We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! A truly special place!”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We went to the BVI's for our 34th anniversary (we have been to Hawaii, Mexico and Europe, but first time to BVI's). After sailing for six days, we finsihed with the Sugar Mill to round-out the occasion. Everything we researched was true: first class in all respects! The staff kept in constant e-mail contact from our first inquiry, and answered all our queries.

We found the accommodation to be clean, well-kept, (no TV, thankfully), and we had an exceptional view! All staff were friendly and helpful; we especailly enjoyed talking to Abriola and Conrad! We also enjoyed the cocktail hour and our meeting with Jeff and Jinx, who are interesting people and obvoiously are passionate about their little gem, The Sugar Mill, and providing a first-rate and memorable experience to their guests.

You won't find better food on the island, or a more intimate dining experience. If you want someplace less hectic, which will provide a memorable experience for years to come, you have found it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

My husband and I just spent a wonderful 9 days at Sugar Mill...we were originally booked for 6 but we extended our stay because we liked it so much.We had a lovely Pool Suite with a gorgeous view; outside shower and a breeze all the time so we didn't use the A/C once. The maid service was excellent. The people at Sugar Mill were amazingly helpful all the time and were genuinely pleased to go out of their way for us.
The food was just awesome. There was a different menu every night with a wide variety of delicious dishes.Lunch on the beach was excellent and breakfast was delightful..pecan pancakes, apple French toast, unique eggs Benedict...wow!
We met the owners..Jinx & Jeff Morgan... at their Monday night guest party and you can really feel their passion for Sugar Mill and the BVIs...buy their cookbook..I love to cook and this book is wonderful.
I can't say enough good things about the people at Sugar Mill.I must compliment Patrick Conway, the hotel Managing Director , for setting the tone for excellent customer service. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

As VP of production at a major media company I have stayed in a lot of top hotels all over the US and the world. The quality of service and the cleanliness of the large hotel rooms at the Sugar Mill are ideal for anyone staying on Tortola. The level of service is as good as any five star property I have ever stayed at. These women are amazing. I could not recommend the hotel more.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly. they are very responsive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnmicalejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We were thoroughly impressed by this charming, historic landmark nestled into lovely gardens and with breathtaking views of the sea and Jost van Dyke. We looked forward each day to the posting of the dinner menu as the food was creatively prepared and presented - and absolutely delicious - as was breakfast! We also enjoyed the convenience of their lunch restaurant right on the adjacent beach. Our second floor room was quiet, spacious, and clean with a handy kitchenette - and a great balcony for enjoying the Caribbean views. One of the best features was their friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make our vacation memorable. We also appreciated the services and discount we received as part of one of their special packages - like an elegant picnic lunch. Overall, we had a great experience and would highly recommend the Sugar Mill!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamstuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I will admit - after leaving all travel arrangements for our recent trip to Tortola up to my boyfriend, I had intentionally kept my expectations for comfortable accommodations low. I was pleasantly surprised when he first showed me the Sugar Mill Hotel's website, but the pessimist/control freak in me thought "I'll believe it when I see it". Well, shame on me! I can honestly say that I have never had a more comfortable, pleasant vacation than I did in Tortola - and that is entirely due to our stay at the Sugar Mill Hotel. First of all, the Sugar Mill is situated in the best part of the island, in my estimation. It is far enough away from some of the "tourist traps" I spotted while driving throughout the island, while still being close enough to ports, the best beaches, restaurants (although it was hard to drag me away from the Sugar Mill's restaurant), and other attractions.

Although the locals may object, Apple Bay feels more undiscovered than other parts of the island. The Sugar Mill's private beach and the way that the accommodations are set off from the main road, and partially obscured by lush foliage, make you feel like you have discovered a hidden paradise - we felt like we were in on a little secret. By no means is the Sugar Mill exclusive, however it certainly attracts a crowd that appreciates peace and quiet. We are quite active, and had a number of activities planned for our trip. We found that the Sugar Mill was the perfect "home base" to retire back to after a day of exploring. The Sugar Mill is not a resort and does not offer organized activities, which suited us perfectly as we prefer to do our own thing. However, the staff is more than willing to help guests arrange excursions, car and boat rentals, etc. We managed to fit surfing, snorkeling, boating, hiking, and fishing into our trip without any hassle at all.

The award-winning Sugar Mill restaurant lives up to its reputation. We had only planned on dining at the hotel one or two nights, but after our first meal we quickly realized that we were going to have to re-structure our budget slightly to account for at least three meals. Dinner was expensive, but well-worth it. The restaurant also has a great wine list, with some really affordable options for those who aren't willing to sacrifice a course for a bottle of wine. The Sugar Mill's more casual "Islands" restaurant on the beach is a great lunch option, particularly for those seeking more traditional Caribbean fare. Breakfast at the hotel was also delicious, and featured traditional dishes with a Caribbean kick to them.

Our room was exactly what we were looking for. Nothing overly swanky, but clean, spacious, and with the best view of the whole hotel, as far as I'm concerned! We could see Jost Van Dyke from our bed, let alone our balcony.

Finally, we cannot say enough nice things about the Sugar Mill's staff. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly, and took care to remember our names and all sorts of details to help personalize our experience. As a whole, the staff was incredibly efficient. At some places leaving a "do not disturb" sign on your door means that you will have to wait until the next day to have the room cleaned and get fresh towels. On the mornings that we slept in, we were amazed to discover that our room had been attended to as soon as 30 minutes after we removed our sign.

I highly recommend the Sugar Mill Hotel to anyone planning a visit to Tortola or the BVIs - particularly those who enjoy beautiful scenery, serenity, and good food!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OliviaLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We rarely return to places and hotels, where we have been before. We prefer experiencing something new.
But there is one exception: A hotel in Tortola, British Virgin Islands. It is called The Sugar Mill Hotel.
We first came to the hotel in February, 2007, not knowing what we could expect. When we left the hotel after a week, we knew for certain where we would be going in February, 2008: The Sugar Mill Hotel.
Ever since then we have spent one week in February at that hotel.
Considering that we rarely return to the same place there must be a reason for revisiting The Sugar Mill Hotel once every year.
There is not one reason, there are several reasons. - Just to mention a few of them:
The atmosphere, the nice and tasteful furnished rooms, the excellent food and last not least the friendliness that characterizes the staff. - You become friends with the people at The Sugar Mill Hotel.
Yes, there are many reasons why we consider The Sugar Mill Hotel our home in The Caribbean.

Ebbe and Birgit Larsen
Odense, Denmark.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EbLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This vacation was exactly what we were hoping for. A wonderful room with a GREAT view, as much privacy as you may want, wonderful attentive staff and excellent restaurant. The Sugar Mill is a small hotel that offeres plenty of space at the pool and beach. Both were small, but certainly large enough to accommodate all the guests without ever trying to find a chair or a place to sit. We met several guests who have returned to this same hotel for twenty years. This in itself is testimony to the ambience of the Sugar Mill Hotel. The hotel owners were readily available and hosted a cocktail party so that guests could meet one another. We look forward to repeatiing this experience in the future!

The location of the hotel was convenient to some of the islands most beautiful beaches if you want to get out and explore.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VER800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
14.7 km away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
2.6 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.6 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
6.7 km away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
132 reviews
15.1 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $317 - $864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing