go there.

As far as positives - if you are looking to stay on the Dutch side - and be right on the beach -- and right on Front Street where most of the shopping is, this is where to be. Right out the back you are accessible to the boardwalk and beach is about 30 steps away. Note: there is no pool on site. They will provide towels for you as you go out (when you ask).

On their beach site they have out about 8 chairs and 4 umbrellas. About 2 of the umbrellas actually worked (others kept closing).

Keep in mind the safe provided is small so only documents/wallets will fit in it. Don't expect to be able to put your laptop in it.

Free Wifi was advertised but my friend and I were never able to get it working in the room. There is a computer on the 1st floor that is free for the guests to use.

Helpful hints: If you are interested in going to the French side, Marigot, for the open air market -- you can easily take the bus (which you pick up around the corner) for $2 each way. The hotel offers a trip there for $15US but easy to do it on your own and you can leave when you want.

Take a day trip to St. Baarts for $80US round trip which was a night day and go to Shell Beach but be prepared to spend $$$$. You can buy the tickets all the way down the boardwalk near The GreenHouse restaurant with Great Bay Express. That way you can spend from 9:30-6 on another island.

Just wanted to give a "shout" out to Joe - as he was very helpful.

Went grocery shopping at La Gran Marche which is a $1.50US cab ride. Everything quite expensive there but bought cereal, yogurt, peanut butter, bread, milk, eggs, et al and had my lunches and breakfasts for the week to save some $$$.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dakota1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you are use to 5 star accommodations, being served with a silver spoon etc this may not be the place for you. Let others who just want to have fun make the reservations at the Sea Palace. If you want friendly, nice and accommodating staff, have a wonderful view and a great location this is your place. Joe and his staff will do their best to make your vacation the Best. The Sea Palace is what St Maarten was before all of us tourist found the island. There are newer more modern properties on the island. We have stayed at them and can assure you that your visit at the Sea Palace will be great. The rooms are very comfortable, nicely decorated and clean (not a Caribbean bug in sight). The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Not great food but it fills a hole. Just turn left at the front door of the hotel and there is more shopping and casinos than you can imagine. Watch the sail boats and cruise ships float by from your room. There is something for everyone in St Maarten.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Sea Palace Hotel is well located, in Philipsburg capital of the Dutch side of the island. Maybe this was the best feature of the place.
The very first impression of the hotel (not a resort at all) was very unpleasant. The main entrance is not very charming and there are big red and shinning letters from the Chinese restaurant, which shares the space with the hotel (it is from a third part). It’s odd…
The room was old as well as the furniture. However, it was very complete with all necessary items to spend the week. The hotel there is no swimming pool, breakfast, restaurant onsite or parking lot. In my opinion these was really faulty.
Neighborhood is ok for shopping. Lots of boats programs leave from there and the beach is really nice. However, do not go out by yourself after 7pm. It is not a very safe area. Call for a cab.
The best of the hotel is the location. The staff was friendly and helpful.
I would definitely come back to St. Maarten, however, not in Sea Palace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We booked through our TAN travel club and arrived alittle early. The staff held our luggage for us so we could explore the Boardwalk & beach. Our room was ready at the scheduled checkin time and were given our room key, lockbox for valueables and advised on securing our rooms and belongings when out or at night and settled in. Our room overlooked Front Str. but luckily we had the eastern corner of the 4th floor and still had a nice view of Great Bay (ocean). We ate at the Chinese restaurant on the first floor "Pink Pearl" and it was very good! After our first night we inquired about a different (firmer) bed do to a touchy lower back. The next day we returned from a walk on the beach to find the staff delivering a new bed!!!! "Outstanding" Monday's activity meeting was a big plus and we highly recommend "Happy Harold's Island Tour" as well as the Prickly Pear catamaran trip.
Captain Jack's Beach Bar & Grill was our second home during our stay too "check-it-out" ""There's alot more to St. Maarten then air-traffic over Maho Beach"" So explore!!!!!!

Room Tip: Secure your valueables in the lockbox, deadbolt
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skulduggerypub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews