We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holland House Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$170
WIOL.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$70
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Vicky's Keys(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alicia's Inn(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
62
78
47
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
78
47
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink pearltime sharefull kitchenthe cruise ships leavebeach towelsocean frontwasher and dryerevery morningsecond homebars and restaurantssint maartenactivities directoroverlooking the beachgrocery storeair conditionerrenting a carwhole week
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 232 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Location is great near the middle of great bay at west end of the boardwalk in Philipsburg. Big rooms but get ocean view a couple of stories up. Parking is difficult to find. Rooms are spacious but generally average. Great place for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dawgfan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I just got back from St. Maarten and a week long stay at the Sea Palace in Philipsburg. We were given a condo overlooking the beach and it was the most amazing view! The beach along Great Bay is in my opinion the best strip of beach in St. Maarten. We spent a lot of time on our deck, because the view was so spectacular. We had a one bedroom condo that was a lock off. We kept the A/C on in this room and closed the curtains and slept better than we have in a very long time (super comfortable)! We had a rental car that was not the nicest car I have ever had, but ran fine. We had been told that parking near the Sea Palace was difficult. We however, did not experience any problems parking at any time. The condo's are older and a "little" run down (older TV and a few cracked tiles), but still very acceptable. All of the supplies we needed were in the condo. The location is ideal. Several restaurants and tons of shopping. The town is fairly quiet until a cruise ship comes in, then it's booming. I would highly recommend staying on the Dutch side. The French were not that friendly and they pay in Euros, not a good bang for the buck. The Dutch side uses US dollars and it's very simple to understand the exchange. Do bring cash because they prefer that and some places only take cash. PLEASE NOTE: if paying by credit card, they do not xxx out your credit card number, so we crossed out with a pen, part of the numbers for safety and everyone was fine with this. If you are going to a restaurant, NOTE: most of the restaurants will tack on an automatic 15% service fee, so keep a close eye on your bill. Some of the restaurants share this with the waiter and some don't so please ask. We tipped a few additional waiters that weren't given part of the fee. RENTAL CAR ADVICE: The people of St. Maarten are wild drivers. You will have mopeds, motorcycles and cars pass you from the left and right, so you need to be comprehensive while driving. Lot's of speed bumps. The roads are bad on the Dutch side, but improve on the French side. We found the people of St. Maarten to be really wonderful. We will be back again as soon as we can. We recommend the Sea Palace and the Restaurant in the Sea Palace (really good food). OVERALL EXPERIENCE WONDERFUL!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view... ;)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have been traveling to St. Maarten as a family now for nearly ten years. Without a doubt, we always stay at the Sea Palace. It provides for a clean, quiet and comfortable environment for my kids and wife. We always feel welcome, like family. Rooms allow for cooking and a wonderful view of neighboring island Saba. During the day, you can stay in the city to shop on Front Street or travel to the French side and escape the cruise ships. In the evenings, its a pleasant walk down the causeway to numerous wonderful Dutch and French restaurants. Very pleasant. I would suggest it is one of the best kept secret places to stay in Philipsburg.

Room Tip: Ocean side, high as possible
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank eirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

with the addition of the boardwalk, the sea palace stands as the premier hotel/condo on the waterfront. many have given dismal reviews. i have found that the sea palace stands equal with all of the surrounding commerce. what sets them apart is the service and sincere friendliness of the staff. i will include alex, joe and myra, yes the front street closes around six pm when the ships pull out but the overall atmosphere of the island and the locals is friendly. say hello and walk around to see how they live, ride the bus, wish them good day. blend in and your vacation will be phenomenal. visit and eat at the lolo's in grand case. take a tour with happy herald. shop for groceries at the local market,off Back Street). there is so much to do that doesn't cost a lot. again, the location cannot be beat, staff is great. the timeshare owners care about the sea palace. say hey to les and irene, wonderful people to talk to and know the island. check out the pictures.

Room Tip: if you can get 501, 502 or 503, balconies without roofs and oceanview. great neighbors
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank mark59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I just returned from St. Maarten we stayed at the Sea Palace through our Plan with Tan timeshare. Best location on Great Bay area. Everyone at Sea Palace was very nice Joe will go out of his way to do anything to help you. You must go to the Greenhouse down by where the ships come in happy hour from 4-7 1/2 off appt 2 for 1 drinks also great food!! We had breakfast at Harbour View twice not a great looking place but the food was good. If you want to go to Simpson Bay or Maho Beach take the bus (van) they run all day until 10pm only 1.50 to 2.00 dollars each way. If you like to have a drink Guavaberry Pina Colada is a must.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mojo531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews