We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lamb kebabs”
Review of Byblos Lounge SXM

Byblos Lounge SXM
Ranked #51 of 116 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Recommended by our hotel host. Great meal of Lamb and Beef Kebabs. Great baklava.Excellent service. Decent walk from the hotel.

Thank fingers9_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2014

I visited this restaurant mid-week for dinner with friends and there was a wine tasting event taking place, so we sat on the terrace, which was intimate and surprisingly warm. The service was excellent and the food was top notch. I've eaten a lot of Lebanese food in several cities and this held its own for freshness, variety, and presentation. We ordered grape leaves which were delicious, along with hummus and thin pita triangles. A white sauce/spread sprinkled with paprika was served with the hummus and it was so smoothe and creamy. Heaven. For main course we each had different plates, including lamb and shawarma, and cheese pies. The Shawarma can be served with or without tabouli and flavored rice. Our waiter, Ivan, recommended the Ropiteau Pinot noir which was neither the most expensive nor cheapest wine on the list and it was a perfect choice. The location was busy yet not too loud. Overall a great dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GourmetDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

We accidently found this restaurant while walking behind the main street. Excellent authentic Lebanese food. We tried as many items as possible on the menu, and had dinner two of our seven nights in St. Maarten. Everything was freshly made and very tasty. Hummus, tabouleh, baba ganoujh, kibbeh, kabobs, we tried them all. And a perfect ending: Baklava and Turkish coffee for dessert! Service was excellent from the manager, who was very personable and interesting. He also played piano and sang one night....Great place. Glad we found it.

1  Thank Shastatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurmudgeon, General Manager at Byblos Lounge SXM, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

We thank you for your custom and are thrilled you found our cuisine outstanding enough to return for a second meal out of your seven nights on the island. Hurry back to St. Maarten soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We just got back from the island and I have to say this place is amazing!! We had never eaten Lebanese cuisine before and we did not know we were in for such an amazing treat! Gregor was so helpful and had the chef prepare us seven pieces of heaven to try. Everything we ate was scrumptious including the baklava we had for dessert. The baklava is a must! It is made with pistachios and melts in your mouth. We had to go back a second time, it was that good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Figurilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurmudgeon, Manager at Byblos Lounge SXM, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

We thank you for your Trip Advisor review. As we are still young and building our client base, we appreciate your sharing your positive Byblos experience with others. Come back to the island soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

As a local, it's great to have this spot just down the road. Fantastic Lebanese food in the heart of Simpson Bay. Great sirloin kebabs, cold beer, delicious appetisers. Greg is a gracious host and the restaurant has a charming atmosphere. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TouringJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurmudgeon, Manager at Byblos Lounge SXM, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thanks for the kind words, James. We enjoy being your go-to LebMed eatery and appreciate your spreading the word about the premium dining experience you discovered at Byblos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Byblos Lounge SXM also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Byblos Lounge SXM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing