We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Money Can't Buy”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Money can't buy perfect harmony of luxury, tranquility, and the Caribbean - but you can find it anyway at Le Petit Hotel. The Mediterranean structure, refined room decor and sounds of waves seemed perfect - and then a complimentary bottle made it perfect. Treat yourself well - stay here.

Room Tip: Don't fret about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

People make the difference. Jean Francois & Anne-Laure are at the heart of why this boutique hotel is as good as it is. Whatever you need... whenever you need it. Jean-Francois lives in a house right next to this 10-room gem so, if he's not in the office, he's never far away. The continental breakfast is super: buttery regular, chocolate and pear croissants; yogurt, fresh fruit; juice; milk; espresso and coffee; baguette & butter; jams... and all ready to be put on beautifully decorated trays to be brought to your room and enjoyed on your own terrace overlooking the ocean. And the car company they recommended (Justice) conveniently picks you up at the airport and brings you to Le Petit Hotel where your car is waiting. The return trip to the airport was similarly supplied by the rental company. And there was no charge for this service. The room (we had #10 on the 3rd floor) was modern, and well appointed: full fridge, two-burner stove with full oven; sink; all dishes, wine glasses, cutlery - the kitchen away from home. Oh yes, did I mention the king-sized bed? And did I say that the back of the hotel opens onto the ocean? Wow! If this sounds like a fan letter, it is. We loved our week-long stay at this little pearl of a hotel.

Room Tip: Room #10 has an unencumbered view of the Grand Case beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My husband and I recently stayed a week in St. Barts, but wanted to do a couple of nights in St. Martin before heading over to St. Barts. Le Petit was perfect. We're not fans of larger hotels and wanted a more intimate feel. The staff was friendly and helpful without ever being intrusive and the complimentary continental breakfast of pastries, quiche, fruit, etc. was very good. Our room was very clean and spacious, and the kitchen is perfect for those who like to cook in. The hotel is situated right on Grand Case beach and our balcony overlooked the beautiful water. We spent our mornings and nights sitting our balcony, enjoying the view. Le Petit is also in a great location for walking into the town of Grand Case, where there are quite a few good restaurants.

I would highly recommend Le Petit for a beautiful, intimate, relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godiva0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The little hotel is perfect in every way. And the rooms on the top floor have just been renovated. Outstanding location on the beach. Easy walk to great dining. Very accommodating and friendly staff. Lovely Moorish architecture. Free continental breakfast, with expresso.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcbjwwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcpingc, Owner at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thank you so much for the positive review. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time at Le Petit Hotel. I just wanted to clarify that every room in the hotel has just been fully renovated, the one bedroom suite with direct beach access, the oversized deluxe studio with direct beach access, along with all of the 2nd and 3rd floor deluxe studios. We hope to see you back at Le Petit Hotel in the future. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Excellent quiet hotel.
My wife and I needed a peaceful enjoyable place, just to rest. So, of course we enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony: fresh see air, tasty food brought upstairs from lobby - everybody describe this in reviews. We had room #5, so we had a shadow from the 3rd floor balcony - good for those who do not like too much heat.
After breakfast we stepped down to the beach (the water is what? 15-20 feet fro the hotel) and did not lay down, but started our daily route towards the right side along the beach: 100-200 yards of walking, then 100-200 yards of swimming - few miles forward, few miles back. This way we were active, which was good for us taking into consideration mostly sitting way of working in the office.
Since we did not like late dinners (just to let bodies rest during night rather than to digest the food) we planned our dinner to be at 2 or 3 pm. After making mistake going to Rainbow restaurant, we were lucky to find a wonderful restaurant Brasserie de la Gare in town of Marigot (7-10 minutes from Le Petit by Small Nissan rented from Kenny's). After dinner we were buying some pastries for late snack (6:30) in the locally known bakery in Marigot and were heading back to Le Petit to have 30-40 minutes rest and then to do our evening walk/swim along the shore. When sun was going down we set down on the balcony (it is like on the beach - sea just under the balcony), were reading our books, enjoyed pastries until 11.
Those who wants to go somewhere, may find useful a list of suggested activities for every day of week supplied by the hotel. Also you may ask for any kind of advise from brilliant Jean-Francois. The staff of this hotel is just excellent in all departments.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AZSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We just returned from our second stay at Le Petit. Love, love, love this place - it's perfect if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing beach vacation. The new renovations look great (updated bathrooms and kitchens). The room and bed are very comfy, the rooms are kept spotlessly clean, and, of course, the ocean is right there. We spent most days at either Friars Beach or in Grand Case. The walk to the restaurants in Grand Case is no big deal - just watch out for traffic. And, the kitchen area is really well-equipped. We ended up staying in a few nights and having a light dinner in our room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and i just spent 5 nights at Le Petit. The Hotel lived up to all the positive reviews below. As expected the hotel is very small and the service was top notched. The views of the ocean were great to wake up to every morning. We used the hotel to book our car rental and restaurant reservations (although not need as it was still mid Nov).
I highly recommend getting a small car and touring the island yourself. The roads look intimidating at first but you will quickly get the hang of it and other drivers are very courteous
We walked to dinner every night and safety was never a concern. We had already high expectations for the food but it was even better. Although expensive, the food was easily some of the best i have ever had.
We will definitely be going to Le Petit or it's sister hotel L' Esplanade.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkin269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
1.5 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,819 reviews
7.3 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
762 reviews
6.8 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
7.7 km away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
406 reviews
7.9 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $330 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing