We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
82
74
33
16
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
74
33
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maho beach sunset bar front desk small gym pink champagne complimentary coffee check in went smoothly shower door spacious living room ocean view hot water minute walk planes take off and land staff was very friendly and helpful plane spotting upon check an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 224 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is great for independent travelers. No restaurant but there is two nearby and a grocery store 5 minutes away. Room was big and clean with new furniture. There's a gym which also looks lovely. The manager was super sweet encountered a little attitude from one of the girls but hey maybe she was having a bad day. I will always stay here it's safe and right near the beach where the planes land. Not far from the airport $10 ride. I always stay here even if I'm on a solo trip because it's safe. Local busses are not far $2.00 which will take you everywhere no need for cabs. This place is a gem seriously and the price is perfect. You can't go wrong. Amazing views as well. Don't sleep on this place I'm staying there again next month. All good.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Glori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Glori,
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete the online questionnaire following you recent stay at Alegria. We really appreciate the feedback and your lovely comments regarding the amenities and services we offer.
I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with the rest of the team.
As a fellow female traveler, I fully understand how important it is to feel safe and be close to the beach, restaurants and the airport.
We look forward to welcoming you back often to Alegria.
Warm regards from the beautiful island of St. Maarten,
Karen Hana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016

The staff at reception were extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful anytime we went by or needed anything, and the room was awesome. Comfortable, clean, huge and well equipped....the bed & the linens were particularly amazing...so nice that if they had room service you wouldn't want to go out sometimes! The location is great...so close to the airport and Maho Beach...and is great fun for watching the planes blast everyone at the end of the runway. Also walking distance to many restaurants, bars, shops and to Simpson Bay if you're up for a long beach walk.There is also a small, but well equipped workout room and a lovely pool and bar. Our only two complaints were that there was no onsite restaurant or room service which meant having to go off premises to even get a small bite to eat or breakfast; and the other was that the area surrounding the hotel is under a lot of construction (which did not affect the hotel room or hotel access, and there was no noise), but the hallways & elevators were quite dirty and needing some attention to detail.

Room Tip: Am sure they are all great rooms...we didn't go for the highest level and it was still amazing.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

Dear Roaming Gnomies,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey of the facilities and services following your stay at Alegria, we really appreciate your feedback and great comments regarding the Front Desk staff, the room and its location.
I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments regarding the hallways and elevators with our Housekeeping Team so that they can intensify the cleaning while the construction is getting completed.
You will be happy to know that the upgrading and remodeling of the Sunset Beach Bar and Refuge. This new concept in dinning and entertainment will be a welcome addition to our property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Alegria in the near future.
Warm regards from the Friendly Island of St. Maarten,
Karen Hana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from cruise and stayed here for 2 nights. Looks really nice but underneath it all is disrepair. No water on morning we left (6:00 am). Granite countertops but drains are broken and there are no hair dryers. No automatic door openers which is a necessary for luggage carriers and something most hotels would consider a necessity. The cheap shower curtain rod fell off wall! There seemed to be no one in charge. Bar got noisy. No one watching kids at pool and no pool rules posted. Employees seemed unconcerned and were not helpful. We arrived early (10:00 am) but could not check in until 4:00. Told hotel was full but learned only 30 % occupied. I'm sure a room was available before 4:00. Also heard owner absconded with $ and may be in bankruptcy. (This heard from a time share owner who lost his investment. If you hear different consider the source.) Lipstick on this doesn't hide the pig underneath. This hotel could be nice with some management overhaul and serious structural improvements because the location is very nice.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sallie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

Dear Sallie,
Thank you for taking to time to respond to the online survey regarding your recent stay at Alegria On behalf of the entire Team, please accept our sincere apologies for having fallen short of your expectations.
Unfortunately, our main water pump was down the morning or your departure and caused the water to be temporarily interrupted. Nonetheless, our Maintenance Team was able to fix the issue and water pressure was restored to the entire building shortly thereafter. Thank you for reporting the shower curtain issue in your room, please rest assured that the matter has already been taken care off. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced as a result of these issues.
Please note that hairdryers are available at the Front Desk, free of charge.
We are happy to state that the hotel's occupancy has been great so far this season and has not been anywhere near the 30% you mentioned since we first took over the resort from the previous owner at the end of 2014. It used to be managed as a timeshare resort so the the comments you heard are most likely from before Alegria days.
You will be happy to know that since the takeover, Alegria has invested in upgrading all of the rooms, giving them a new fresh look and adding several services and amenities, including free Wi-Fi, a fitness center, complimentary coffee, and complimentary morning paper.
The remodeling and upgrading of the Sunset Beach Bar & Refuge will be completed at the end of this month and the new concept in dining and entertainment will be a welcome addition to the property.
We do hope that you will give us another chance at providing your with superior service and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Karen Hana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2016

The Alegria has made a number of changes over the past two years. The staff is wonderful and always willing to take care of your needs. It's like coming home each year we have been there. If you stayed there before it changed to Alegria you will be in for a big surprise. New paint, new drapes, new furniture, added another elevator and working on many more approvements to make your stay a wonderful experience. Each day we saw changes that will make Alegria the place to stay to Saint Maarten. I gave it a four star rating because of the rooms, pool and staff but I expect by our trip next year we will find a five star gem.

On the grounds there are two swimming pools, (one with a swim up bar) restaurants, casino, and Sunset Bar which is the place to go to watch the planes come in.

A two minute walk brings you to the famous Maho Beach, believe me an experience you will never forget. Three more minutes and your in Maho where you will find a grocery store, casino, shopping and number of restaurants.

We have already booked our three week stay for next year in January. Been coming here for the past ten years.

Room Tip: The end unit rooms have the best view (second floor or higher). No really bad rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheCheBoFumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alegriasxm1, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review of your stay at Alegria. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. At Alegria, we stand committed to our guest and their satisfaction and are constantly looking for new ways to enhance the guest experience and our hotel. I will share your nice comments about our staff with them so they will know how much you appreciated their efforts.
Thank you for your business and we look forward to your stay next year.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2016

My friend and I just spent 3 days on the island and stayed at this great hotel. We booked it for it's proximity to Maho Beach to watch the planes land at SXM. We walked from the airport to the hotel and were greeted by friendly staff and a glass of champagne. The room was nice and had a beautiful ocean view off our back patio and a runway view from the front door. Restaurants close to the hotel were good and affordable. Local busses drop off close or taxis will pick you up right out front. Would recommend this hotel to aviation geeks like us :)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alegriasxm1, Guest Relations Manager at Alegria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback of your stay with us.
We are elated to hear that how much you enjoyed your stay here.
The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews