We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
62
78
47
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
78
47
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink pearl full bathrooms the cruise ships leave beach towels washer and dryer every morning sint maarten bars and restaurants grocery store air conditioner beautiful beach furniture boardwalk unit greenhouse balcony sasha
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 232 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2015

Sea Palace

The location of this facility is just down from the pier the cruise ships dock, so there is lots of shopping, water activities, places to eat and drink. Most bars and eateries are moderately priced.
We stayed in a one bedroom that sleeps six. It's good size. It has a full kitchen with dishes, dinnerware, glasses, cups, pots, pan, casserole dish (2, one is glass) and one covered casserole dish. There is a cheese grater, can opener, peeler, crock screw, hair dryer, dish soap and scrubber, toaster, coffee pot some filters (may be previous occupants), blender, normal utensils.
They provide salt, pepper (perhaps other occupants), paper towels, shampoo, lotion, soap, nice towels, wash cloths, iron, board. The bedroom has a king bed, bed was hard and I prefer softer. There is a small safe big enough for an iPad, if you "lift" it a bit on its side, plus some other items. There is one and a half baths one with a tube and one with a shower.

There are ice trays so you can make plenty of ice. They have beach loungers and umbrellas and beach towels you sign for.

On our balcony we had two beach loungers and two chairs and small table.

There is a TV in the bed and living room and has Miami and a few cable channels. An overhead fan in the living and bedroom.

The air conditioning works good as does the wifi in our unit. It is 110 electric current.

The area is older but the place is right on the beach. It's pretty close to a small grocery store and bakery called Kings Bakery(on the next street over and within walking distance). There is a much bigger grocery two streets over with a bit of a walk called Afoo walking toward the area of the "cruise ships". Keep in mind it's not near the ships, just in that direction. It has nice meat, good selection of canned goods and veggies. Basically a normal grocery store. Ask at the front desk for both.

The facility has a Chinese restaurant that we did not use. However people we talked to ate there and liked it.

There are several bars and restaurants close by on the boardwalk. There are a few restaurants on the street in front as well that several people told us are excellent. We walked to the boardwalk places in the dark and has no issues. It appears pretty safe here.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wheretonext123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2015

Sea Palace is in a great location on the boardwalk with wonderful beach chairs on the beach. The activity level is vibrant with multiple cruise ships visiting every day. The unfortunate situation is that the hotel lacks any amenities. One Chinese restaurant with very little local food and not even open for breakfast. The hotel was being renovated and was very loud and a real mess. Wait until late 2016 to book a room. If you can not secure an beach front room in writing look elsewhere. The alternatives are dark with no view and limited or no balconies.

Room Tip: Only book if you secure a beachfront room in "WRITING". You mat arrive and get another room with no view and very dark. Wait until all revonations are completed in late 2016
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KevinAGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2015

We had a free stay certificate and chose this facility because we wanted to go to the islands and this was the only place available that said it could accommodate 6 (my husband, myself, and our 3 adult children made 5). Luckily our middle son made other plans with friends because the two pull-out sofas in the living room were just big enough for our other two kids.

The location is excellent. We walked to everything in Philipsburg (restaurants, shops, etc.) and were right on the beach. We had a wonderful view of the bay and were close enough to the boardwalk action to get to it within minutes but far enough away to not be bothered by the noise.

The facility was disappointing -- old and in disrepair. It was clean and adequate but just not what we're used to. For example, there were cracks in some floor tiles and the bathroom tub was in bad need of regrouting. Also, one night the A/C (mounted on the wall above the bed) began to leak. It got hot and the mattress got soaked. We had to wait until 1 or 2 am for a new mattress and A/C repair!

The room layout was weird as well. You walk into a long hallway. The bedroom is a door off this hallway with no outside windows. There is a window to the inner hotel hallway but NO SUNLIGHT! When my husband and I would wake up, there was no way to know whether it was the middle of the night or the middle of the afternoon. At the end of the hallway is the living room with the other 2 beds (pull-out sofas). So our kids were treated to the beautiful bay views. You're left to choose privacy or view. We've stayed in places where the living room is BESIDE the bedroom so both have views.

I think some old places are charming. This one was just old.

The restaurant on the first floor is independent. The chinese food was average at best but the prices were rather high. Unless it's raining really hard and you don't want to go outside, skip this place!

Room Tip: They told us we could have an updated room with no view or an old room with a view. We chose the view. However, I read in another review where someone had an upgraded room with a view. I'd try for that because the old rooms REALLY need upgrades!!
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank EJPgh_412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2015

The Sea Palace owners and staff are working hard to make renovations. My friend had traded some time share points to stay there. We were lucky enough to get one of the newly renovated rooms, with newly tiled bathrooms, kitchen with granite and stainless steel appliances, on the 5th floor with a beautiful Caribbean Sea view. From our newly refurbished balcony area, we marveled at the number of cruise ships as the docked far off to our left. It was a form of island excitement to try and count them each day. As we sipped our wine on the balcony in the evening viewing the lights of the ships, it was like seeing a small carnival area in the distance. Our days were filled with a land tour with Happy Harold, an evening Mardi Gras event in Grand Case, once again driven by Happy Harold (just ask for him at the front desk), a wonderful catamaran trip around the entire island via Eagle Tours (Eco friendly tour), that was a full day that included lunch, rum punch or other liquids and snorkeling, along with beautiful views of the island. We also enjoyed the local breakfast food of Carl and sons on Main Street, a great burger on the boardwalk at Taloula Mango's and all Boardwalk food and shops were within an easy walking distance of the Sea Palace. After touring the island by land and sea, the Sea Palace locations wins by convenience. It still needs a few more upgrades and renovations to satisfy. The beaches are all nice and each has its own special feel to it. There is a clothes optional beach at Orient Beach and is a very nice area. Maho Beach is famous because it is located at the end of the Princess Juliana airport runway-Check out some of the videos online. It was impressive to sit there and watch the jets come in over your head. All-in-all, it was a great trip. The island trade winds cooled when needed. The last evening was celebrated with new friends that invited us to a dinner and drag queen show at L'Escargot Restaurant just down from our place on Front Street. The escargot was excellent and the show a lot of fun. I'd go back because that area was comfortable and the beach in front of the Sea Palace seemed private and so convenient, even with the cruise ship people lounging close by at other beach-vendor spots. It seems you can rent an umbrella and 2 chairs at other beaches for the day for $20. U.S. Dollars are welcome and accepted. There are grocery stores within walking distance to supply yourself for breakfasts and lunches. Take a local taxi for $2, but be prepared for a sweaty crowded trip, but fun and it was a chance to interact with the local folks, and all very pleasant and helpful. As with anyplace, be aware of your surroundings and don't overdress with too much jewelry. This island is laid back and tourism is their trade.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, beach side, upper levels.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at the sea Palace. It was our third trip and probably the best one yet .joe is an amazing guy he went above and beyond to make sure our trip was wonderful. Can't wait to return next year

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank kennyseese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews