We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gourmet Dining At Its Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Petite Auberge Des Isles

La Petite Auberge Des Isles
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$27
Cuisines: French, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining At Its Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights in Marigot and spent a lot of time walking around the Marina there. On our second afternoon, we skipped lunch while we shopped around. About four p.m., we finally became hungry and stopped at the very unpretentious La Petite Auberge and inquired about their menu for something to carry us over to dinner.

We had passed there the night before and there was no one dining at 8 p.m. and so we thought that perhaps the food might not be good. There was a couple just leaving, she having had too much to drink and having difficulty standing up, and her husband raving about the food and the wine. He said that it was the best food on the Island. I usually prefer not to take recommendations from those who have difficulty walking but we decided to give it a try.

The Chef quickly suggested something light, as we had already made dinner arrangements for later that night, elsewhere and didn't want a full meal. My wife had an absolutely wonderful salad paired with a nice French Chardonnay and I had a sea food risotto type of dish with a good Bordeaux. The portions were substantial and the tastes were superb! Excellent dining with a great view of the marina! The tab came to €38! We will return there for a full dinner on our next trip back to St. Martin!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    27
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is one of the best places to eat on the whole island, and believe me, Saint Maarten has many wonderful places to dine. we can't wait for our next visit to the island, because we will certainly return for the great food and the wonderful warm friendly service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LizabethRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

nice small hidden awesome food friendly and helpfull staff. Hospitality as its best, strongly recommended. Prices are great, food is fresh prepared,menues are nearly to big to eat them,we will be back

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frankieboy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“A Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

The food is amazing (I had to go back a second evening to get another whole grilled sea bass which was incredibly sweet and moist), but that's not the entire lure of the place. The adorable French-born Lucienne, the hostess/waitress (sister of the talented chef, Frantz) is absolutely delightful, welcoming and charming. When we arrived for our second dinner, she remembered our names, our choices of wine and the resort at which we were staying. The tiny casual setting near the bobbing boats in the Marigot marina is low-key and lovely. In years past, before the global recession, it could be difficult to get a table. Now, you may find yourself the only patrons. Don't let that dissuade you. This wonderful spot is truly magical.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmh4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherry hill,nj
Level Contributor
234 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Best in Marigot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

The new chef owner used to cook at La Plantation. Thanks to Tripadvisor we were happy to find this place. The food is great. My spouse had the whole sea bass and smoked salmon. I had chicken with mushrooms and onion soup. We shared dessert..warm chocolate cake with ice cream...excellent! We both enjoyed our dinners. Eat there....it's wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank misty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Auberge Des Isles also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to La Petite Auberge Des Isles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing