We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
325
282
100
26
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
282
100
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaie rougepalm treessaint martinnettle baywater sportsmanager ownervery nice hotelsint marteenstaff went out of their wayoutdoor restaurantair francebeautiful poolhotel arrangedno elevatorbreakfast and dinnerocean sidesandy ground
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 761 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Things did not begin well. We had sent an email to the hotel to arrange for their shuttle to pick us up. We received an email confirmation from Jerome at the hotel. The plane arrived on schedule. The shuttle did not. We called the hotel twice after waiting 30 minutes. They said the shuttle was coming. The third time they said to take a taxi. The front desk person was unapologetic. However, our room was clean (no mold as reported by a previous reviewer and one of us is allergic to mold). It was large, featured a wonderful shower, had a great balcony. The sun shone and the pool was lovely, although short on working umbrellas. Karaoke Night and the Sunday afternoon Pool Party both featured loud and long music we did not care for. The Internet never worked in our room, but did work usually in the lobby. On the last day, when we were trying to get boarding passes, the hotel changed the server without notifying any of the guests. Although the front desk staff tried to help, they were completely ineffectual. Finally we were rescued by another guest, who let us use his personal hotspot to check in and get boarding passes. With the exception of the shuttle and Internet experiences, the front desk staff was generally cheerful and helpful, dealing with a lost (eventually found) wallet, helping us with the safe in our room, getting a rent-a-car, beach towels etc. There was still hurricane recovery work being done at the hotel, but that was to be expected and was not too disruptive or noisy. I liked being on the French side of the island and would consider going there again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank virginiawise50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

I have learned my lesson. I will never book another hotel in this chain or any other that does not offer some sort of cancellation policy that refunds most or all of the costs committed to stay. Beware of paying up front.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank pratthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre H, Gérant at Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Sir, I'm sorry to hear that you had problems to get reimbursed. On our side, we refunded every guests that had booked from September to January 7th. We had no electricity for over a month following the disaster so we could not process any reimbursements. At the end of October and November, we were able to refund all the requests. Not only you give us a 1 star but you don't have any kind words after what we've been through. Sadly, there are guests like you, with no empathy nor capability to really understand what our island has lived... If you wish a reimbursement, please send us an email with a proof of reservation and we will assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

Our January 2018 cruise was slated to leave out of St Martin. Due to limited flight options, we booked a hotel stay before and after the cruise at two different hotels. When the 2017 hurricane hit, the cruise was relocated to Barbados. One St Martin hotel instantly refunded our stay. After months of calling Travelocity, attempting to call Mercure directly, working with an attorney, and disputing the charge through the credit card company, we lost. Mercure refused to do the right thing. No refund. No future credit. NOT pleased.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cboswell2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre H, Manager at Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Sir,
I can understand your frustration but many hotels are closed because of the hurricane so they have reimbursed their clients. Our property is open for business and therefore if you booked a non flexible and non cancellable rate on a website and not through us directly, this is the reason why your reservation was not refunded. As mentioned in your review, your reservation was made on a different Chanel so it is Travelocity that refused to refund you and not us. Lastly, we were never contacted by you or your attorney. We always try to look for solutions to make our customers happy!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

We had booked our cruise in August of 2017, to sail out of St Martin early (way before the hurricane destroyed St. Martin). Our cruise changed ports to sail out of Barbados on September 20, 2017. So we changed our flights and booked hotels in Barbados.

One hotel instantly refunded our reservation. We had to dispute our flight through our credit card company and finally got our fight reimbursed. Mercure denied our cancelation and refused to refund our reservation. We had booked through Travelocity. We took this to the Attorney General in our state and still didn't receive our refund.

When we are able to sail out of St. Martin again (which we can't wait to get back there) we will not be staying with Mercure, and we will continue to share with our friends and family our experience with Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Sap.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre H, Manager at Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Dear Sir, All reservations before January 7th 2018 were refunded so Im very sorry to hear that you had a problem. In September, we had no water and no electricity. We were able to answer emails only from Mid October since wifi was a real problem on the island. Please contact us so we can solve this matter. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Same problems that other indicated with non-refundable reservations and the refusal to refund. I spoke with Accor Hotels multiple times and said that it was up to the individual hotels, and even though the island - much less the hotel, it appears - was not ready for visitors the hotel refused to refund the room. Fortunately, my credit card has insurance that refunded my amount but doubtful we'll ever consider it again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank billing2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre H, Gérant at Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear sir, following the hurricane we cancelled and reimbursed all the reservations up to January 7th. We even reimbursed the non cancellable, non flexible reservations. In general, if you purchase a non flexible rate, you accept the sales conditions. The same happens with airlines when your ticket is non refundable. We respected the sales conditions that applied to your reservation. We are glad that you were able to receive a refund. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews