We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
26
15
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
15
6
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk duplex wifi sand muriel balcony beach island hurricane paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 54 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2016

On a vacation to St. Martin in March 2016, we were horribly disappointed in the Love Residence. This was not an inexpensive hotel. After walking down an alley and up a stairway with broken tiles and badly in need of cleaning, we were shown our room. It had a bed, shelving serving as a headboard attached to the wall, a chair, a refrigerator, no other amenities, no screen on the sliding glass door, mosquitoes in the room, drapes torn, and the door to the room could not be locked from the inside. In the bathroom the shower head was broken and could not be seated in the bracket, the toilet paper was on the tank behind the toilet, and the door could not be closed. The access to the beach was by ladder from the balcony. We were told that we could not walk through the Love Hotel to get to the beach via a staircase, but instead were told we should walk through a weed-filled field separating the two buildings. We were assured prior to booking by phone that the room would be fine for an senior with arthritis and indeed that assurance was completely false. The only parking was a lot across the street for $10 per night and $10 per day, not affiliated with the hotel. When we complained to the manager after one day and asked for a refund for the remaining days, we were refused. We did leave the Love Residence and took accommodations at the wonderful Grand Case Beach Club which I have reviewed elsewhere. The reservation is in dispute and I am expecting that the Residence will honor our request for a refund for the unused days.

Room tip: Avoid this property
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank msElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

We looked forward to it from the reviews. Arriving we were shown the room after paying in full for 5 nites. After being in the room for a few minutes,no TV or ocean view as email promised we couldn't imagine staying for 5 nites even if we were divers and gone for several hours. Rooms very stark and plain. We asked front desk if we could at least have a couple nites refund. He called manager and she said no refunds. So we left paying 650 euros for nothing.our choice but the area is very seedy and even the beach furniture was limited. I have never left a TripAdvisor review but now this place gets to make double per nite on our disappointment. Be aware travelers. Stay on the Dutch side. Don't trust the pictures either.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Terrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LOVEBEACH1, Responsable relations publiques at Love Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Dear Terrel,

Thank you for sharing your feeling about our beautifull village which is the more authentique of all the island.
It is YOUR choise to prefert the Dutch side with all the casinos, nights clubs........
We are VERY sorry that you didin't gave a chance of Grand Case and even our Hotel that you choose yourself
We have NEVER emailed you about your reservation, everybody ( every support ) says that there are NO TV in our rooms and you choose the room village side so no needs to be surprised about your choise.
Anyway, thank you for taking the time to right this comment and trust us the honesty with all our guest is the first thing in our Hotel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2016

Spectacular hotel in Grand Case. The room in the Residence was awesome, think New York Loft, all done out in wood and super clean with a super comfy bed. The owner and staff were very friendly and communicative and what a location sitting right on the beach. If you are looking for some peace on the beach and access to great food then this is your place. I will return.

Room tip: My room was a street room and this did not take away from the ambience of the place.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pseanthebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LOVEBEACH1, Responsable relations clients at Love Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Saint-Martin and also, taking the time to write a positive review.

We are so glad to read you had a wonderful experience and took full advantage of the friendly and caribbean atmosphere of the LOVE RESIDENCE.

We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,

LOVE HOTEL & RESIDENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2016

This hotel offered just what we needed at a reasonable price! Simple rooms with the basics that we needed and kept very clean by staff. The owners are very friendly and helpful with parking, reservations, etc. Parking on the street was no problem at all unless you arrive during the dinner hour when cars and people from elsewhere on the island come into town.
We stayed on the street side in order to save money for the restaurants in town! The beach is basically right out the the door if you want a view. We loved the casual atmosphere of the bar, which felt like you were sitting on your own deck. The bar is in the hotel which is only about 50 yards down the beach from the residence. We greatly enjoyed sitting at the hotel beach bar for pre-dinner and/ or beach-side drinks and then walking a short way down the street for excellent dining.
Some street noise during the night but not excessive with the air conditioner running.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TraceyM5Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LOVEBEACH1, Responsable relations clients at Love Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for your stay at the LOVE Residence and for your kind words about the all team.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards from the lovely village of Grand Case.

LOVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2016

Charmingly modern/rustic combination styling make the black - and - white rooms with rough wood charming. Good linens and bed, but a good chair in the room would be a most welcome addition. There is plenty of room.
Our room had a second bed up in the loft which we did not need, but there was no fan and no AC up there - the area was too warm to be useful! I believe the middle room upstairs has a larger upstairs with an AC unit, but need to be sure you have that if you are in need of that second bed for kids etc.
Excellent, friendly staff, but often limited in number. This is NOT the hotel for you if you want help with bags in and, room service, etc.
The picture is a bit deceiving - it looks like the LOVE residence is all alone but it is NOT. That said, it is in the heart of Grand Case shopping and dining, an easy walk to everything.
The beach and water were great, but for 2 days when the wind was in an atypical direction there was quite a bit of seaweed on the beach - of all the Grand Case hotels only one cleaned the seaweed, as they rarely see this, but it would have been nice - again, a bit short on staff for that level of service so . . .
Overall, very comfortable, great people, a good place to stay for the independent traveler who does not require a lot of service.

Room tip: Definitely want beach side, great views and much quieter.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank magidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LOVEBEACH1, Responsable relations clients at Love Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed and positive review about your recent stay at the Residence.
Whilst we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our friendly team, we are sorry to read that you found our service level disappointing.
Your precious feedback has been passed on to ensure that our service levels are to our guest expectations.

We hope welcoming you back soon again,

Warmest Regards,

LOVE HOTEL & RESIDENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews