We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel - Great location”
Review of Le Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We stayed at the Le Beach Hotel in Marigot. It was easy to find by car. Hotel was in a good location in town and on the island for exploring.

Place was clean and well presented. We came at a busy time. The staff was on top of things. Greeting was decent. It is not a new property but well maintained. Clean. Had a small gym but did not use it. Little store open during day. Great breezes through the open areas of the walkways. Was open but it felt safe and secure.

Beach: Clean. Nice small beach and little bay area. Was decent for a dip. If you're a lounge lizard great place to lie and suntan. Get's a nice breeze. Great dock area. Bar and tables for restaurant right there. Bar area very nice in the evening.

Parking: They have inner and outer spots. Park in inner. Marigot has a bit of car break-ins. It was free with our hotel stay. Parking well lit and safe.

Rooms: Spacious, clean, beds good, big bathroom. Hot water timed so do not linger long: Great balcony, nice views. Safe in room, coffee maker, TV few channels mostly french which I also speak but English speakers who want TV might be bored (get out lol).

Food was actually pretty good but we did not eat much more then snacks. Drinks were good. They had a good selection of alcohol. Had some very nice live music a few nights...local but talented. Very close to great restaurants just a short walk a way.

Staff: Desk staff were good. Bar staff were very nice. Cleaners were good.

Adventures/Other: They offered a lot of decent tours slightly pricey for some. Others were fair and worth the price. I tend to plan my own so knew relative costs and value but for people less versed in self-planning excursions and want turn-key they have some good options. If you come in with a vacation provider check with them they have a few tours that may have a deal for you built in to your plan.

We had a hotel key break (just the tip snapped) and we ended up having to pay $50 euro which was a little disappointing. We did not lose the key even brought back the whole thing including the key chain. The tip had broken off when I sat on it as it shifted in my pocket. I get it but was an opportunity for the hotel to show some above and beyond service or a little understanding to a guest. Maybe a reduced charge or 1/2 charge. $50 euro is steep for a key.

It is a fine mid-range hotel, one of the better in Marigot area. Great location for exploring the island and close to the ferry to other islands. If you get a deal on it even better so watch for them. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eBismarck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBeachHotel, Responsable relations clients at Le Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write such a detailed review of your stay, which I think will be useful for all travelers. We are glad to read that you had a peaceful and relaxing time at the hotel and could appreciate everything the island has to offer.
We love our guests to have a unique experience, which is the reason why we have our own activity desk and car rental. This way, you can plan your vacation with tested and approved activities as we personnally test every of them. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the key, so many are lost or badly handled that we unfortunately have to invoice replacement. Next time you are on the island, please, feel free to come and meet us. We are preparing novelties for the seasons to come and hope we will have the pleasure to introduce all these greats new services to you. Thank you for your trust. Kind Regards, The Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

This hotel billed itself as a resort and was not cheap. It was probably nice 20 years ago. We got out of there in less than 24 hours. The clincher was at breakfast when birds were landing on the food in the breakfast bar. My daughter and I called around to different hotels in Saint Martin while my husband ran errands. Fortunately, we found a great resort in Oyster Bay that was surprisingly cheaper and were able to save the trip. I highly recommend the Dutch side of the island. Le Beach is on the French side.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend any room at that hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank _john_graham4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBeachHotel, Responsable relations clients at Le Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear M. Graham,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at Le Beach. We are sorry to read that your experience has not been in keeping with your expectations. Our hotel is usually well appreciated for its charm, amazing location by the Caribbean sea and its unique ambiance. Have you tried to meet our management and voiced your issues while at the hotel? Our team is available 24/7 to ensure your well-being and correct any unsatisfactory aspect. Our breakfast area, opened to the sea, by the swimming pool, is generally well appreciated by our guests, especially because they can observe true nature and birds. We make every effort to keep them away from the breakfast bar by setting specific devices and covering food. We would be very interested in getting more information on what could have improved your experience with us so, please, feel free to contact us for more details. Best Regards, Le Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Stayed there on 06/11/2017-06/17/2017. I love the place; the rooms were cleaned; I had the view of the ocean. The staffs had great customer services. Breakfast is served and they had excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nottoya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBeachHotel, Responsable relations clients at Le Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Nottoya,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay on the Friendly Island and more especially in our hotel. The whole team is happy to read that you enjoyed our rooms with the magnificent view they offer on the Caribbean Sea, with the fresh air and sound of the waves. Could we really wish for something more?! We are also glad that you liked our breakfast that we enrich everyday for our dear guests to discover new things.
We hope to seeing you back very soon at Le Beach!
The Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I love Saint Martin, and have been there four times and stayed at Le Beach Hotel. On my most recent trip last week my girlfriends and I enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in the heart of Marigot, minutes away from the town. The hotel has undergone some renovations in recent years, but the rooms are clean and the staff was very helpful; Marc in particular.The staff is fluent in English and French. The hotel serves breakfast daily and the beach is walking distance. It´s always wonderful to see the same friendly smiling faces from previous stays. They had a great time and we will definitley be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ifunaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBeachHotel, Responsable relations clients at Le Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Ifunaya,
Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at Le Beach! We are glad to read that you made the most of the hotel's location, near the centre of Marigot, and enjoyed the renovations we have recently made, especially our bar/restaurant by the sea.
New renovations and add-ons are planned over the next months with the aim of making your experience even more unique and relaxing.
We look forward to having you back,
Best Regards,
The Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Very nice place, stayed there last week. Service is great. Yes the rooms need to be update but very clean. Marc has been so helpful. The ocean front is wonderful.Will definitely go back! will truly recommend to friends or business accommodation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBeachHotel, Responsable relations clients at Le Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Pierre,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Le Beach. We are glad you liked our ideal location and the view our rooms offer on the Caribbean Sea. Marc, our Hospitality Manager, likes to take good care of our guests and always has good advice to give on where to go and what to do on the island. We look forward to having you back either for business or leisure on the island! Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Following surgery and other health problems we needed to recuperate so we went back to Le Beach hotel for the third time at the end of March 2017. It was wonderful to see the same friendly smiling faces we had come to know during our previous stays. Since our last visit the bar and the restaurant had been upgraded and moved to the beach side of the lobby thus inciting the guests to spend time there and creating a very convivial atmosphere. The menus had also been changed with new tasty dishes. It was wonderful to spend more time there or on our balcony facing the ocean as we had everything we needed in the hotel. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a spectacular view of Marigot Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fanny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBeachHotel, Responsable relations clients at Le Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Fanny,
Thank you very much for taking time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We are so glad and thankful for your trust in our hotel and team. We truly hope that your health problems are now resolved and send you our best thoughts and wishes serenity. We were especially happy to read your impressions on our new bar and menus. We have made this improvement with the aim of providing a unique experience for our guests. The 360° sunset bar is indeed facing the ocean and creates a very convivial athmosphere. We are preparing new surprises for the next season and hope to introducing them to you very soon. We look forward to having you back. Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Stayed here April 22 - 29, 2017. Booked as a last minute with Transat Holidays. Let me tell you, i know this island well, and we always rent a car and dont usually spend much time in the hotel - so since we hadn't been to St Maarten/Martin this year, i figured cheap package - let's do it. Well, as i tell my clients - you get what you pay for. The location - it's not too bad, great view overlooking the harbour - if you must stay here, book the seaview room, otherwise you are overlooking the noisy road. The beach is rocky and small, not for laying out - but we knew that and figured it was still good as a base camp hotel.
So here are the big issues - the beds - hard as a rock, very old and uncomfortable, the rooms - very dated, which in itself is not a big deal BUT it stunk - not just old stale cigarette smoke stink - it was sewage stink!! everytime we walked into the room we groaned, it was pretty awful. The breakfast - we made the mistake of paying extra to include breakfast - well our first morning we knew it was a big mistake. It was the same sparse buffet everyday, and the food was not good. I think they were trying to go for french style scrambled eggs, but to me they tasted like egg yolks from a hard boiled egg. If they left the pastries uncovered the birds were picking at them. The chairs in the "dining area" are a white plastic that is peeling, so we had to wipe each others backs after sitting down. Trust me you have two fabulous french bakeries within walking distance - go there for breakfast.
Even though we were on a package Transat noted there was a local hotel tax - it was an extra EU5 a day !! but i didnt know how much it was until we checked out.
Only 1 english TV channel and that was CNN - and then we lost that two days in. The wi-fi was down alot so we could not even watch netflix.
I would not recommend this hotel to my clients. I much preferred the Mercure up the road where we stayed a few years ago.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank tripdesigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBeachHotel, Responsable relations clients at Le Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Travel Agent,
Thank you for taking time to write a comment on TripAdvisor on our hotel.
We are glad to read that you made the most of our ideal location, near the city centre and directly by the sea.
We are disappointed though to read that some aspects of your stay were not as you expected. Our rooms are usually well appreciated for the comfort they offer. They have not the ultra modern style but our guests like the "french riviera spirit" they offer. About the smell you mentionned in the room, it has surprised us a lot as well. Our team is available 24/7 to make your stay relaxing and unique. Please, next time you are feeling such disappointment, feel free to ask the management to meet you. If we had known some things were not in keeping with your expectations, we would have reacted immediately. As a travel professional, you know how important this kind of feedback is. It is the key to the continuous improvement of the quality of service. The hotel has a small beach and, we agree with you, the 36 others are certainly offering bigger perspectives. Still, being located near the french capital/city centre and still offering the Caribbean Sea pristine waters just going out from the room is quite a luxury. We encourage all our clients to go and explore these amazing beaches around that have made the island's fame worldwide (Mullet Bay, Guana Bay, Ilet Pinel, Anse Marcel, Grand Case Bay, Plum Bay and Long Bay just to name a few...). About the taxes, it is clearly explained by the agent when booking your travel. We are sorry to hear that it was not clear to you when you came. Our breakfast is usually praised by our guests for its variety but your observation has been communicated to our team for them to keep on adding novelties. We see you met the birds. We always cover the food as the restaurant is opened to the sea, by the swimming pool so these curious animals always try their luck approaching the area. We do everything possible to keep them away but it is the particularity of the hotel, being totally opened with fresh air coming and the sound of waves. The hotel will be renovated soon and we look forward to introducing the new project to you, which, we are sure, will please you. We look forward to having you back and make you live the real Beach Experience. Please, feel free to follow our activity and stop by next time you are on the Friendly Island. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
2.4 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
6.4 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,819 reviews
6.7 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
762 reviews
3 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.7 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St Martin / St Maarten (Formerly Hotel Beach Plaza)
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range: $261 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel is ideally located in front of the Caribbean sea, on a small beach of fine, golden sand at the heart of the Marigot Bay. The area offers a shopping mall, fine restaurants and a variety of nightlife entertainment. All 144 rooms and suites are spacious and fully equipped, with views of Marigot and the mountains, or sea views. Enjoy our restaurant/bar located by the swimming pool and facing the Caribbean sea.. Get ready for the perfect holiday with our dedicated activity desk, musical animation, beach bar, beach and pool entertainment, and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Le Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Marigot, Saint-Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing