We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Mill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$180
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sebastian's on the Beach(Road Town)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$245
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
545
80
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
80
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suitenew ownersoutdoor showerplantation houseall inclusive packagejost van dykebeach restaurantsmall beachcocktail partylunch restaurantsuzettechef bernardboutique hotelpicnic lunchfellow guestsday sailisland tour
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 653 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Very friendly staff, delicious food, mixed together with a very comfortable room and amazing views made for an incredible stay! - Thank you for a brilliant holiday !

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank charlieboyphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is really an extraordinary place. The people who work here were incredibly friendly. The room felt like our own condo, and the restaurant was terrific. the location was perfect for finding some nearby secluded beaches. a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed for three days, along with with another family. In all, five teenage boys and four adults. Stayed in the Plantation House and Deluxe Villa. Both were very nice. Views from the Plantation House are a little nicer, but great from either. Nice to fall asleep to the sound of surf. Beautiful location, with unobstructed views of Jost Van Dyke from the well maintained beach. Small swim area, with ok snorkeling across the reef; some tarpon and lots of pelicans at dusk. Staff was friendly and helped us with transportation, etc. Meals at the Sugar Mill Restaurant were exceptional, but service was a bit slow. Very good breakfast on the patio overlooking the beach. The beachside lunch spot has a gorgeous view which, when combined with a drink, made up for the slow service. Families seem welcome and the five boys were kept busy. Two of our guys surfed, and they found inexpensive board rentals about one mile away, just past Bomba's at Sebastion's, and surfed Cappoons Bay. Nice walki along the beachside road.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdtraveltime10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2012

What a gem of a place for a secluded break, The hotel is so cute!

We stayed in a studio which had amazing sea views and a super large veranda which we never left. The hotel staff were the most polite people I met on the island and went out of there way to assist us in renting a car and getting taxis.

The rooms are very Caribbean beach themed with lots of pastel colours and white cane furniture. The main hotel building is open air and has a variety of levels upon which to enjoy a drink or dinner. Unfortunately we were not impressed with the food in either the beach restaurant or the main restaurant. The food in the restaurant was pretensious and not good.

The hotel is situated beside a beautiful stretch of beach with typical carribean crystal clear water. I would highly recommend this for those wanting a romantic secluded break.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnwln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I decided to take a tropical Christmas this year and chose the Sugar Mill as our place to stay. We had stayed there once before and it was even more amazing during Christmas-time. The staff were wonderful, attentive, and kind. They helped us book activities during the day and provided a delicious dinner every night. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel and would sit overlooking the beach (we enjoyed watching pelicans diving for fish in the ocean!) This is a relaxing, beautiful boutique hotel. I really enjoy the smaller size hotel because the pool, beach & restaurants were never crowded. We will certainly be returning to the Sugar Mill. The hotel is close to the ferry for customs, restaurants, beautiful beaches, and marinas for day sails, yet far enough away to be able to relax in quite.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Cottage and a Pool Suite. The cottage is roomier but the pool suite has a better view. Both rooms are quiet and have large balconies.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirkandChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews